We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already booked for next year!”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 28 September 2011

What a wonderful week i have just had with my family at the Torbay Hotel. Comfortable room facing the fountain, lovely hot meals and lots of choice, great trips out during the day and really great entertainment at night. We can't understand the negative reviews, what you get is amazing considering the price. We have already booked for next year and hope that the same great team of people are there when we arrive.
Great Job!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thanks for having a lovely stay and thanks for all your wonderful comments. The best compliment we can get is from guests who enjoy themselves that much that they want to come back. I and the team look forward to seeing you again next year, and hopefully we will all still be here to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Bay Torbay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

having now visited 7 of shearings hotels and been totally amazed, was somewhat disappointed with torbay. on entering the hotel the first thing you see is a heavily stained cahir lift going into the restraunt area! food was adequate and room was basic and clean, entertainment was late and of poor quality. wont be back sorry.

Room Tip: try THL further up the road much more fun , cleaner and better facillities such as aztec swim and sp...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KarenhPlymouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

I am surprised that you were disappointed. We get such wonderful responses from our guests, especially regarding the food. We do have a full entertainment package each night, which is usually well received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a nice time public areas of this hotel not to bad but standard rooms need to be updated with some urgency, food not to bad staff very pleasant

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BristolPriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and i am pleased that you had a nice time. We do update and refurbish the building when possible. its nice toi hear that you found the food and the staff pleasant too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel was amazing. I came with my nan and grandad and my brother and sister. The rooms were great, our waiter was great too he was called shaun we got given a warm welcome and had a Fab holiday. thanks to this amazing hotel. The pool and entertainment was really good to.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbyy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thanks Abby12 for posting such a nice review, I am very glad that you had a good time and that Shaun looked afrter you. He will be pleased to know that you thought he was great. hopefully we will see you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel was dirty and very old fashioned, the bedrooms were smelly and looked like they had not been cleaned proberly for months. The bathroom had mold growing around the bath and down the walls, the sink was wobbly and didn't drain correctly, the bath leaked when the shower was used. The lift situation was unaceptable for the ages of the cliantel (refere to the pic of stair lift). The only saving grace was the food and the people serving it. Definatly will not be going back, spoilt our holiday.

Room Tip: the rooms were discusting
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank g p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

it's very unusual to see comments such as this. We have so many positive and warm reviews by so many satisified guests, that it is a shock to see that you were not happy. I am glad that you found the food to be of a good standard and the staff to be praised also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is the fifth time we have been to this hotel. This time we have left disappointed.The second day of our visit we returned to our room after a day's trip to find our room had been burgled, six gold rings, gold necklace and a £100 stolen. Very disappointed with the service we received from the hotel , no one seemed to care or help with our situation. For the remainder of the holiday we were made to feel isolated and ignored by the management who made no effort at all to make contact with us or apologise . I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Having been here and enjoyed five previous visits, it is a disappointment to me that your stay this time was marred by an unusual occurrence. It is very rare for anything like this to happen, but I would like to think that staff did all they could to help. We offer whatever assistance we can to our guests, as you have found on your five other stays with us, and it is a pity that you will not be returning to us, given that you have had so many wonderful holidays here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our first holiday with Shearings and it was fabulous. The hotel is clean and welcoming with very polite staff, especially the waiters. Our evening meal was very enjoyable with a good choice of menu. A memorable holiday.
Thankyou to all the staff.



Alison. Billinghay, Lincolnshire

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

I and my staff are very pleased that your first stay with us was such memorable one. Great comments are always appreciated and I will pass on your praise to all concerned. I hope to see you again sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,948 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing