We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant hotel for a break by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A brilliant hotel for a break by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Having travelled with a group of friends every year for the last ten years to a variety of "budget" hotels I can say this was by far the best break we have had. The hotel is perfectly located less than 5 minutes from the town centre and right opposite the marina. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded and I would like to thank the manager for his assistance with this, but even the standard rooms were clean and well presented. The meals whilst not being particularly large were more than sufficient, tasty and well cooked. The staff without fault were polite and friendly. In summary this hotel offers great value for money and we will definitely return to it or one of its sister hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnLeatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hello John and thank you for your review. I am glad that you and your friends had a lovely stay with us and that you found everything that you needed from a holiday here at the Torbay. I firmly believe that we offer great value for money holidays and I am certain that when you return to us or one of our other fifty hotels around the country, that your stay will be as eqiully enjoyable.
Thanks again for your posting and enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    288
    132
    37
    51
See reviews for
117
400
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked 2 rooms in this hotel for 3 nights (Friday 24Th Sunday 26Th may) both rooms front facing, one standard and one premier. Arrived 19.40 on the Friday and as the restaurant closed at 20.00 was told to go straight in for dinner which we did.We were shown to our table which you use for the length of your stay.the waiter said not to rush and enjoy our meal which by the way was very nice. Our room was the premier room 216 which was large with a 4 poster bed with a seating area by the windows, separate dressing area then the bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, found it a bit noisy at night with the traffic mainly taxis up to about 3.30 in the morning and revellers shouting funny songs they sing that time We found the food was of a good standard and if you wanted more all you had to do was ask.didn't use the bar so cant comment on that.The heating was not on so got a bit chilly in the rooms, Booked the hotel parking but not parking were it said on the web site but a lot further away and up hill not good if you got walking difficulties which i do, all in all we found the staff to be very polite and helpful Would i stay in this hotel again yes perfectly positioned for town and harbour but would have room at back and park at the multi storey car park around the corner

Room Tip: As i said in my review rooms are quieter at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daiofelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed one of our popular Premier rooms. I am glad that you were well looked after in the Restaurant and that the food you had was good and service by the staff was friendly and attentive. We are located on the sea front in a great spot, but occasionally the ;singing revellers' do pass by. Hopefully we will see you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just arrived back from a 4 day stay at the Torbay Hotel, Torquay. We booked through National Holidays.
The hotel is right on the front overlooking the sea. We didn't get a sea view, because we opted out of paying the supplement. However, this was okay, as we didn't spend much time in the room, which, by the way was more than comfortable. We asked for more pillows when we arrived, and they were delivered to our room quickly. The meals were brilliant, plenty of choice, and the service impeccable. Thankyou to Inga, who started at the hotel on the day we arrived. All of the waiters, and waitresses deserve good tips, they work so hard, and always with smiles on their faces ! Plenty to do in Torquay, and the boat trip to Brixham is well worth the £2.00 return fare we paid. Well done everyone at the Torbay Hotel, we will certaily be coming back. Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mozzergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you mozzergirl for your review of your stay with us and I am pleased that you had such a great time. I am glad that the food was to your liking and the quick service when you requested pillows was to your liking.The staff all work very hard and they will appreciate your thanks for looking after you.We certainly look forward to seeing you come back and visit us once more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Drove down and stayed May 7th. Had a lovely stay room 402 with a sea view it was newly refurbished.comfortable and stylish. Reception staff were very helpful but we found the restaurant for breakfast a bit manic!!! Our poor waitress was foreign speaking and rushed off her feet. The quality of the food was great but v.small portions. which was ideal for myself but my partner needed refuelling elsewhere. There was entertainment laid on in the hotel which was a bonus.All in all it was a bargain for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thnks for posting a review of your recent stay at the Torbay and I am happy that you had a nice break away. I am glad that you enjoyed one of our newlyrefurbished rooms and that you found it to your liking.Breakfast can be busy when everyone rushes in but i am glad that you enjoyed the food. Hopefully we will see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Torbay Hotel for three nights over the May bank holiday. The hotel is on the seafront and well placed for shops and harbour..We travelled down by car(not part of a coach party). Car parking is £5.00 a day and £20.00 returnable deposit, the downside is you have to unload your luggage outside the hotel book your car in leave your wife with luggage and then go to the car park, which is up behind Debenhams, a small mountaineering fete if your walking,Its not too bad if Debenhams are open ,since they have a lift which takes you up to the level just below the car park. If they are closed then i'm afraid it's a steep up hill walk. The hotel itself was reasonable, our room facing the sea was large however traffic noise is a problem. Food is OK but not best quality, my wife had beef one night and was quite chewy.Dining room staff were very efficient and pleasant.The hotel is quite large, however it only has the one fairly small lift, which at times of arrival and departure can be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacknbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Torbay.I am pleased that your stay was a good one. We usually get very favourable comments regarding the food, but am sorry that your wife had some chewy meat. Unfortunately we do not have parking at the hotel but despite the short trek, I hope that you found the arrangements reasonable and of course secure. You did pick the best weekend weather wise and if you return hopefully we will have more of the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

On a four day bowling break with a coach tour, everthing was excellent from the staff food entertainment.

Stayed in room 301 quiet, obviously has been refurbished recently it was first class.

Located right in the centre!

Strongly recommend this hotel, maybe need to research car parking but NCP car park near.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chace84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi Chace84. thanks for posting your review and I am glad that you had a great time staying with us and that everything was to your liking. I hope that the bowling was as enjoyable as your stay with us and we will be glad to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed at the Hotel on a mid-week tour in the last week of April. Everything was pretty average as far as Coach tours go, the room (238) was Ok, clean reasonably spacious, a bit more storage space would of been nice, sea view nice but traffic could be noisy. The room being right on the edge was isolated from all the noises emanating from within the hotel but the pigeons on the roof were scratching about during the night! The meals were good, reasonably adequate with several choices, the waiting staff were very efficient, pleasant and attended to any special requests. We enjoyed our stay there, the trips out were OK the driver was very obliging and chatty. For those of us who have a bus pass the bus stops are close to the hotel.
There was one rather disconcerting point, elderly single women seem to be 'taken for a ride' one lady, who paid more that we did for the two of us was unhappy with her room and asked to be moved, the hotel offered her another room, which she accepted but it cost her another £15, I thought that was a bit over the top considering that the hotel was no where near full, We heard of another similar case at another hotel when coming home on the feeder coach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you Maurycon for posting a review of your recent stay at the Torbay.I am pleased that you generally found things at the hotel to your liking especialy the food, room and that the staff were friendly and most of all effiecient. I cannot speak of the indivdual issue that you mention regarding one elderly lady, but I believe that we offer good value for money holidays to all our guests, whether they decide to upgrade or not depending on their individual circumstances and would not take any of our valued guests single or otherwise for granted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing