We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, highly recommended”
Review of Burleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burleigh House
Ranked #26 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just back home after a short visit to Torquay. My cousin and I visited to go to a funeral and visit an elderly relative and I found Burleigh House on the internet. We were so pleased with everything.
The hotel was spotless, we each had a double room and the rooms, bathrooms, sitting room and breakfast room were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. There was plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and a good supply of nice toiletries. The beds were very comfortable, towels thick and plentiful, we couldn't fault a thing.
Ellen and her daughter were very welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and really set us up for the day.
We really enjoyed our stay (though it would have been nicer under better circumstances) and would recommend to anyone, we will certainly stay there again. Thankyou for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianej01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you very much Diane for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for a very late response to your kind words somehow it was missed. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, in happier times
Kind regards from the Team at Burleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This family owned B&B is everything you could want in terms of location, value,comfort and a warm welcome. Rooms are stylish and spotlessly clean breakfast perfect and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. We will return as I am sure many of their guests do. A real gem, in a great location too.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaceboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Manager at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Its good to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards , The team at Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here on business with a colleague overnight in early February 2014. We found Burleigh House far exceeded our expectations and that Ellen and Nigel were excellent hosts. We had the House's two single rooms which were both clean and well appointed with the bathroom and toilet conveniently situated between the two. As others have reported the breakfast was excellent - as was the waitress - and given that we were having to drive over 350 mile that day (right in the middle of the well reported storms) was most welcome.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Burleigh and will certainly be looking to book again on our next visit. Many thanks Guys for looking after us

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaandTYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Manager at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and
look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here in mid September, so friendly & very helpful with advise on Torquay. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to own specifications. A little walk down to the town but so worth it. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you Stuart, for your kind words. It was a real pleasure having you at Burleigh. We look forward to your next visit.
The Team at Burleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at Burleigh House for 2 nights in Sept.to celebrate our silver wedding in Torquay..Everything was perfect Gorgeous breakfasts ,beautifully clean rooms and delightful helpful hosts.I would recommend Burleigh to all my friends

Room Tip: Look for somewhere with off street parking,with easy access to public transport and not directly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy504128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2015

Thank you so much for your review. It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts. We use good locally sourced products which always seem to go down well.
The Team at Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Burleigh House for 5 nights mid Sept during our visit to UK from Canada.We were greeted in the car park by Martin & Marcia who helped with our luggage. After showing us our room we were invited down to the lounge for coffee and cake. They told us a little about the area and I mentioned we wanted to park the car and take a break from driving and use the public transport. The bus down town stopped right outside the b&b. Marcia went out of her way to explain the bus system and gave us advice on what day trip bus tickets to get therefore saving money. This was the 4th b&b we had stayed at on our trip and was by far the best and friendliest, nothing was too much trouble. The room was extreamly comfortable, spacious,clean and welcoming. As for the breakfast there is a large selection and cooked to perfection. This husband and wife team are fantastic be it cooking breakfast, giving advise on local restuarants,sightseeing etc. It's a place where after a long day sightseeing you feel comfotable coming home to put your feet up and chill out. Thank you Martin & Marcia for making our stay in Torquay memorable. We will certainly recommend this b&b. Frank & Joyce Leach

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thank you Martin and Marcia for a wonderful stay you could not have been more accommodating
My husband and I were touring on our Motorcycle which Martin kindled stored in his garage, after going on a ride and getting wet Marcia offered to dry our clothes and Martin brought us a pot of coffe to our room.
The house is spotless and our room was spacious with a very comfy bed and cozy bedding.
Breakfast was of a high quality plenty of choice and all cooked to order, perfect.
About a 15min walk into town with shops most of the way, bus stop right outside the house with bus that runs to the sea front every 10mins so no need to move your car/bike plenty of spacious, safe parking at the rear of the property
I would not hesitate to recommend this bed and breakfast.
If your thinking of staying in a fancy hotel don't, you get so much more for your money at Burleigh great service, great food, great rooms and fantastic value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianehippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#32 of 149 in Torquay
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#45 of 149 in Torquay
206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.8 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh House

Address: 25 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh House is a family-owned and run guest house, open all year round. We offer a warm welcome and comfortable, affordable accommodation whatever the purpose of your visit to the English Riveria. Burleigh House is just a short walk to the town centre, harbour, beaches, Conference Centre and Torbay Hospital. We're also on the route for local buses to Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbot and Exeter. These buses run every 10 minutes from just a few yards from our front door. Torre railway station is close-by with local trains to Paignton, Newton Abbot, Teignmouth, Dawlish and beyond. There are eight guest rooms (one en-suite twin, five en-suite doubles and two singles). The two single guest rooms share a bathroom and separate toilet on the same floor. All our guest rooms have wide-screen, digital freeview television, radio/alarm, tea/coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. Wireless internet is available and we make no additional charge for internet access. We have private off-street parking at the rear of the house, wireless internet is accessible free of charge. We use local produce for our full English breakfast which is served in our pleasant, sunny dining room. For the best prices please do contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Burleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing