We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kistor Hotel - great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #74 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kistor Hotel - great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Location fantastic - literally a few metres from the seafront. 5 mins stroll to harbour, theatre and town. Lots in area to do for families and couples: boat trips, steam trains and open top buses.
Food and service was first class. Evening meal choice always included a meat, fish and vegetarian dish plus choice of salads - a mix of traditional and more uptodate food to suit all. Five courses meant five courses! Room was spacious and clean. Staff were unobtrusive, but available at all times and were really helpful and pleasant. Entertainment varied and every night. Could have stayed at hotel every evening but went to theatre a couple of times, which fitted in well with end of evening meal. Overall, very relaxing and enjoyable. Would come again.
Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms at back have the best views of the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted that you had a good holiday. Yes, we try very hard to ensure that we only have staff with great customer service skills. Our chefs provide really good home style meals which as a general rule more than satisfy our guests, especially as you say a full 5 course dinner (summer season menu).
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Can i thank the manager Peter and staff at the Kistor hotel for a wonderful weekend in sunny Torquay. When we arrived Peter gave a twenty minute stand up routine for us on the bus. He informed us of some of the failings of the Kistor in a really funny manner. The rooms were spacious and adequate for our needs. The breakfast was very tasty though it must be said a little slow in arriving. But, in fairness 300 people descended on the dining room at 8.15 am poor waiters and waitress did nt know what hit them. Theo the bar man was wonderful, he looked after us like we were royalty. He s my employee of the month. I would really recommend a trip on the open top bus to Brixham you see a lot more of Torbay. £8.50 well spent.All in all our weekend at the Kistor was spendid . A BIG THANK YOU !!!!!1 Mr Karl Offers Publicity / Press Officer, Beaufort Male Choir. ps hope we increased your beer sales.

Room Tip: you need one at the front of the hotel , the rear view is a car park , and ear plugs for the sea gul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
I am so pleased your group had such a successful weekend here in Torquay. Your concert was warmly received I hear and we hope that you will all return soon for another visit.
I have passed on your remarks to Theo and I concurr with all sentiments expressed.
Kindest regards to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

wonderful hotel, great friendly staff. flat stroll to the seafront and town centre.This was my 4th. visit to the Kistor hotel, i have visited with family members and 0n my own. A great place to make new friends as the atmosphere is so relaxed and welcoming. Peter is a great manager and very gooood-ish at calling the bingo - great entertainment, not to be missed. Eileen and rest of staff also brilliant. Food very good and plentiful. Linen and bath towels lovely and white. warm indoor pool with towels provided. well done to you all, look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janet248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
I am delighted that your 4th visit was a success and we hope that you make your 5th soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Myself, husband and two year old twins stayed here by default as we were originally booked into the grosvenor but the room wasn't suitable for our needs and they didn't have another family room available, so the manager at the grosvenor kindly found us a room at the sister hotel the kistor. We were impressed by the staff, all are really helpful and go out of their way for all guests. Our room had a beautiful sea view and was very clean, it was cleaned every day, hot water on tap and good shower pressure. Tea and coffee replenished every day. We were able to keep some of the kids food and milk in the hotel fridge which we were extremely grateful for as they are at the age where they will only eat certain foods. We had the same dining table for the week complete with high chairs which was great and we had a lovely waiter who couldn't do enough for us, but all the staff were very helpful too. Denise and eileen on reception are great, helped us out loads. we used the swimming pool which was lovely and warm. Plenty car parking. Food was great. Best location in Torquay! We would definitely return in the future. Thank you for a lovely stay. Also we left something in our room belonging to the kids and I rang and eileen was very helpful and is posting it back to us, how's that for service? Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelincolns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
I am delighted that you found time to write such a positive review. The staff here are really great and I am so proud to be be a part of the team. Eilleen packaged your left possessions and I posted it on Tuesday. You should have it now.
As you stayed with by default and were happy I hope you'll make us your first choice next time.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My partner and I have spent a week at the Kistor Hotel, this was our first coach holiday, the weather was disgusting rain, rain and more rain, but we had an enjoyable holiday and made many new friends. On arrival our cases where taken to our allocated room by one of the staff, there is only one lift and many stairs. The furnishing downstairs is ok but we found the upstairs slightly dated but clean. The carpet on the stairs is threadbare but not dirty. Our towels were changed every day, there are also facilities for making tea or coffee, that was replaced daily. We had a very good choice of food that was excellent and well presented, the staff where hard working and very efficient and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment at night is very good, including bingo, we found this hilarious with Aileen calling the numbers!!! From 8 to 9 it is “Happy hour” behind the bar. It is not a 5star hotel, but then you are not paying for a 5star. Overall it is excellent value.

Room Tip: if you have problems with climbing stairs, select a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am pleased that despite the weather you still had a good holiday. Coach travel does certainly have some very positive benefits, making new friends is certainly one!
Thank you for your candid observations and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

we have just returned from our 3rd visit to the kistor thanks again to the staff and eileen the manager while peter was away who was very helpful food again lovely and entertainment was 1st class dont exept 5star hotel but you do get is over and above its 2star rating

Room Tip: go for sea views as hotel right on beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williams140644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We went to the Kistor Hotel for a well earned break, and it was the most awful three days!
Torquay is a lovely get away and i have no problems with that, love the place.
The Kistor hotel was.....dirty, stained carpets and beds, windows broken, rude staff, the dining room was cold and uninviting, the bedding smelt damp, i could go on and on!
We would strongly recommend a different hotel actually any hotel instead of this one!!

Room Tip: There are no GOOD rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Well I confess to have been quite taken aback by this posting. Firstly these reviewers allegedly stayed with us only 2 weeks after the previous reviewers we've not made any changes to staff or regime in that time. We do not employ rude staff, as previous postings will categorically emphasize. Quite the opposite in fact! Our linen is stored in a warm dry environment prior to being used to make beds, which are made up only a matter of hours prior to the arrival of new guests.The last time I checked ( minutes ago) all the glass in our windows is still intact.
Other reviewers have remarked on how tired some of the the areas are but also state how clean the hotel is. Tired does not mean dirty.
Upon checking our records I could not find two guests staying at The Kistor for 3 nights and coming from Newport which seems odd! Even more mysterious is the fact that these guests appear to have stayed else where at the same time, as their other reviews suggest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#87 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing