We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you dont have to use this hotel dont”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“if you dont have to use this hotel dont”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

what can i say we stayed for 7 days our room wasnt cleaned the quilt cover on our bed was dirty for 5 days the food was poor especially the evening meal our room and the downstaires rooms all needed renovating there was paper coming off the walls. one evening while having our evening meal the couple on the next table asked if we could shut the curtains as the sun was in their eye as we pulled the curtain over we were covered in dust god noes when they were last cleaned.
the only good thing was the staff we will never return to this hotel again

Room Tip: i would not choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
I am sorry if your recent holday was marred by the issues that you have raised. It is most uncommon of these types of complaints to occur, as you can see by the many satisfied customer reviews posted. I will certainly look at the issues mentioned and will attend to any that require attention. Hopefully you will return once again and can have an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your positive praise for our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    138
    39
    55
See reviews for
124
420
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hotel looks ok from outside, but it is very dull and dingy inside. The public areas would benefit from a deep clean and also redecoration. The public toilets are disgraceful, they were always dirty and quite often had no toilet roll.
The dining room was staffed by foreign staff whose basic lack of understanding of English meant that you never knew whether you were going to get what you'd ordered!
The walls in the dining room were covered in various drips of food and drinks, not very pleasant at all and from what I could see the carpet was never vacumned as the same piece of bread that was under our table on the day we arrived was still there on the morning of departure, it was like seeing an old friend every day!
It was almost impossible to get a drink from the bar as the waiting staff couldn't take your order and there was never a wine waiter apart from on our last evening, who asked if we wanted anything from the bar whilst we were eating dessert! I resorted to going to the bar myself and carrying the drinks into the dining room.
Service was so fast you really couldn't relax, as soon as you put your cutlery down, the waiter was there asking you what you wanted to eat for the next course. I think there must have been some sort of competition to see who get get all their tables out fastest!!
The food was so obviously the cheapest possible, it was of a very low standard and mostly completely tasteless, after 4 days we ate out in local restaurants. I don't like being called "Darling" I find it derogatory and all the staff in the dining room used this term.
I also particularly dislike sitting eating my meal whilst tables are being sprayed with cleaning fluid and set for breakfast around me, I dread to think what was in the cleaning fluid floating round the room, surely this is a Health and Safety issue? The tables are so close to each other that it was difficult sitting at the table on some occasions without asking our neighbours to move their chairs!
The swimming pool was down a very dark and dirty corridor and really not worth the journey!
The bedroom was clean and adequate.
On the plus side, the hotel is in a nice position opposite the marina and the staff on reception were helpful.
Would I make a return visit, never!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vacationgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy anything on your recent stay with us. I am very surprised about some of your comments, as our staff, especially our restaurant staff ,get very positive praise from many guests and despite many of them being non uk nationals they are extremely good at their job and their English is not usually called into question. Food is often complimented on but I am sorry if it was not to your liking.
I will look into a number of the issues that you have raised with our Restaurant manager, and rest assured any that are found will be rectified straight away. There are often two to three wine waiters each evening, so I am surprised that you could not find one! I am glad that the Reception staff were to your satisfaction and the location of the hotel a plus too. i am sorry that you will not be returning with us as I am sure that we could give you the holiday that so many of our other guests find so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very enjoyable weekend, rooms good, food very good,staff very helpful, attentive at mealtimes (even with extra sausage at breakfast...... luverly) been before will go again....being very picky could do with cabaret on a Sunday and very restricted with small lift but this was explained to us satisfactory........Very happy

Room Tip: rooms at back quiet (very warm above swimming pool area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnniesXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Hi johniesXI, thanks for your review of your weekend stay with us, it's great that you have been before and that you will be coming to the Torbay again. I am glad that we provide you with everything that you need for your stay, apart from the Sunday night cabaret, it does give you the chance to epxlore or have a relaxing quiet evening though. I look forward to seeing you when you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We went to the above hotel for 4 days in August 2012.
Quite good Hotel. Only problem is the lack of time to eat your meal. Seems to me that the staff are paid for a very restricted time. Evening meal for instance served between 18.30hrs & 20.00hrs. We went in one night at 19.50hrs waiter told us to come earlier in future. I pointed out the card in our room said 18.30hrs till 20.00 hrs & we were within that time,I tried to order a bottle of wine only to be told that the wine water finished at 19.30hrs. I spotted the wine waiter about 5 minutes later & did get my wine. I went to reception & reported the inciden but despite beingt told my waiter was wrong nothing changed.

Room Tip: Have an upgrade plus sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterLANCASHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thnk you for your review and I am glad that you had a nice stay. i am sorry if you felt rushed at dinner and were unable to get wine, this is unusual and I will look into it to ensure this breakdown in service does not recur. We value the fact that you should have a relaxed dining experience and usually find that the hour and a half is sufficient time for the restaurant to be open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had a lovely holiday, staying at the Bay Torbay Hotel. All the staff were polite. Reception staff were well informed of local timetables for buses etc. Meals in the restaurant were superb, Balazs (the waiter) was extremely helpful, I'd go as far as stating he was "exceptional". He certainly went the extra mile.

Carole & Ced Harvey

Room Tip: Why not ask for a sea view. Its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theharveys187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Many thanks to you for letting us know of your enjoyable stay with us. I am so pleased that you found so much to your liking and I will be sure to pass on to Balazs your comments regarding the service you received from him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We paid to upgrade to a premier front facing room - the negative is that the road is very noisy and there is no double glazing. Torquay is buzzing in August so there were rowdy crowds in the gardens and bus stop opposite into the early hours.
We did not sleep the first night due to the dreadful collapsed mattress! I could not believe that the housekeeper had made the bed ready for us without noticing the big hole in the mattress.
But from then on the holiday was excellent. I complained immediately to the hotel manager about the mattress, by the time we had finished breakfast a brand new mattress had been delivered!
Earplugs purchased from the local "Boots" resolved the road noise problem.
The food and service in the dining room was excellent. Staff on the reception were really friendly.
Room was very comfortable. Shower, excellent, hot water plentiful. New mattress was great. Good TV & facilities in the room. Lovely view of the gardens opposite.
Overall we all had a great time... thank you!

Room Tip: Premier Rooms at the front nice but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soller125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you Soller125 for your review and I am glad that you an excellent holiday and that you enjoyed your premier room - they are great rooms. I am sorry that you found a problem with the mattress, but I am pleased hat it was resolved so promptly to your satisfaction and that once more the food and service were found to be excellent too. Thank you again and we hope you will return once more to Torquay and the Torbay hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Arrived at hotel a little wary after reading reviews. Reception staff efficient but not particularly friendly. Single lift carrying 5 people inadequate for such a large hotel. Room very clean although the toilet did not flush properly and we had to keep the window closed at night due to traffic noise. Our room was a long walk so thankfully we are fit. Hotel too warm. The indoor swimming pool is very disappointing being dark and the corridor from the changing rooms needs urgent repair being dirty with cobwebs and broken door fittings.
Food was better than expected but the portion sizes are not great especially the vegetables. Becomes rather boring and predictable after a few days so decided on a meal out. The cafe and reception area is huge and clean. No complaints re the entertainment.
Never realised the hotel is so near the town centre - do they airbrush out the amusement arcades next door from their promotional photos? Excellent view from front-facing bedroom overlooking the harbour although have to pay extra for same. Surprised tea and coffee is not served with dinner but instead have to queue in foyer. Would visit again if only for convenient location.

Room Tip: Be aware of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigglesBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us and I am glad that you enjoyed it. We are in a prime location and there are not any other hotels that close to all the local amenities. i am glad that the hotel was better than you initially expected and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing