We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kistor
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
68
99
27
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
99
27
18
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We went to the Kistor Hotel for a well earned break, and it was the most awful three days!
Torquay is a lovely get away and i have no problems with that, love the place.
The Kistor hotel was.....dirty, stained carpets and beds, windows broken, rude staff, the dining room was cold and uninviting, the bedding smelt damp, i could go on and on!
We would strongly recommend a different hotel actually any hotel instead of this one!!

Room Tip: There are no GOOD rooms!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Well I confess to have been quite taken aback by this posting. Firstly these reviewers allegedly stayed with us only 2 weeks after the previous reviewers we've not made any changes to staff or regime in that time. We do not employ rude staff, as previous postings will categorically emphasize. Quite the opposite in fact! Our linen is stored in a warm dry environment prior to being used to make beds, which are made up only a matter of hours prior to the arrival of new guests.The last time I checked ( minutes ago) all the glass in our windows is still intact.
Other reviewers have remarked on how tired some of the the areas are but also state how clean the hotel is. Tired does not mean dirty.
Upon checking our records I could not find two guests staying at The Kistor for 3 nights and coming from Newport which seems odd! Even more mysterious is the fact that these guests appear to have stayed else where at the same time, as their other reviews suggest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A lovely, clean hotel with a super room complete with a very comfortable bed and supplying substantial tea and coffee and we had great sea views. The staff were friendly and always ensured our every need was met wherever possible. There was a great variety of food to choose from in the mornings catering for everyones preferences and the waiting staff ( given they were very busy) made sure we had everything we wanted and the service i found to be outstanding. It was nice to see the manager everyday mingling amongst the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieHowarth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a bargain! Only two minute walk from sea front and 10 minute walk to marina, with (luckily for us) a lovely view from the room (of Torquay and the sea). Very clean room with plenty of tea bags! All staff very helpful, with free entertainment each night. Would happily recommend to anyone wanting a value for money hotel within a short walk of all local amenities and near to a very good public transport system.

Room Tip: Worth an extra couple of pounds for a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank transporttrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your comments and recommendations. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Thank you Kistor Hotel for a great week. The location was fantastic and only 2 minutes from the sea front as well as having fun golf, a pretty tea room and beautiful gardens only yards from the hotel entrance. The hotel itself was comfortable and the room was clean, with fresh (and very clean) linen.
The staff were not only friendly but also very efficient, a rare combination these days.
As both my wife and I and in our 70's, we found the flat location to be ideal for walking and would recommend this hotel for coach tours.
We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

You are quite right, our location is really one of the best in Torquay as the town is similar to Rome in that it's built on seven hills.
Being on the level and so near to the great amenities of Torre Abbey Grdens makes this a superb base for Senior citizens and families alike. We are fortunate to have very efficient Pulic transport, buses pick up every 8 -10mins throughout the day and we have an abundance of stops near to the hotel.
Thank you for mentioning our friendly and efficient staff. We are proud of our work force and their reputation.
We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great value bargain weekend break at this economy hotel the accomodation was good value & perfectly adequate. the entertainment & dining was at the sister hotel across the road as we booked too late to stay at the Grosvenor (as featured on channel 4 tv " Hotel" programme. However we had a great fun time & everyone in the hotel was so friendly & helpful. this is a typical seaside guest house type of hotel
& not the Ritz so people should not give it bad reviews, it was clean & comfortable enough. We can't wait to go to Torquay again & would readily stay at this hotel or one of the others in the group owned by Mark Jenkins as he is an amazing host & very entertaining.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LV909_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews