We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standard of food”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 17 July 2012

ThIs Hotel need to be refurbished, the rooms are small and the carpet in our room was heavilly stained it was also in need of redecoration. Breakfast cereals are very small portions(much smaller than at other Shearings hotels), the choices for evenings meals are very poor again as is the the portion size, it seems to me that shearing have lowered their standards. The food frozen massed produced just deep fried mostly. I wont consider another shearings holiday unless they bring their standards up to an acceptable level.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gordon E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

I'm sorry that you felt theat the food portions were not large enough for you but our straff would gladly give you more if required - you only have to ask. our extensive menus are usually well received with plenty of choice suiting every taste, but it seems we could not match your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

Writing this on behalf of my mother who booked and stayed here recently.
Shearings never told us the coach was cancelled and a taxi was being sent in replacement.
I'm not a big eater by any stretch of the imagination and the food portions were small even for me - which was very surpirsing.
The "chunky" vegetable soup had little vegetables and the consistency of water.
The roast pork looked like a half portion. The meat was cut paper thin.
Twice we had no hot water. once at 4.30pm in the afternoon and the other first thing in the morning. The place could do with a little modernisation. On one trip the Shearings coach was unavailable and we ended up on a second rate replacement by a company called Cresta which was very old.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PipM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

I am sorry that your mother did not find her stay as enjoyable as she would have wanted. It is the first time I have heard of someone saying there was not enough food, however if she had asked othe staff they would have gladly brought her more food to satify her appetite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is one of the big and long established landmark hotels in Torquay, arguably up there with the Grand and the Imperial in that regard. It's the best-located hotel in Torquay, right in the centre by the harbour and the Strand. It would be impossible to get a more central location.

There are large trees opposite the hotel which shroud the view slightly from the front facing rooms, but sadly some of the trees look like they're dying, which would be a shame. Anyway, back to the hotel, we booked three rooms, a front facing single, a front facing double and a rear-facing triple (4 in the party, this was all they had). All were the standard rooms, rather than the superior/deluxe. We've had these before at Shearings hotels and they're very nice, they looked particularly impressive as I glimpsed them as the maids were opening doors etc. All the rooms are clean and comfortable, the rear cliff-facing views aren't very exciting compared to the front ones, but then again the rear rooms are amazingly quiet and peaceful for a central location, the road in front of the hotel is very busy as are the Pavilion gardens opposite, especially on Fri/Sat nights when the local youths seem to congregate (though not causing any trouble).

The food is just like any other Shearings hotel, with a good selection each night from the menu. I thought the portions were rather larger than in some other Shearings hotels. In any case it was all good food, hardly a la carte but most enjoyable, with friendly and attentive restaurant staff.

The parking is a bit of a distance away, but it is in a nice undercover car park which was very spacious. It was fine for us but anyone with serious mobility problems would be better going on the Shearings coach. On the subject of mobility, the hotel's sole lift was often very busy, but you get there in the end.

Reading some of the reviews on here makes me think I was at a different hotel. It's a great base to explore Torquay from. The food is good, staff are nice, it's a great location. There is some scuffed paintwork and peeling paper if you go looking for it, but who wants to spend their holiday doing that? Likewise, the TV in the room might be old with only 7 channels, but again, why spend your holiday watching TV? It's amazing value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front facing has great views but a little noisy, rear facing is peaceful but facing a cliff and rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryPheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel and I am glad that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us. It is always nice to know that we have met your needs, and that you found so many things to your liking about the hotel and the resort. I hope we see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just returned from a long week end at the Torbay Hotel. What a gem compared to our earlier holiday. There was a mix up on the booking via the internet, but the staff were brilliant. Sent us for a hot drink whilst they dealt with it, had a room overlooking the harbour, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was very clean, meals were brilliant and the staff excelled their selves by their friendly, helpful and cooperative ways. We cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will certainly be going back. So thank you Torbay Hotel it was a pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: Book in here for a holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you Sheila B for your glowing review and i am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I am happy that the staff looked after you so well and that despite the booking mix up, the weekend was enjoyed. We certainly look forward to seeing you again and no better recommendation can be had, than you plan to come again to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Cannot imagine how anyone could consider returning to this awful place. Can only assume that their standards are set on minimum. Spent 4 days here with Shearings (never again) - peeling wallpaper and paint - stained ceilings and carpets - tv that did not work - entertainment that was an embarrassment - food that was clearly mass produced supermarket value level and portions that would not satisfy a small child - we ate out each day after the first meal. Apart from pleasant, hard working staff this establishment is a disgrace.

Room Tip: Don't even think about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnjrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

I am sorry that you are one of the few that we could not manage to satisfy. We offer good value for money holidays to our customers, as you can see from the many positive reviews that we have received. I guess that we are just not the holiday company that is best suited for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a Monday to Friday break and enjoyed ourselves very much. The hotel is situated right on the harbour, so close to the theatre, shops and all Torquay has to offer. Mainly being a Shearings frequented hotel the clientele were of mature age, so the entertainment was geared to the majority. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although meal times were fairly rigid it suited us and the food was very good value, no complaints abouts the menu or portion sizes. In fact the cost of staying here is excellent value for money and we cannot wait to return. Our room had a bath and shower, was clean and had tea plus coffee replenished daily.
The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the fact that there is no car park on site, but it is secure, about 10 mins away.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath and shower, our room was not on the front and was probably quieter than fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and I and my staff are so pleased that you had such a great holiday with us. It is nice that there was so much for you to enjoy and I really look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was a short break for me and my partner , this hotel was very good value for money and we would stay her again , but I would say it is geared up for the old age . so the entertaiment there was not to our taste , we also found the tight meal times could have been more open ie not 8 till 9 for breakfast or 6.30 till 8 for evening meal an extra hour on each would be better , people do not like to be rushed on holidays . Apart from the meal time , every thing else was very good , food, service and staff very good , room clean and addiqate , best part about this hotel is the location right on the front oppasit the marina and 5 min walk to all shop, bars and theater .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daiharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Hi daiharding, thank you for posting your comments and glad that you considered your stay with us was good value for money. we do our best to provide great service, food and quality for the money you pay and I am happy that this was the case with yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing