We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend break at Kistor”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend break at Kistor”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A group of us have been going to the Kistor for 5 years now for a cheap'n'cheerful weekend break at this time of year. Hitherto the hotel has been a bit 'tired', but the food has been OK, the staff very friendly, but it was CHEAP
Recently under new ownership, renovations are underway, the food has improved, the evening entertainments are better and the new staff are just as friendly. Waiting at table is very efficient.
They are hoping to become a 3* or even 4* establishment.
We have already provisionally booked to go again in 2015 and look forward to even more changes, but conscious of the fact that it cannot possibly be as cheap as before.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as we have always had the same room, but certainly the Staff are verr accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from the Kistor, this was our third annual stay. Once again we were made very welcome. Great hospitality great meals great nightly entertainment. The long awaited refurbishment is making progress. Thanks to all the staff keep up the good work, see you next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 243nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just back from the kistor hotel. Went by coach trip with geevee travel. Location is fantastic. On arrival greeted by staff, cases taken to our rooms. Rooms in need of refurbishment but this is a project they are doing now under new ownership.friendliness and efficiency of the restraurant
Was excellent.meals not much variety but nice what we had served. Overall pleasant stay we will go again hopefully .

Room Tip: We had room 31 small but seaview and bowling green
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have visited the Kistor on a few occasions. The previous manager is no longer there, he was excellent. However, of all the staff currently at the hotel, and there have been many recent changes of personnel , Lee was the most helpful and the most efficient, in my opinion. April 2014

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The exterior has been changed from Pink to Cream, the renewal of the roof will be completed this week, then the refurbishment of the KISTOR HOTEL will begin.
..............................................................................................................................................................

I have visited the Hotel on numerous occasions, and I have just spent a long weekend there. The Manager Simon, his assistant Dee, Bar Manager Steve and the staff were superb, always polite and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The rooms although tired were always clean, the entertainment was brilliant and the food could not be faulted.
I was asked by every one in my party, to book another long weekend at the Kistor Hotel, and this I have done.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent value for money, good food and entertainment made it a great weekend .Special thanks to manager Simon and staff for ensuring everyone had a time to remember. .We were all taken back by your kindness on Paul,s birthday evening and the extra effort by you all.
We have already booked our next return and wish Simon and staff our best wishes.....P & J

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauladlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel kistor is in definite need of a refurb but the friendliness of the staff more than make up for that. Our room was cleaned, and tidied, every day, thanks again cleaners and the restaurant staff were very attentive and speedy. Special mentions to Simon at reception for being very helpful and funny and also Steve the barman and night supervisor who treated us like regulars even though we were only there for 3days, kistor management do not let go of these 2 guys.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesleygores69L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Lesley thank-you very much for you kind comments regarding my staff,and the service you received.
You comment made me smile management keep hold of theses to, I am the hotel manager,and I look forward to welcoming you back to glf kistor hotel torquay.
Each return visit you make,you will see our improvements,my main aim at the minute is to maintain a service second to non.
Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing