We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great time”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Decided to go at the last minute[Jan.14]for a mid week break.we had a wonderful time .room was spotless.food was great and ample.ALL the staff were smart and friendly.The position of the hotel was superb.we will certainly go back.

Room Tip: request a none sea view room. no traffic noise in the rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darelynmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thanks for the great review and especially glad that you will be coming back again,I am pleased that you had such a wonderful time and that you found the staff especially friendly and of course enough to eat. I shall pass on your praise to all concerned and look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    138
    39
    56
See reviews for
125
420
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

we booked the trip with shearings.bargain for 4 days.torbay hotel torquay. hotel excellent position right on sea front.all the staff were very `pleasant and helpful.the food was served on time .and the menu was hot and always tasty.the room we had was no 112on the 1st floor clean and well decorated .with a seaveiw.entertainment on each night singers comediens .the town of torquay is a 5 mins walk .with lots of shops and big department stores and lots of bars and resturants at reasonable prices.there s the princess theatre with in a 2 mins walk with good shows on .and with lots of bus s, that stop outside the hotel, that go to brixham and go to dartmouth . if want to get to the local train station you can catch the bus on the opposite side of the road to this hotel.we went on a organized tour of torquay with shearings we both enjoyed it.because it was all about local famous people.

Room Tip: sea view 1st or 2nd floor not too high because in the summer you will not see through leaves on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you Patrickb for your review and I am pleased that you found everything to your liking including the staff, food, menu choice and your room. You have provided readers with some great information on how well we are located and how to get about, so thank you for that and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel with shearings coach holidays,travelled down from York, long coach ride,but enough breaks and updates from chris the driver on the way.great position opposite the marina,and just around corner from the shopping centre.all the staff were very helpful and obliging,Iwona especially,our waitress,always cheerful and nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast choice,cereals,fruit,porridge,kippers,full English,toast,jams,tea,coffee etc. good choice on dinner menu,3course.no problems getting served at the bars like in some deals in other hotels. The only bad points,which did,nt really spoil our weekend,dressing table lamp not working,possible bulb? Then the hair dryer became very noisy and smell of burning,these items were reported but not rectified before we left. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay would stay again but for a week ,too far to travel for me at 6ft on a bus,so thanks again to all staff.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Tank you Malcolm h for your review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend with us at the Torbay.I am glad that you enjoyed the food, especially the breakfasts and the dinner had enough choices for you. I will pass on your praise to Iwona, she will be happy to get the first positive mention of the year. I will look into the maintenance issues as they should have been rectified satisfactorily. Hopefully we will see you again soon, if the coach journey was not your cup of tea, try coming on a self drive break instead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Booking with coach company and paid very little for a Friday till Monday halfboard break with 4 free drinks on the Saturday night. Went with family so 8 in total and ages ranged from 50 - 76. Hotel situation is brilliant, right in the centre of Torquay with plenty of shops and bars etc very close by. Also hotel facing the sea so nice views were obtainable etc. Our rooms were on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel and thus no view what ever - room very very shabby and in desperate need of refurbishment, hopefully sooner rather than later. Also, even with the heating off the rooms were far too hot! The food was acceptable and choices were available. Entertainment every night but not the best entertainment we have had at previous hotels etc. All seemed to finish at 10pm!!! Difficult to cater for individuals needs etc. but not impressed with the entertainment programme - ended up playing cards or going round the corner to local Weatherspoons. The staff were helpful and very friendly. Overall cheap and cheerful and we enjoyed.

Room Tip: don't ask for rooms 227, 229 231 as we were in, shabby and no view and far too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for posting a review, our first of 2013, I am glad that you found the weekend to be to your liking and that your group had a good time. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and food and that you found them to be friendly. I know that entertainment is very subjective, but I will look into your comments that it finished too early as that is very unusual, the provision s for enetertainment to go on until midnight.We do have 111 rooms and we do have a refurbishment programme, but it does take time to reach every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We had a great weekend from departure to return. The hotel was very good and in the town centre, great location, the room 119 forward facing sea view was of a good standard clean well presented and warm. The food was was very appetising, our waiter Kristian was friendly and always a welcoming smile. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. For the money all in all a fabulous mini break and terrific value. We will be returning to the Torbay Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leslie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am glad that you had such a lovely weekend at the Torbay. It is always pleasing to hear that everything from the staff to the food was how you wanted it to be and I am sure Krystian will be pleased that you thought so highly of him. Have a Merry Xmas and we look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The staff couldn't have been more helpful & considerate to my parents who were in torquay for a funeral. At last minute they bent over backwards to help my uncle also. My parents really enjoyed their stay and the evening entertainment. Location was good for them also.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you linda j for your review and I am only too glad that my staff looked after your parents during their stay with us at what was a difficult time. I am pleased that they liked the other aspects of their stay while they were here and hopefully we will see them again once more in the future. I will also be sure to pass on your comments to the staff concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Xmas girly weekend away! Food was lovely, breakfast only between 08:00-09:00 and on weekends (should be at least 10-10:30) Evening meal was nice! The whole place could do with a refurbishment but could have been worse! The only main problem was when we pulled our bed out to use the socket, there was rubbish under the bed!Not impressed! Cleaners defiantly do not do a 'in depth' clean! The night porter 'Alan' was really helpful and friendly! Would def use again as close to attractions

Room Tip: Use 4th floor as I believe they are newer rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tan1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you tan1207 for your review and I am glad that you had a good girly weekend away. I shall pass on your comments to Alan who will be pleased to get a mention, and I will certainly look into the issues that you raised regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. Overall It is good to know that you enjoyed yourself and that you will come back and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing