We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value B & B”
Review of Burleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burleigh House
Ranked #26 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

a Great value place to stay. Family run, well appointed with en suite rooms, and spotlessly clean. Tremendous breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble. Easy to find with en site parking. Just a short walk from the beach or conference centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks Charles for your kind words. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you here again in the future.
The Team at Burleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This is a gorgeous little B&B about a 15 minute walk away from the city centre.

On arrival we were warmly greeted and taken to our room. Our room, with en suite, was a good size for two people. Very clean and comfortable - the bed was especially comfy and we had an excellent night's sleep. We were offered tea and cake which we took in the reception area - a comfortable, homely atmosphere with plenty of natural light. The homemade sponge cake was delicious! In the morning we had a delicious breakfast, cooked to order.

A brilliant stay - warm, friendly and comfortable. Will be back for sure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Many thanks for your lovely comments and for taking the time to put it on Tripadvisor. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your next visit.
The team at Burleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned home from staying at burleigh house for a 2night stay 18/19th April. If anyone is looking for a b&b you can't go wrong with this one you are greeted well as soon as you arrive the room we had was very clean tidy and comfortable and the full English breakfast outstanding cooked to perfection Mr&Mrs P. Torrington North Devon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely word about Burleigh. We are really glad that our efforts have helped to make your stay a pleasant one. It means a great deal to us when people take the time to put down in words their views on the stay they had with us.
The team at Burleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A wonderful warm welcome with a big pot of tea served to our room. Beautifully decorated and spacious rooms. Friendly service that goes beyond chit chat. We can't wait to visit again,  by far the best B&B we've stayed in. Thanks Ellen and Nigel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JulieNMikeHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and really grateful that you put your views onto Tripavisor. Hoping we see you again soon.
The team at Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

When looking to stay in Torquay for one night we couldn't have made a better choice. The house, rooms and service were absolutely faultless. I would 100% recommend this guest house to everyone.
Thank you for making our stay so pleasant.
Kevin & Gian

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomuk900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to put them on Tripadvisor. It means a great deal to us to get such nice feedback.
The team at Burleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

After enjoying our stay so much, I am so delighted to be able to write a first class review of Burleigh House.
Upon our arrival the hosts were so friendly and warm we instantly felt welcome, such an amazing atmosphere!!
The room was exceptionally clean and very well presented with everything we could need to hand. Fabulous facilities too.
Breakfast was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
A great location too, with only a short distance walk to the beach.
Will definitely recommend to friends and will be returning in the very near future.
Well done Burleigh House and thank you for making our stay such a happy memory.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
The team at Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just back home after a short visit to Torquay. My cousin and I visited to go to a funeral and visit an elderly relative and I found Burleigh House on the internet. We were so pleased with everything.
The hotel was spotless, we each had a double room and the rooms, bathrooms, sitting room and breakfast room were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. There was plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and a good supply of nice toiletries. The beds were very comfortable, towels thick and plentiful, we couldn't fault a thing.
Ellen and her daughter were very welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and really set us up for the day.
We really enjoyed our stay (though it would have been nicer under better circumstances) and would recommend to anyone, we will certainly stay there again. Thankyou for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianej01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel8304, Owner at Burleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you very much Diane for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for a very late response to your kind words somehow it was missed. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, in happier times
Kind regards from the Team at Burleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#33 of 149 in Torquay
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0 mi away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#42 of 149 in Torquay
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#21 of 149 in Torquay
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#25 of 149 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#28 of 149 in Torquay
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh House

Address: 25 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £48 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh House is a family-owned and run guest house, open all year round. We offer a warm welcome and comfortable, affordable accommodation whatever the purpose of your visit to the English Riveria. Burleigh House is just a short walk to the town centre, harbour, beaches, Conference Centre and Torbay Hospital. We're also on the route for local buses to Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbot and Exeter. These buses run every 10 minutes from just a few yards from our front door. Torre railway station is close-by with local trains to Paignton, Newton Abbot, Teignmouth, Dawlish and beyond. There are eight guest rooms (one en-suite twin, five en-suite doubles and two singles). The two single guest rooms share a bathroom and separate toilet on the same floor. All our guest rooms have wide-screen, digital freeview television, radio/alarm, tea/coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. Wireless internet is available and we make no additional charge for internet access. We have private off-street parking at the rear of the house, wireless internet is accessible free of charge. We use local produce for our full English breakfast which is served in our pleasant, sunny dining room. For the best prices please do contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing