We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just arrived back from a 4 day stay at the Torbay Hotel, Torquay. We booked through National Holidays.
The hotel is right on the front overlooking the sea. We didn't get a sea view, because we opted out of paying the supplement. However, this was okay, as we didn't spend much time in the room, which, by the way was more than comfortable. We asked for more pillows when we arrived, and they were delivered to our room quickly. The meals were brilliant, plenty of choice, and the service impeccable. Thankyou to Inga, who started at the hotel on the day we arrived. All of the waiters, and waitresses deserve good tips, they work so hard, and always with smiles on their faces ! Plenty to do in Torquay, and the boat trip to Brixham is well worth the £2.00 return fare we paid. Well done everyone at the Torbay Hotel, we will certaily be coming back. Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mozzergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you mozzergirl for your review of your stay with us and I am pleased that you had such a great time. I am glad that the food was to your liking and the quick service when you requested pillows was to your liking.The staff all work very hard and they will appreciate your thanks for looking after you.We certainly look forward to seeing you come back and visit us once more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    297
    138
    38
    55
See reviews for
120
415
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Drove down and stayed May 7th. Had a lovely stay room 402 with a sea view it was newly refurbished.comfortable and stylish. Reception staff were very helpful but we found the restaurant for breakfast a bit manic!!! Our poor waitress was foreign speaking and rushed off her feet. The quality of the food was great but v.small portions. which was ideal for myself but my partner needed refuelling elsewhere. There was entertainment laid on in the hotel which was a bonus.All in all it was a bargain for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thnks for posting a review of your recent stay at the Torbay and I am happy that you had a nice break away. I am glad that you enjoyed one of our newlyrefurbished rooms and that you found it to your liking.Breakfast can be busy when everyone rushes in but i am glad that you enjoyed the food. Hopefully we will see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Torbay Hotel for three nights over the May bank holiday. The hotel is on the seafront and well placed for shops and harbour..We travelled down by car(not part of a coach party). Car parking is £5.00 a day and £20.00 returnable deposit, the downside is you have to unload your luggage outside the hotel book your car in leave your wife with luggage and then go to the car park, which is up behind Debenhams, a small mountaineering fete if your walking,Its not too bad if Debenhams are open ,since they have a lift which takes you up to the level just below the car park. If they are closed then i'm afraid it's a steep up hill walk. The hotel itself was reasonable, our room facing the sea was large however traffic noise is a problem. Food is OK but not best quality, my wife had beef one night and was quite chewy.Dining room staff were very efficient and pleasant.The hotel is quite large, however it only has the one fairly small lift, which at times of arrival and departure can be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacknbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Torbay.I am pleased that your stay was a good one. We usually get very favourable comments regarding the food, but am sorry that your wife had some chewy meat. Unfortunately we do not have parking at the hotel but despite the short trek, I hope that you found the arrangements reasonable and of course secure. You did pick the best weekend weather wise and if you return hopefully we will have more of the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

On a four day bowling break with a coach tour, everthing was excellent from the staff food entertainment.

Stayed in room 301 quiet, obviously has been refurbished recently it was first class.

Located right in the centre!

Strongly recommend this hotel, maybe need to research car parking but NCP car park near.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chace84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi Chace84. thanks for posting your review and I am glad that you had a great time staying with us and that everything was to your liking. I hope that the bowling was as enjoyable as your stay with us and we will be glad to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed at the Hotel on a mid-week tour in the last week of April. Everything was pretty average as far as Coach tours go, the room (238) was Ok, clean reasonably spacious, a bit more storage space would of been nice, sea view nice but traffic could be noisy. The room being right on the edge was isolated from all the noises emanating from within the hotel but the pigeons on the roof were scratching about during the night! The meals were good, reasonably adequate with several choices, the waiting staff were very efficient, pleasant and attended to any special requests. We enjoyed our stay there, the trips out were OK the driver was very obliging and chatty. For those of us who have a bus pass the bus stops are close to the hotel.
There was one rather disconcerting point, elderly single women seem to be 'taken for a ride' one lady, who paid more that we did for the two of us was unhappy with her room and asked to be moved, the hotel offered her another room, which she accepted but it cost her another £15, I thought that was a bit over the top considering that the hotel was no where near full, We heard of another similar case at another hotel when coming home on the feeder coach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you Maurycon for posting a review of your recent stay at the Torbay.I am pleased that you generally found things at the hotel to your liking especialy the food, room and that the staff were friendly and most of all effiecient. I cannot speak of the indivdual issue that you mention regarding one elderly lady, but I believe that we offer good value for money holidays to all our guests, whether they decide to upgrade or not depending on their individual circumstances and would not take any of our valued guests single or otherwise for granted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After not being able to book our usual Torquay stay due to the Bank Holiday weekend my daughter and I opted (reluctantly) for the Torbay. I say reluctantly as we paid far more than usual so expected something very special. Special it was not! We have no complaints about our room - it was large and clean, and the beds were very comfy, but when is the dining room going to have a makeover??? We were seated for breakfast (after what seemed like an eternity) according to how long we were staying - why?? Breakfast was lovely - no complaint there but oh my life - the curtains by our table were falling apart and were filthy and there were cobwebs above us and food splattered on the walls. There were also ceiling tiles missing. I'm also a little concerned that the door where our table was situated is a fire escape!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cattimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and many thanks for the positive comments regarding your room and the food that you had while stayng with us. i am sorry if you felt that the Restaurant was unable to meet with your approval and I will certainly look into the issues that you have raised. Hopefully you will try us once agai in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My partner and I were transferred to this hotel after refusing a shoebox of a room at their Esplanade Hotel in Paignton where you couldnt swing a mouse, let alone a cat! With trepidation we went to our room allocated at the Torbay and were very pleased with how large it was. It was only a few minutes later we realised it was a room designed for a wheelchair which was no problem for us - it meant a large bathroom and adjustable beds. In fact the bathroom was larger than the room we had been offered at the Torbay. We had a lovely view over the harbour and sea, and lovely gardens with a Victorian fountain. At night the harbour was lit up with fairy lights and it was lovely. So, far so good but it seemed as we had been transferred, the restaurant staff had hurriedly prepared for us and we were allocated a table away from the main crowd (restaurant was only two-thirds full) andfor a couple of days it was pot luck who came to serve us or clear our plates. As we were here for a seven day stay we complained about this and and asked to be moved when we were begrudgingly given a table looking out over the harbour. We then acquired a lovely waitress of our own who we had for the duration. The food was ok but very small portions and as our 7 days covered a weekend break and a fiveday break, the menu was repeated - at least we knew how everything was going to taste! My partner enjoyed the full English but I was disappointed with the breakfast rolls which were cold and served straight from the fridge and the toast was so thin it was like crackers. Everything including cereal, fruit etc. was served to the table, there was no buffet. The public areas of the hotel again need updating and parts of the lounge and the cafe are open to the public. Was nice to see a proper venue for visiting cabaret and we enjoyed the acts especially the comedian on our last night. Was a bit boring early evenings for those who didnt play bingo, would have been nice to have a few quizzes etc. Usual problem with the small lift but this is always to be expected in these old hotels.
We were pleased to be transferred to this hotel as Torquay is much more picturesque than Paignton and a great place for hookups by bus and boat. One drawback, there is no parking at the hotel, if you paid extra for hotel parking it will be on a designated floor in the town car park so you have to quickly unload the luggage and then drive up through the town and walk back! We felt a bit unsure leaving the car overnight there but you needed a card to enter and there appeared to be CCTV. Finally, we would like to thank the manager, Matt I think, who was so very helpful with the transfer and made us very welcome and was forgiving when we inadvertently set of the alarm in our room! If you are staying any length of time in Torquay we would recommend the Jubilee Pass for 3,4,5 or 7 days where you pay a very reasonable one-off price for using buses, trains and boats to several destinations. Our train, boat & bus trip on the first day more than paid for the whole ticket. Dartmouth features a lot in these trips and we would like to recommend the Station Restaurant on the quay by the ferry - a lovely setting, friendly staff and delicious food.Also, if you have time, take a trip on the Kingswear paddle steamer - not to be missed!

Room Tip: Room 205 very spacious as it is for wheelchair access or any numbers in the 200s when you book a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truckersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased that you found most of what we had to offer to be to your liking, including the room you had, the location and the waitress who looked after you. i will also pass on your praise to Matt for handling your transfer so efficiently. I am sorry that you did not find some of the food items on offer to meet your approval, but we usually get some wonderful comments for thisarea of our hotel. I was surprised that you thought the public areas needed updating as the cafe bar and reception lounge have recently been refurbished, especially the Reception area which has just been redecorated and new lounge furniture less than two weeks old installed.Thank you for posting some useful tips for future travellers regarding busses and ferries, as I am sure that future guests will find them handy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing