We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #75 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Kistor Hotel in September for 5 nights and even tried to stay for a further 2 nights, so that says it all about this hotel, even got my own space for my Bently which was much appreciated. The staff were all My wife and I stayed at the Kistor Hotel in September for 5 nights and even tried to lengthen our stay for a further 2 nights, so that says it all about this hotel. Peter even gave me my own car space one night which was much appreciated. The staff were really pleasant and couldn’t do enough for all the guests. The entertainment was of a high standard and the prices in the hotel bar were very good especially the happy hour.
Needless to say the Mackintosh’s from Scotland will be returning next year but this time it will be for a longer stay, remember my parking space for my silver B please. .

Room Tip: We had a roomlooking onto the main road and there was little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimM311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for the accolades. Yes it was a pity for you that we were so busy, but that is the norm.
When you book next year make the reservation for the whole term now that you know what to expect. We all look forward to your return visit with Betty the Bentley. I'll keep the same space for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just got back from a 4 day break at the Kistor.
The location was excellent.
Our room was clean and spacious although the bathroom was a little tight,but for the length of time you spend in there is managable.
The food was lovely and service was quick without being rushed.
The entertainment was very good. we would consider going back to the Kistor again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annandtony_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a 'fab' review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the KIstor from 23rd July to 30th July 2011. I would recomend this hotel to anyone, we went with a coach party and my grandaughter was the only young person on the coach. When we arrived we had been given two rooms which delighted her as she had her own space but with only one door for which served for both rooms she felt safe. The meals were good and menu choice was great if you didnt have enough it was your own fault. The staff in all departments couldnt do enough to make your stay perfect. Our only regret was we only stayed a week. When asked where she would like to go next year the answer was the Kistor, this from a 12 year old who is not easily pleased is a gold star. See you next year and thanks for a great holiday this year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denca_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
i am delighted that you and your Grand daughter enjoyed your holiday with us. I note your regret and can only suggest 2 weeks next year as a remedy! Or sooner if you can, it's great here during Turkey & Tinsel Season, you'd just love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillingham kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have just returned from a fantastic 5 day holiday in the hotel kistor. The staff were all helpfull friendly and seemed to have a possitive attitude to their work and visitors alike! The hotel is not 5 star but has a very friendly and homely atmosphere you feel relaxed and welcome from the off. The price we paid for b&b was the equivalent to staying 1or 2 nights at some other hotels which did not have the abiance of this little hotel! The food was of very good standard and with a evening meal costing £12.00 p.p( I cannot believe they can make much profit on the meals)which were both of good size and quality! On arrival we were informed the lift was not working which although did not affect us did cause some guests problems as there were a few stairs but once again the staff were only to happy to help anyone who needed assistance! Our room though on the small side was clean and had a great veiw of the sea. and contained everything needed.the spa bath was also not working but we were informed we could use the facilities in the two sister hotels which were located just across the road(wow 3 hotels in1) The hotel also provided some good entertainment in the evenings and a friendly bar.The location of the hotel could not have been better a few steps to beach,harbour,town and transport! I will certainly visit this hotel in the future it is not often in this day and age to find a hotel which does not seem intent in making as much money as possible and providing as little as possible or charging extra for everything but this little hotel does just this and smiles while doing so!!! well done to everyone and a big thankyou for making my our holiday such a great succsess!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypage1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such aa detailed review. It's good to read another positive one. The lift motor has been rewound and re installed, much to everyone's relief.
I shall pass on to the staff your praises and wish you well in return. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in the middle of August this year.......terrific location a stones throw from the beach and only a 10 minute flat walk along the promenade to the town area.
Good quality breakfast served to your table by the friendly, helpful staff and although we did not eat in for the evening meals I was reliably informed they were good value for money.
Evening entertainment everyday consisting of visiting cabaret acts with a short break for bingo(my daughter now addicted) which was called out in his own unique and comical manner by Peter , the General Manager, who was terrific I have to say throughout our stay.
As mentioned on other reviews it is true that the bedrooms and other public areas of the hotel are in need of some TLC but that aside I found the holiday to be great value for all ages.
Would have no hesitation staying again !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for all your kind comments. We are always delighted when our guests leave having had a good holiday! See you soon, I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at the Kistor Hotel in August of this year; we travelled with Slacks from Derbyshire. Peter the manager had a very pleasant disposition, and nothing was too much trouble for him or the staff in general. The food was of a high standard and you could have small or large portions, if you so wished. The atmosphere and the position was very good and you could walk down to all the amenities very easily. Before we left, I had a word with Peter about the décor, and the fact some of the hotel is in need of attention also the swimming pool area, which he agreed. But looking at the bigger picture you do get value for money, and this isn’t a five star hotel. Hope to see you all again, well done Kistor!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robin123gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
thank you for your observations.i am acutely aware of the short comings of the hotel in regard to some areas being in need of refurbishment etc. but as you recognised this is why the tariff is such a bargain. We offer good value for money. In return our guests enjoy a great flat location (unusual in Torquay) near to the seafront, parks, gardens, pitch'n'putt, tennis,bowls etc full use of amenities in our 3 hotels, 3 swimming pools and leisure facilities, entertainment every night, happy hour, happy friendly and helpful staff. Many rooms have sea views but as in any hotel there are some rooms which are better than others. We like every other business in the world is struggling to make the right decisions to enable us to move forward in a postive way and still give value for money. The vast majority of guests appreciate this and can see the bigger picture. We charge the same as most guest houses but with a multitude of facilities that they don't have. Times are hard but I hope that we still represent excellent value for money and that our guests enjoy a carefree holiday that they will return to year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and would never return......the staff were lovely but the room was the worst we have ever seen

Room Tip: Check the room before you pay the balance......and if its room 54 ask for another!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie200457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Well, I can only express my total amazement at this review. We have guests who return time after time who specifically ask to stay in this room. It has one of the best views of all oiur rooms.
A panoramic view extending all the way from the harbour right around the Bay to Brixham and beyond.
The room benefits from a newly redecorated and refurbished bathroom and some dirty windows which will be cleaned once the window cleaners come next week. Oh, yes it does have a small stain in the ceiling where some water leaked through prior to the section of flat roofing being repaired.
I wonder if they have got the name of the hotel right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#51 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing