We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely time”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 5 November 2012

enjoyed another weekend break at this hotel ,,its ideal , really good location,good helpful staff ,room fine ,food fine ,,nothing to complain about ,if you want extra food , tea /milk,towels etc just ask , happy fun hosts ,cant wait to go back ,,and all staff make this hotel so good .great team, thank you ,,,angie williams.

Room Tip: we used to have front facing but now prefer second floor back facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rathven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your wonderful post Angie, and as always its a pleasure to look after you,We look forward to you coming to see us again soon. I will also pass on your comments to the staff, who will be very pleased .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

Four days break for our anniversary. After 81/2 hours travel we went to our room. No delay really on binging the luggage up. We didn't have any view apart from the banking of rubble about 2 metres from our window, however some guests we spoke to had paid extra for a sea view and didn't get one. Our room was over the swimming pool and too warm at all times. The location was the only ggod thing about this hotel.
The food was terrible only to be compared with a £1 microwave meal
After the first night eating both myself and husband were ill. We had a swim in the pool and eating the night before so it was either the pool or the food.
This calmed down after a day but we didnt eat at the hotel again.
Our room also smelt very strong of damp and fustiness.
I would not expect to be this ill from going to somewhere in England. Having said that on the morning we were going my husband mentioned to one of the staff at reception we ha been ill and they had immodium there! which we found very uncommon.
May go back to Torquay but keeping away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eccles44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

I am sorry that you felt that your stay was not as you expected, and am disappointed that you did not enjoy the food, although I would say that most people are very complimentary about our food as can be seen by other postings.I am sure if you had tried other meals then you would have enjoyed them
I woud like to add that we advertise our rooms as front facing views and not sea views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Visited the Bay Torbay Hotel, with friends, on 12.10.12. Having read several reviews I was not expecting too much. I was however pleasently surprised at the standards bearing in mind that it was a cheap weekend. The food was ok,as were the rooms and entertainment. I wouls not hesitate visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you grahamhaynes for your post, its always good to pleasantly surprise people on their first stay and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, that you will visit us again - hopefully soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent and car parking is a short distance away from the hotel but the hotel gave excellent directions. Stayed here for a two night break. Had read previous reviews and although mixed they gave some indication of what to expect. This could be a wonderful hotel if they sorted out a few of the niggles. The main problem being the lift, saw many elderly people using sticks trying to get to their rooms by having to use the lifts as you always had to wait a long time. For what we paid we did not expect five star but even so found some of the fascilities could be updated. Thought the entertainment was fine, played music for all tastes, short game of bingo and cabaret. Prices of drinks were very high, in a top class hotel this would be acceptable but I do think that they need to compromise. Was very surprised when at breakfast one of the party asked for fruit juice, weetabix and cooked breakfast they were told this was not allowed, it was either or. Would have liked croissants as a choice for breakfast as did not want cooked food. Staff were on the whole friendly but always seemed in a rush to get you out of the dining room. All this apart enjoyed our short stay but would probably book elsewhere if we intended to stay longer. If this hotel was brought up to date it would be worth its weight in gold.

Room Tip: Had upgraded to a front facing room and was allocated one on the fourth floor. Did not have double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Group4people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay and I am glad that you had a nice stay. The location is excellent for sure and is often commented on.
While we do have one lift, it really is about patience and taking ones time, although I am pleased you did not have an isue with it. our drinks I would say are reasonably priced for a hotel and while not weatherspoon prices, the facilities we offer are better.I will look into your comments about breakfast, as you should have been able to eat to your hearts content.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

well just back from lovely mid week break to this hotel it in great position staff were lovely bar staff very good, room clean and comfy negative lift small and when hotel full can be difficult but a small price to pay for inexpensive break food was interesting but got feeling chef was not English just by some of the combinations that were unusual but on the whole was more than enough and a good range to choose from. pool was nice but you need some one with you when you swim, changing room was lovely and clean but corridor to pool needs sorting. entertainment was good what we saw plenty of seating and space in bar area would go back as worth a second visit

Room Tip: ask for room near lift if you have trouble with steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you Valh49 for such great comments about your stay, I am pleased that you found the staff and location amongst other things to be very good and the bar staff will be pleased for a mention. It is pleasin when guests not only write such nice words of praise, but also when they tell us that they will be coming back. We look forward to your next visit. Our Chef by the way is not only English but Devon through and through, maybe he is becoming continental in his approach! see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

just came back from torbay hotel after 5 days of stress. which we went to re lax. coach down was great the coach driver was great. as we arrived at hotel we thought we would have anice holiday. the weather all week was great the trips were great. we paid extra for a sea view no 230 2nd floor. the view was not to bad the room wasvery run down beds were very lumpy the noise from out side trafic was very loud. bathroom was shaby toilet seat and bowl needed changing.carpet was full of stains. the windows were dirty telly needed to be changed.. It was a long walk to our room lots of stairs. there is only 1 lift which is at the other end if you dont like lifts your in trouble .whent down for our fist meal we had a hard time getting to the table it was very cramped up the corner my wife had to clime over chairs to sit down. we orderd the meal 8 chips could not eat very hard and dry small pieace of pork the small portion vegetables were not cooked. we thought might be allright tomorow.breakfast was poor 1 egg .very small sausage1 spoon of beans 1 very small under done egg half a tamato 1 hash brown 1 round toast cut in half. bowl of porridge.the night time meal was worse than the last one. the meals the reast of the week were just as bad no potatoes till last meal 3very / very small potatoes. on the morning of departure the breakfast they was asking if we wanted eny more.we have stayed at lots shearings hotels but this one is the worst ever.my advice stay away but if you want a stress full holiday give it a go unless the food is up graded we will try another company

Room Tip: room no 230 long walk to room view not to bad room very run down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 389Alan_W389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

I am sorry that you did not find anything to your liking on your recent stay with us, It is surprising to find so many things that a guest did not enjoy whilst staying with us. We usually, as you can see from lots of other reviews , achieve very positive comments for the food, If you did not get enough we would gladly have given you more, if you had asked one of our waiting staff, they would have been more than happy to have obliged you.We have programmed refurbishments each year and try to upgrade as many as possible, but the rooms are usually in a good state of cleanliness, however i will look into the issues that you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Torbay Hotel, Torquay, by means of Shearings Holidays.

The location of the hotel is probably the best in Torquay. Bus stops to many local destinations are across the road and beyond is the promenade and marina. We were allocated a triple room with ample space and a bright, clean bathroom and shower. We were also pleased to have been allocated a side sea view room which allowed us views of the pier and coast; all the more satisfying due to the fact we had not paid the £20 supplement required for 'front' sea view rooms. However when booking we decided against the latter option, as an earlier review pointed out that many front room views were restricted due to the tall, tree-lined area at the front of the hotel, which we noticed on our arrival.

This hotel is by no means luxurious, however is impressive in its own way and for the cost of the holiday, is well worth a visit. There was entertainment every night in the form of old-time dancing, bingo, followed by a top quality artist; something for every taste. The bar was open regularly and the reception and lounge area was a hub of activity, thus creating a good atmosphere at all times. The food was very good with generous portions and the staff throughout the hotel were pleasant, professional and extremely helpful. This is why my following comment is said with deep regret and I must stress beforehand that the source was not necessarily the hotel. On the last night I suffered sickness etc; which was later found to be the case with several other people on our trip. Also on the last morning we were informed that a waiter in the restaurant was absent with what we believe to have been similar symptoms. However as mentioned above, the source/cause has by no means been confirmed, though no doubt Shearings will be taking this matter up with management in due course.

The above aside, I would not be put off from visiting this hotel, as the people affected were indeed a minority. Torquay is a beautiful place and a good base for exploring the surrounding area. We made trips to Plymouth, Paignton, Brixham which were very enjoyable and as usual Shearings were the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: If you feel inclined to pay extra for a front, sea view room, the first floor may be the better choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheshG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you had such a wonderful four days with us and found so many aspects of your holiday to be so enjoyable. The triple room you were in does have a great view, it is the only room we have like that unfortunately
I am sorry that you were ill on the last night with us, unfortunately there were a few people reported ill, but I can assure you it was not the lovely food that you ate, we do suspect a virus that is very prevalent around the country at present, that does cause rapid but short sickness, I am pleased that it does not alter your views on your stay at the Torbay and hopefully we will see you again in the near future for another great break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#26 of 86 in Torquay
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £75 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing