We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT HOLIDAY AGAIN AT THE KISTOR!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #75 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT HOLIDAY AGAIN AT THE KISTOR!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel from March 12th to March 16th.
The hotel was very clean and the staff polite. The waitor was very efficient and provided a good service too. (The beds were a little hard but that may justt be me being picky!)
The shower is a little too close to the wall and i flooded the bathroom once but that is my only fault! Good entertainment especially bingo done in peters fashion 'ish' and fantastic food Plenty of it too!!
My grandfather is a wheel chair user and peter made sure everything was alright for him.
Highly recommended hotel only a stone throw from the beach and around 10 minutes walk from the town, A good hotel good staff brilliant value for money
Many Many thanks to all of the staff who did everything to make it a pleasurable stay at the kistor! (we stayed in room 43)

Room Tip: if you want a seaview ask for rooms looking toward the north (pleasant views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinchilla96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased that you highlighted our four key attractions for the Kistor!
S.E.L.F. we aim to provide service that is fast but at the same time easy going and helpful. we have entertainment every night, provided by top local artistes. Our location is one of the best in the bay. On the level and close to great amenities but far enough away from the noise of a busy town. Yes, our food is good and plentiful. I eat here most nights and i confess to being fussy, I think it's great too. This is not a plug but a true depiction of our great hotel.
See you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bigbury-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Again thanks to all the staff, Eilleen , Jasmine and all the staff how maked us so welcome. We have already booked next year for our reunion with all our friends. Lovely entertaiment in the evening, they really do their best to keep you smiling. Our room was clean and warm and nothing was to much to feel us comfy....... The food was excellent , service fast an helpfull. What a lovely place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danceaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time here for your annual meeting of like minded friends.
here's to next year, Salute!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

comfortable hotel, good entertainment but if you are a vegetarian forget it as they simply
dont't cater for them. I had just a mushroom omlette and nothing else for the main meal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
I am so annoyed with this review, as it is just not true. There is a vegetarian option every night on the menu and as you pointed there is the option of omelettes and salads too.
The vegetarian options are as follows Monday to Thursday... Leak & Potato Bake with Stilton Cheese, Mushroom Provencale, Spinach & Pasta Bake & Stuffed Peppers.we try very hard to accommodate our guests with all dietary requests including Gluten Free, diabetics and vegetarians. The vegetarian option is clearly printed on each day's menu. This type of review is unhelpful and untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Torquay staying at the Kistor. Peter was an excellent host; really entertaining and extremely funny!
Lovely room; warm throughout the hotel and plenty of hot water.
The staff were obliging and friendly.
The meals were excellent with plenty of choice and variety.
The entertainment was great and Bingo was fun.
Wi-fi access too; what a bonus!
Many thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
You're most welcome. It is always our pleasure to provide guests with as good a holiday as we can. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I spent 4 days at the Kistor (coach trip) to celebrate my 68th birthday 10th Feb
my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, entertainment was brill, (I even got to do some line dancing that I havn't done for 11yrs but am looking to restart classes) food, staff, management, fellow travellers all great, admit hotel could do with a makeover, but at the end of the day it was clean, the only problem we had was with the shower, I twice flooded the floor as the shower head had 2 lge pinholes in the top so the water sprayed out of them also it was too close to the wall, the water bounced off the tap connection, once the heating and hot water went off due to boiler problems I believe, but Peter put on a sherry reception though I didn't attend, overall we had a fantastic w/end and would go there again, hopefully next time we may get a room with a sea view!! The 2 Sandras Newport (Gibbons coaches trip) By the way Room 43

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for the great review. The shower has been attended to thanks and hopefully you'll be lucky enough to get a sea view room on your next tour. I look forward to another fantyastic week end with you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

had 5 day break at the kistor.Greeted by Peter the manager who gave us his welcome speech,which got everyone in the holiday mood even though it was freezing cold, the hotel and rooms were very warm no penny pinching on the heating or water hot all day. glitch on tuesday morning no heating or water but by the end of breakfast all fixed and coz of the inconveinience Peter put on a sherry reception before dinner.the food was very good and in plenty, all the staff were helpful,polite and very approachable nothing to much trouble for them.bingo& entertainment every evening average acts not much omph sound wise due to low headroom bad acoustics .Hotel in some areas needs t.l.c which is being done bib by bit taking it into consideration that the hotel is open24/7 Peter and all his staff are really working hard to make everyones stay an unforgetable one ISH keep it up.

Room Tip: rooms 11 & 29 have corridoor doors directly outside if there are noisy latecomers at night you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank transporter22d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your review. The point you make about the entertainment lacking oomph is mainly due to my preference trying to ensure that entertainment does does not become invasive as not everyone wants entertainment, so they can sit in the T.V lounge away from from the music. Also, some guests go to bed early and also don't want to be kept awake. However, mindful of this, the entertainment very rarely goes on much later than 11.00 - 11.15pm any way unless we have private groups taking over the whole hotel.
As to the boiler every thing was working fine until we had our annual service. Since then we've had the gas pressure increased and spare parts fiited galore. We await in anticipation to find out if these remedies are successful. All well for past 4 days anyway.See you again I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglesey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kistor for the last five days in February as part of a coach party with Arvonia coaches of North Wales, Peter the manager greeted us on arrival and had us all in stitches laughing from the word go, If he is not the next Basil Faulty I will eat my hat?? the whole staff were charming , nothing was to much trouble for them, the food delicious, with choices, at each meal, we spent an hour each morning in the heated swimming pool, which was great as the temperature out side was below freezing, as well as an happy hour each evening, entertainment was provided, which I may add was rather good for the price, we have stayed at the two other sister hotels the Grosvenor and the Inglewood, all three are great for the money, the Kistor however has a lift which would make it easier for the less infirm.

Room Tip: We had room 30 which was quiet and warm, plenty of tea and coffee. possible to see the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angleseycaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for the accolades. I am currently looking for a tasty hat to send to you! Basil Fawlty indeed. Where is Manuel i've been looking for him all morning! Sybil, SYBIL.................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#45 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing