We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kistor
Nearby Hotels
US$225
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$154
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$147
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$421
US$407
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
68
99
27
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
99
27
18
20
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Went to the Kistor for an evening out. We had a Christmas meal ,played bingo , the entertainer was very good . The staff were polite and the service was good . For £10 I think this was very good value for money !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maggie7955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Yet again we visited the kistor, the staff were very friendly Eileen the duty manager makes everyone welcome. Simon is a brilliant barman and is an asset to the hotel. Can't wait to visit again hopefully next time to stay in one of the rooms. Well done kistor hotel

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank 904Robbiesmum904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed at the hotel weekend 12th/15th oct, had a fantastic time, sorry folks but wherever we go we pick faults, yes the cleaning needs sorting, but the staff were very very good & helpful, beds were comfortable and clean, plenty of tea & coffee, had the most fantastic view of the harbour and bay, i will definatly go again, the hotel is being done up a bit at a time, as with most buisinesses i think they have all suffered over the past few years, well done to ALL staff at Kistor, from a very happy customer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I cannot understand the negative reviews I have just read for this hotel, clearly the guests expected the five star excellence of the London Dorchester for B&B prices.

Our club trip of 32 people have just arrived home and without exception everyone declared that they had a great time and no complaints.

Considering we were sharing the hotel with a veterans reunion for HMS Cockade which must have stretched the hotels resources to extremes we found the food, service and cleanliness of the highest standard.

OK some of the decoration needed refurbishment but the place was spotless and the food was all home cooked with all fresh vegetables, not frozen rubbish! There was more food than we could consume and not one item was below standard.

This hotel, it's staff and management deserve the highest praise and our group will be returning next year as will the lads and lassies from HMS Cockade.

BTW the lift worked 100%

Terry - Burnham Hillside Bowls Club

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G4POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Yes, it was a memorable weekend and we too look forward to a repeat of the same next year. It is true we are not a 5 star hotel but we do our level best to ensure that our guests have a good time. We always excel when people come to us with the attitude that they are here to have a good time. Both groups this weekend had a really good time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Visited this hoted on 4 nights last week, but only for the entertainment and a drink.
There were 2 coaches staying from Sheffield Vee Gee traval and Maxfields, speaking
to the residents they were not impressed.
The hotel was in the receivers hands, on arrival they found the lift had been condemed.
So the people who were disabled had to be moved to another hotel, and others had to use the stairs.
People said the heating did not work and shower was cold, but on a better note the food was lovely.
The entertainment was ok there was bingo first followed by a singer or a duo, all singing 60's songs.
The bar staff are very nice and hopeful, we enjoyed our evening in there.
So if you have book to stay would check if lift is working, if you are not to good at walking up stairs.

Room Tip: N/A did not stay
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian_barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

I am sorry that you left with such a low opinion of us, particularly as some of the information you have reported upon is not strictly true.
The lift broke down and new parts have had to be ordered. In view of this we made arrangements for 9 guests to stay at an alternative hotel due to their disability. They were very happy with this arrangement.
Our heating is fine but at the beginning of last week we didn't have it turned on, the guests this week are complainig that it is too hot and could we turn the heating off .
Most of our entertainers play a wide selection of music from the 60's to present day and are very popular.
Yes our food and the staff are very good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews