We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, food & entertainment make up for shabby decor”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #75 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the Kistor last month on a Torquay Travel coach holiday.Was pleased to be allocated a double room as being single I get used to tiny poky 'cupboards', also had double seaview. Although the carpet was extremely threadbare and one chair was fit for the tip I had everything I needed to keep me happy in the room. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and the bathroom was clean and fresh other than a bath that needs replacing. There were a couple of problems which were sorted as soon as they could. My radiator was on with no controls for me to turn off so I had a couple of hot nights until a mechanic turned it off with pliers. There was also a problem with a boiler a couple of days in, which meant several of us had only cold water for 24 hours but that also was addressed successfully.
The staff were excellent so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us. Food was good and so plentiful that I had to cut down what I ate to be able to move comfortably!
My biggest negative is that I had chosen this hotel as it advertised a heated indoor swimming pool but I was gutted to discover that it was closed so my new costume did not get an outing.
On a minor point the free wifi was very limited so you had to be almost on top of the box to use it and I had to keep moving away from my group in the entertainments area to the bar if I wanted to use it.
On the subject of entertainment it was brilliant and I enjoyed each of the ones I saw.

Room Tip: I was in room 55 which was a good large double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheilaBikerChick49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our stay didn't go to plan as my husband was hospitalised on our first night and although this wasn't what we had hoped for, the staff couldn't have been more helpful in every aspect. I was between the hospital during the day and the hotel at night. The food at the hotel was excellent. Well cooked, well presented and at a time where I'd normally lose my appetite, I always finished my meals. My room was comfortable and they even accommodated my grandson who had come down to be with me. All in all, given the circumstances, I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thank you from the Towner

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife & I had a brilliant week end at the Kistor, although it needs updating (Which starts in the next few days) the Staff are so friendly and helpful in fact I do not think the word 'No' is in their vocabulary the food was basic but of good quality and good size portions, entertainment was first class, all in all highly recommendable, many thanks for making our stay most enjoyable, We hope to come again next year

Room Tip: We had a Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

First Trip with Friends, hotel does need makeover, but that is being addressed. Staff were excellent and very attentive. Good location and great time alround with good company.
Food was pretty good overall and bar prices were reasonable.
Would certainly look to go again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A group of us have been going to the Kistor for 5 years now for a cheap'n'cheerful weekend break at this time of year. Hitherto the hotel has been a bit 'tired', but the food has been OK, the staff very friendly, but it was CHEAP
Recently under new ownership, renovations are underway, the food has improved, the evening entertainments are better and the new staff are just as friendly. Waiting at table is very efficient.
They are hoping to become a 3* or even 4* establishment.
We have already provisionally booked to go again in 2015 and look forward to even more changes, but conscious of the fact that it cannot possibly be as cheap as before.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as we have always had the same room, but certainly the Staff are verr accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from the Kistor, this was our third annual stay. Once again we were made very welcome. Great hospitality great meals great nightly entertainment. The long awaited refurbishment is making progress. Thanks to all the staff keep up the good work, see you next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just back from the kistor hotel. Went by coach trip with geevee travel. Location is fantastic. On arrival greeted by staff, cases taken to our rooms. Rooms in need of refurbishment but this is a project they are doing now under new ownership.friendliness and efficiency of the restraurant
Was excellent.meals not much variety but nice what we had served. Overall pleasant stay we will go again hopefully .

Room Tip: We had room 31 small but seaview and bowling green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
899 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
913 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing