We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we were not staying”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Glad we were not staying”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Visited this hoted on 4 nights last week, but only for the entertainment and a drink.
There were 2 coaches staying from Sheffield Vee Gee traval and Maxfields, speaking
to the residents they were not impressed.
The hotel was in the receivers hands, on arrival they found the lift had been condemed.
So the people who were disabled had to be moved to another hotel, and others had to use the stairs.
People said the heating did not work and shower was cold, but on a better note the food was lovely.
The entertainment was ok there was bingo first followed by a singer or a duo, all singing 60's songs.
The bar staff are very nice and hopeful, we enjoyed our evening in there.
So if you have book to stay would check if lift is working, if you are not to good at walking up stairs.

Room Tip: N/A did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian_barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I am sorry that you left with such a low opinion of us, particularly as some of the information you have reported upon is not strictly true.
The lift broke down and new parts have had to be ordered. In view of this we made arrangements for 9 guests to stay at an alternative hotel due to their disability. They were very happy with this arrangement.
Our heating is fine but at the beginning of last week we didn't have it turned on, the guests this week are complainig that it is too hot and could we turn the heating off .
Most of our entertainers play a wide selection of music from the 60's to present day and are very popular.
Yes our food and the staff are very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have recently returned from a weeks family holiday with our grandchildren, and their parents, First impressions were "the Hotel was Pink" we had seen on the website that the hotel was "bluey white"!! the grounds for the car park were very overgrown and untidy, so much so that some parking bays were inaccessable due to the overgrown plantlife. The reception staff were very pleasent, but first impressions of the inside of the hotel were that it looked tired and in need of modernisation, as highlighted by the threadbear carpets on the stairs. We had booked two rooms one being a family room which we entered and was disgusted by its appearence and facilities, ie. the wallpaper was hanging off the walls, there was a new plasma tv on the wall, that did not work, so a small portable tv had been left on the dressing table, this tv had been dropped at some point and the casing to the top corner was broken with a hole in it. We were not impressed, as this was a sharp object that our two young grandchildren could have hurt themselves on. The bathroom was very shabby and the floor covering near the toilet desperatly needed changing. At that point we went to check our own room and at the least wallpaper was still on the wall, but the room was very tired looking, After a long journey from Manchester we as a family were very tired and this was not a pleasent start to our holiday, with this we returned to reception and spoke to Eileen and said that both rooms were unacceptable and could we be moved, as it was the Bank holiday weekend there were no rooms available within the hotel, with the acception of one room, which we begrudingly accepted for our daughter and family, as at least the wallpaper was not hanging off the wall.
The swimming pool and changing area also left a lot to be desired, as did the buckets in the middle of the dance floor to catch the water coming through the ceiling.
After the initial disappointment and the lack of availability at surrounding hotels we decided to stay and make the best of a bad job.
What we will say about the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food at breakfast was satisfactory, we had two drinks at the bar on our first night, not up to standard, we then spent the rest of the week at other venues for drinks and meals.
We feel as a family the £1300.00 cost to stay in this hotel was not value for money.

Room Tip: On arrival request to see the rooms before you pay the final bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbooth187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After reading some rather negative reviews to which I totally disagree I felt compelled to write my own. We stayed at the Kistor over the Jubilee weekend and Springbank week. This was our first coach party holiday to the Kistor and certainly wont be our last! Ok, so it needs updating and a lick of paint wouldnt go amiss but so what? If people want 4/5* decoration, meals, service etc then they should walk to the bottom of Belgrave Road, turn right and head for the Livermead, Corbyn Head or the Grand!!!!!! We have had many holidays in the Torbay area over the the past 20yrs and we can honestly say that our stay at the Kistor has got to be one of the best. Its in a prime position. Only two minutes from the beach. Good food and plenty of it, a clean bed and bathroom, what more do you need? Thanks to Peter Theo and Shaun for a lovely week and we hope to see you all again next year.
Jane and Keith Goodison
SHEFFIELD.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Good position near to beach and opposite beautiful gardens and bowling green. Have just returned from a four night stay. Realised from the first meal that we would be eating out most of the time. The dining room carpet looked as if it had not seen a hoover in weeks. The table had crumbs from the previous meal. Cutlery was not always in evidence and we often had to ask for more. I asked twice during one meal for plates to be changed as they had obviously missed the dishwasher. On the first evening a line of tables had obviously been used earlier and not been cleared. The service was extremely slow and on the first evening the fish supposed to be on the menu was not available although we were in the dining room from the start time. The "final nail in the coffin" was a hair on my breakfast. It was just toast from then on. The only lift (which took 2 people) was out of action for three days and then for the rest of the time just went to the 2nd floor (hard luck if you were disabled or slow moving and happened to be on the 1st floor) On the plus side the bedding was clean and the beds were always made well,however the bath was well worn and needed replacing before I would consider using it. Thank goodness for the beautiful weather as we were able to walk to other places to eat - there is a very good Beefeater next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Have just come back from a nights stay at The Kistor in Torquay, couldn't fault any of the staff, Eileen really made my Little boy feel welcomed and she took the time to chat to him, room had a lovely sea view, and was adequate for our needs, clean & comfortable. Food was good just like mum use to make. Excellant bar staff and good prices, would we stay here again YES!!! Please pass our thanks onto the Chef who went out of his way to meet my husbands needs with his evening meal, not many hotels would do this.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 904Robbiesmum904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have just arrived back from a four night stay at the Kistor Hotel in Torquay, the trip was arranged by G B Tours and our driver Dennis was absolutely top man, he was smooth and very considerate to his passengers, always there to help and advise. The hotel was a total disaster, the hotel was pink, dirty pink, our reception on first impressions was good, but then it all went wrong, the stair carpet was so worn it was through to the underlay, and then on to our room, well to say we were disapointed would be an understatement, it was white once upon a time, then it got dirty and even more dirty,the bed sheets were clean, but the bed spread was so dirty i don't think it had ever been washed. the walls were mouldy, water stains and dusty, then on to the bathroom, well, i honestly do mean we would have to clean the bath and sink to be able to use them. we both decided we would not be staying in that room, we were offered another room which had not bean made up and so that was a no no. We were then taken to a room at a sister hotel called The Grosvener Hotel just fifty yards away, well anything would be better, and it was, clean and comfortable, although i have to say the extracter fans from the kitchen right outside our window was a little noisey, twice a day for about two hours at a time
The window was blocked open with a piece of 3 by 2 timber, our room door did not lock, but we were told that there was a knack to locking it on our departure,( thanks ) now i must say the the one thing that really did shock us both was the fact that there was no fire escape, by that i mean there was a steel grid screwed to the outside of the window frame, but hay ho there was a fire alarm. All that remains for us to say is would we book another trip through G B Tours would be a resounding yes, and would we be staying at the Kistor or the Grosvener Hotels again would be a big fat NO.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricklancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Oh dear, Iam sorry that we didn't meet up to your expectations. There are issues regarding the carpets and a sizeable cash injection will be in place to rectify this as well as the other areas which need attention very soon.
How ever I do think it unfair to classify the bath and sink as being unfit for purpose unless they were cleaned first. All rooms are checked prior to the arrival of new guests and a basic part of the check is the inspection of the bathroom. It is a fact that the enamel is worn on some baths and as such there is discolouration and may give the impression of not being clean.
If there was a genuine problem with cleanliness this is unusual and I apologise.
We do try to keep every thing clean and endeavour to make our guests enjoy their stay here with us. Occassionally, we fail as is obviously the case here.
Just a little point though, I feel sure you mean't disgust not discust perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Spent another lovely week at the Kistor Hotel recently. I have been visiting the Kistor at least once a year for about 10 years now and are still made very welcome. We were lucky as the weather was very kind to us - it was hot and sunny all day every day for a week. We therefore did not venture out of the area alot and just relaxed in the garden on several afternoons. Quiet and peaceful. The meals continue to be excellant and there is no excuse for anyone leaving the table hungry. Our waiter for the week was Bart. He was both professional and friendly and most certainly looked after us as usual.

Well done to Peter and Eileen as usual and looking forward to our next visit.

PS We do expect the same wonderful weather though Peter!! Ish!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
I have ordered great weather for your return visit, it's on hold til we know the dates! ish.
Thanks again for your kind words, I have passed on your compliments to our longest serving waiter Bart.
I hope you get some good weather at home before the end of summer. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#20 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#48 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing