We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have been to this hotel before as we like the location - right on the front at Torquay. This time we paid a little extra and had a sea view but not a Superior room. As people have remarked on the foliage spoiling the sea view in the summer I can recommend room 236 as it is immediately opposite the war memorial and faces a gap in the trees so has an uninterrupted view of the marina and sea. It is quite a basic twin bedded room though and has a bath and no shower. (It still boasts a pink bathroom suite so obviously not up-graded for a few years) but the room is clean and has a double-glazed window.
The food was good - tasty and hot - and we had a very pleasant waitress. We were seated with another couple and enjoyed their company for the week.
The entertainment included a bit of dancing (ballroom, sequence & line with 'disco' later in the evening), bingo and the resident entertainer plus visiting cabaret acts on a couple of evenings. [In recent years it has been Tamar & Steve as the resident entertainment but now is only Steve]. On the Thursday the cabaret was a delightful Welsh lassie called Paris - superb voice and a lovely personality - one of the best entertainers we have seen on a Shearing holiday.
All in all a very enjoyable 5 day coach holiday - good excursions, helpful and friendly staff in the hotel, good food and a reasonable room (not 'posh' but then we didn't pay 5-star prices and with the entertainment in the evenings we didn't spend much time in the room). We will definitely be visiting the hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 236 has a good sea view but is quite a basic room with a bath and no shower. It is on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

I am pleased to receive a response from someone who has visited us before, and thanks for your in depth review. It is nice that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much, and as usual the food gets a positive mention. Paris is a regular performer at the Torbay and she is very good and popular, so I will pass on your praise to her. When you visit us again, give us a call beforehand and we will try to make your next trip just as enjoyable as this one has been

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Just like to thank everyone at the Torbay Hotel for a great 4 day break. We were a party of four and we all had a brill time with a shearings trip to this hotel.
Please ignore the negative remarks, everyone we encountered here could not do enough for us. Yes, the hotel is a bit tired in parts but in no way detracted from our stay. The food was top class and lots of it. The entertainment was not to our taste but others on our trip enjoyed it very much.
We spoke to others on our trip an all remarks were Positive
Thanks once again
Roy,Noella, Mick & Julie

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Royboy302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thanks for your review and i'm glad that you had such a great weekend, enjoyed the food and all we had to offer.I hope we see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We travelled with Shearings for an all included weekend to the Torbay Hotel and had a most enjoyable stay. Based central to the harbour it is an ideal location for those who have not been to Torquay before. The rooms were comfortable and clean with nice hot showers. Mealtimes were well organised and politely served by Sean and the meals were spot on. At the bar, John kept us well supplied and entertainment was well received next door in the main room. All spirits were branded and the bar is comfortable and a great place to just relax and chill out.
Being January the sea was quite rough but we enjoyed a lovely walk along the prom and witnessed the sea wall getting belted by the waves. A quiet stroll around the harbour and fresh fish n chips rounded off a very pleasurable day with a swim in the hotel pool to finish the afternoon.
Our cases were delivered and collected from our rooms and Shearings took us on a marvellous day out over dartmoor and down to Plymouth on the saturday. A very pleasant and recommended stay.
Thank you to all the Torbay Hotel for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor as the lift gets very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank peter y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Walking along the prom in bad weather... very brave but I’m glad that this added to the enjoyment of your stay! It’s nice to see you enjoyed your entire stay and used all the different facilities that we offer! Both John and Sean where so happy to hear your praise for them and they both thank you. I hope that we can welcome you to one of our hotels again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights HB its food is very good,good value, staff are very polite and helpfull and its great for a weekend break.

Room Tip: worth hiring the premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ambulanceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thanks for your short, sweet and full of praise comments. I see you stayed in one of our luxurious premier rooms. I’m glad you feel it’s worth that little extra to have. They only thing left for me to say is come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Torbay Hotel, Torquay, UK
Torquay is a lovely seaside town in south Devon. It takes about 4 hours to get there by road on a misty and wet Friday in deep bleak midwinter from London. Torquay, being what is referred to as the English Riviera, abounds with B&B, holiday lets and hotels of all grades. We stayed at the Torbay hotel for an extended weekend. The front of the hotel faces the bay across which lie the towns of Paignton and Brixham, the other two towns of the English Riviera. The hotel is located within easy walk of the harbour, shops, public transport, theatre and other attractions. It is an older refurbished building. There is one lift to the upper floors and the cantilevered stair case, as is common in hotels of this age, slopes away from its anchor towards the stairwell which can be disconcerting. The rooms are adequately furnished and acceptable for a short stay. We had a room on the 3rd floor which had an extra single bed, stand alone wardrobe, a small table top TV, instant coffee and tea making facility, a radio/alarm clock and shower over the bath. The ventilation came on with the light switch that was quite noisy. So, if you take a partner or additional family member and wish not to disturb their beauty sleep in the middle of the night, do not turn on the light switch. Better still avoid going to the toilet and wait until dawn. There is an indoor swimming pool on the first floor at the end of a long corridor past all the rooms. Be sure not to have a cardiac arrest or seize up in the pool. You are likely to find yourself alone without anyone to help with a health related emergency. For safety take someone along, just in case. The reception, bar and the dining room staff (some locals but mostly young Poles) were very helpful, clean and healthy looking and courteous. It is worth taking the local bus to all the nearby towns and their interesting seafronts. However, if you happen to be there try driving around the 365 odd square miles of forested and moorland of Dartmoor. Helps you appreciate the setting of the Hounds of Baskerville. Stop by in the town with its well known bleak looking Victorian period Dartmoor Jail. There is a micro brewery not too far from the jail that does a variety of good English ales. Try them all, especially the Jail ale. Or was it the Jail Beer. These ales are distributed locally only. There are other interesting little towns and places of interest nearby – Newton Abbot, Totnes, Buckfast (or was it Fast Buck?) Abbey; costs a fortune for a cheese cake, cake, meat pasty, sausage roll, etc. The cappuccino wasn’t all that brilliant either. The abbey and its surroundings are well kept. The extortionate prices probably pay for its upkeep. If you haven’t been to the English Riviera and Dartmoor, then go. Preferably off season to avoid the maddening crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a shower and a hard bed. Else you may get a room with a bath only and a soft bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CK110210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thanks for your recent review regarding your stay with us and glad to see that you enjoyed most aspects of your holiday with only a few minor inconveniences! I’m sorry that your extractor fan disturbed you but they are a necessary evil! I’m glad you took advantage of the swimming pool, but to put your mind at rest we don’t allow lone bathers! I hope to see you again, and we will try to have some better weather for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My friend and I went to the hotel for a 5 day "Tinsel & Turkey" break. We had a very nice large room at the front of the hotel overlooking the harbour. Beds were lovely with clean sheets.,and the bathroom was nice and clean with white towels. Tea making facilities were provided and we had a nice new t.v. We were allocated our dining table on the first night and always had this same table for all our meals, which was very nice as we always knew where we were sitting whatever time we went for meals. All meals were waiter service with an excellent choice on the menu, including vegetarian options., and the dining room was beautifully decorated. We had entertainment on 3 nights which was excellent,and this was followed by a large choice of music for people to dance to. The lounge areas were very nice and also on 3 afternoons around 4-5p.m. we were served with complimentary tea & coffee including mince pies and christmas cake. Right outside the hotel were bus stops for anyone that wanted to venture to nearby places or maybe the Willows shopping centre for M&S and Sainsburys. The only very small downfall is that this lovely hotel is a listed building and only has one small lift. They have been trying since l977 (sorry if the dates wrong) to persuade the local council to let them install another one. If any Torquay Councillors are reading this, PLEASE let them install another lift as this may put some elderley or disabled people off going there, and they would miss out on an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldagedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thanks for your superb review of your recent holiday with us, your praise of pretty much every aspect of the hotel is certainly nice and refreshing to hear and I will be taking pleasure on passing this message to all my staff. I’m also glad that you find our location so appealing, if you choose to return you will find a warm welcome waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

MY daughter and I took a last minute holiday with Shearings and were very impressed from the minute we joined the coach in Warrington.
Shearings are very slick and made the checking in and journey down very easy and carefree.
On arrival at the hotel we found check in took 1 minute and our luggage arrived in the room 5 minutes later.
Our room (206) was very clean, tidy and comfortable with two armchairs and a table in the window. The bath room was also very clean and tidy, it was just a bit tired and would benefit from some renovation.
We enjoyed a view of the marina from the bay window which was lovely, but I imagine that in summer the trees might well act as a screen.
The food was good, the staff were very helpful and always cheerful which made the stay all the more enjoyable.
The entertainment at night was ok and well organised and attended.
All in all a very affordable and enjoyable 4 day break that we will be repeating, so thank you Mr Shearing and well done.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the marina which might be obscured in summer by trees and as the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simonghughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Thanks Simon, I am glad that you and your daughter had such a great weekend away with us. As usua,l it is always good to hear that the food, staff and service were to your satisfaction. It is always nice to hear such positive reviews. Have a happy New year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £49 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing