We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired overpriced Hotel!”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Sudbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tired overpriced Hotel!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Me and my husband booked to stay at The Torbay Hotel for 1 night as we decided to extend our trip in Torquay and the hotel we were staying in was fully booked. The Torbay had a room available and it was in a good location so we decided to book. From when you walk in the hotel you think it doesn't look too bad, then when we got into the room we was very disappointed, how people can review this hotel as excellent or even good is beyond belief. We paid £80 for 1 nights bed & breakfast which is unbelievable for the room we had. There was only 2 good things about the room, 1; the size was quite good and 2; the view was overlooking the sea front, other than that, that is where the positives stop! The room wasn't overally clean, it had damp and mould on the ceiling the bed was lumpy and of very poor quality, the furniture was very dated, the bathroom was tiny and had mould on the tiles etc. The tv was very old and didn't work overally well. Overall it was a very tired looking room which is in desperate need of refurbishment. You can see that they have refurbished the main entrance which misleads you into thinking that the hotel is nice, but as soon as you step beyond this you can see how old and tired it really is. The breakfast the following morning we were very dubious about but it was ok, all cooked well but you could tell that the quality of ingredients were on the cheaper side, however they did offer an extensive breakfast menu. The service was good overall, the receptionist who dealt with us was helpful and informative. The parking situation is not ideal however at least they have a car park even though you have to walk round the houses to get to it. All in all we were thoroughly disappointed with our stay and would NEVER stay here again and would discourage anyone from staying here!!! I think the owners seriously need to spend the money on the hotel that they are making rather than pocketing it, because I see no signs of this stated refurbishment in the rooms, where it is needed!

Room Tip: Don't book, go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I am sorry that you didn't find your one night stay as enjoyable as many of our guests do. A number of reviews are very positive in their comments toward the hotel and it is unfortunate you were not here long enough to see the full extent of what we as a hotel have to offer. i believe that our pricing is quite reasonable for a stay in August in any resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    297
    133
    38
    54
See reviews for
118
411
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
283 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our 5th visit with the Bay Hotels this year, and as always the service, comfort and hotels are worth every penny.....after reading a few reviews on this hotel we were a bit worried what it would be like, but you should try it out yourself, the bad reviews are unjustified, some people should not stay in hotels, they just complain about everything for no apparent reason.
We had a beautiful front facing room (316), with plenty of clean fluffy towels, toiletries, and tea/coffee well replenished daily.
The food was very good and plenty of it. Our trainee waiter (David) was the best server we have ever had...kind, attentive,efficient and polite.
The hotel pool was a good size too, with very clean changing rooms.
The lounge area were very spacious and the furniture was a very good standard and all looked brand new. All the staff were very attentive, We cannot find any fault with this hotel.
Our only bad comment would be that the traffic noise can be a bit too loud and late (till 3.30am)
but then again it was the weekend and the hotel is in walking distance to the town, pubs marina etc. Not really sure what could be done to rectify that, maybe more police presence?
Either way, the hotel has a great feel, staff, location, and amazing value for money...we paid £99 each for 3 nights half board.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as they have no road outside. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelmarkCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I am very happy that your fifth vist to a Bay hotel lived up to the other four that you have experienced.I am glad that the room and recently refurbished public areas met with your approval and David will be happy that you thought so highly of him in his short time with us.It is always good to hear that you find us good value for money and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next holiday, if not here, then wherever is next on your list to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

we went to this hotel on a 5 day break with shearings coach holidays .we went in march to the same hotel and enjoyed it. we left stretton inter change on the coach 20 min late, we picked up some more passengers at keele services and had to wait 35 mins for a passenger to arrive that did not impress the coach passengers. we had a room on the 4th floor and it was at the front and was a really big room with views over the trees and across the bay the bathroom also had a big window(not frosted but had a blind) which had great views along the seafront .i said last time only having the one lift is a pain but we understand the hotel is not allowed to alter the building. food is ok but we wished the veg especially was cooked a bit more then they wouldnt be hard. plenty going on last week firework display accross the bay on monday. we went to painton on tuesday a very nice place but not a lot there. wednesday did a river cruise on the river dart to dartmouth the commentry going a long the river by the crew was brill. dartmouth was chocky because it was regatta week but would love to go back really enjoyed it. wednesday evening there was a display by the red arrows brilliant. there was a by plane with w ing walker doing acrobatatics think that was tuesday evening, thursday we went to brixham on the ferry for 2 pound each return about 39 min crossing enjoyed that to. made new friends this tim. thanks to our coach driver chris who was brilliant . will more than likely go back again but when its summer and so theres more going on like this one.

Room Tip: we personally wouldnt pay extra for the rooms a standards is ok for us but thats a personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi mayahWigan and thanks for your review. It is always positive when guests enjoy themselves that they return and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your timing was perfect with the Red Arrows as usual entertaining everyone. Hopefully when you return next summer, we will still have good weather and there is plenty going on for you to enjoy,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked this holiday using coachholidays.com but went for the self drive option. The cost was £89 per person for 2 nights half board and so we had it in mind that any minor niggles, at this price, are to be expected. However, the review is written without being coloured by price because this was booked by us on a deal which other travellers may not get and therefore it needs a full and balanced review.

The Torbay Hotel is a Victorian building with many original period features. The Hotel is situated on the seafront and the marina/promenade is just over the road - it is a great location and the town shopping area is very close by. It has around 111 public letting rooms, 20 staff rooms and around 4 flats. The letting rooms range from standard to superior and prestige. The prices obviously vary accordingly with supplements for better rooms.

We stayed in a standard double which was room 221 on the second floor. Like many large old victorian buildings there are lots of stairs but there is a lift although it was not always easy to get. In addition, because this type of hotel is popular with the elderly, there was evidence of mobile stair lifts which had been put out one night (obviously to assist the less able).

The room was at the top and back of the hotel. It was fully carpeted and furnished with old dark furniture and a small double bed. It had a window overlooking a roof space (No view). The furniture was dated and the room quite tired looking. However, it was clean and the en suite bathroom was adequate with an over bath shower and a good supply of hot water. The bathroom also had the basic requirements of toiletries etc.

The TV was a candidate for the antiques roadshow but there was a digital radio with an mp3 player connection. There was an adequate supply of tea and coffee and a hairdryer.

Overall, the room was dated and tired but it was clean and had all the basics right - clean sheets and towels and maid service daily.

The hotel has an indoor swimming pool on the first floor. However, we didn't use it but we did see it on cctv at reception and it looked OK. Towels for the pool are charged at £1 each with a £5 refundable deposit.

The public areas are clean and the restaurant is quite nice.

Meal times are breakfast 8 till 9 am and dinner is 6.30 till 8 pm. You are allocated a table for the duration of the stay and the meals are served by the waiting staff.

The evening meal is 3 courses (chosen from a reasonable choice of dishes from the days menu) plus coffee. The drinks are served to you by the wine waiters and he has a choice of wines or drinks from the bar. Breakfast is basically a choice of anything you want - ranging from full English (Veggie option available) to cereals and toast plus anything in between. You can have cereal plus full English if you want it. There is tea and coffee and juices all served at your table. You can have what you want and are not limited to choice.

I have to say that the quality of the food is very good and so is the choice. It is all served piping hot by the waiters and waitresses and the staff were really lovely. I cannot fault the restaurant at all. After dinner they also serve a choice of different types of coffee in the lounge at only 80 pence a cup - great value, nice coffee.

The lounge bar serves reasonably priced drinks and is fine for a chill out. There is a cafe called Bay cafe which is actually an extension of the lounge and here you can get snacks and drinks throughout the day. But, Torquay is not short of eating houses and there is a vast choice nearby so we didn't try the cafe.

We did ask the receptionist if we could upgrade our room and although it wasn't possible we were able to see a superior room (No 111) for future reference. I have to say that it was very nice and really well appointed. It overlooked the sea front. However, being a listed building, there is no double glazing and a number of other guests reported noise issues during the night from the traffic and revellers returning home. One man told us that it kept him awake until around 4 am when the partygoers finally finished!

Our room, although dated, was extremely quiet and we had a full nights sleep. So, swings and roundabouts with room choices but a quiet room beats a renovated one all day long.

Now, onto parking. This is frankly a bit of an issue. You have to pay £5 per night and that is fair enough because parking is at a premium in the town. The real issue is that the car park is around a quarter to half a mile away and you have to walk that distance to and from the car. The car park is actually part of a pretty dismal multi storey affair owned by the council. You get a card to use against a £20 refundable deposit.

Top tips about the car park - don't forget anything as the walk is a pain. And, upon checkout give the car park card back and get the deposit before you leave the hotel - you don't need the card to exit the car park so you can save yourself a journey by giving the card back before you leave.

And, because checkout is 10 am you need to remember that you don't need the car park card to get out of the car park - so, if you want to have a last walk around town why not leave the car where it is until you are ready to leave town? In other words - you have to check out at 10am but the car can stay put until you are ready to drive home!

In summary, a reasonable budget range 3 star hotel with good staff and good food. Certain rooms will benefit from a refit. The location is very good. We would recommend this hotel for older travellers and those on a budget. Is a better hotel than many others in the vicinity - especially at the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPPPPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your very informative review of your recent stay with us at the Torbay. I also believe that we offer great value for money holidays and I am glad that you enjoyed so much of what we had to offer including the food,service, standards in place and cleanliness of your room. We do have a great location which is ideal for our guests.The parking is unfortunately not on site but there are short cuts to avoid a long walk and of course you can offload and load your luggage outside the hotel. It is also good that you point out that our guests may use the car park on departure day for a while, so no rushing out the door. We do have refurbishments on a regular basis of our rooms and I am pleased that you got to see one of our Superior rooms which are very popular. Hopefully we will see you once more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just had 2 night stay.Very impressed with Service & Location of Hotel. Had a front facing twin room as we booked at short notice.Restaurant staff were really good & fast, as soon as we sat down we were attended to.One area for improvement is that hotel is a little dated & well worn therefore in need of a good refurbishment but this in no way affected our stay.Will definately be stopping here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hi Dave T, Thanks for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us at the Torbay. I am glad that you were well looked after by the staff in the Restaurant and we look forward to seeing you again. We do refurbish on a regular basis and hopefully you will se that as you re-visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is probably our third or fourth stay at this hotel,paid just under £1200.00 for four of us to stay in two premier rooms front facing.The rooms were excellent king size bed nice seating area,lovely bathroom with seperate shower cubicle and toiletries.The food was not so good this time,we ate out a couple of times as the menu was not to our liking.It would be nice to be offered a choice of room only b&b or half board.Given the location of the hotel and how nice the premier rooms were i would quite happily pay £80.00 per night for room only. Would we stay here again,of course we would but we would prefer to have a lie in bed in a morning and eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hi Somersetdaz and its great to hear that you have had another enjoyble stay with us.The premier rooms are the best rooms to stay in and I am glad that you take full advantage of them. There are many different booking options available for booking with us, as that some people do like a bed and breakfast choice . We do also look forward to your next holiday here with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I were disappointed as previous years I gave high reviews. The staff were helpful and pleasant as before, and the food excellent. However, day after day there were shortages of cutlery in the dining room. Eating dessert with a soup spoon and that after we had requested some form of implement? Not being able to book for next year as I have done previously. Was there a shortage of waiting staff in the dining area? All the previous excellent staff had gone.
Reception staff were up to standard. Sharon in the Cafe obliging and hard working. Jane our room cleaner EXCELLENT as usual. Friendly and helpful. However with Reception staff occupied on various enquiries it was left to the staff providing after dinner refreshments or from the bar to dash across to answer the telephone, or provide room keys.Staff shortages again? Or is it down to cost cutting corners?

Room Tip: Front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay and am sorry if you felt that there were changes made that have affected your stay. We have not made any staff cutbacks but if people were busier than usual it may be that you have caught them at a busy time. I will look into your comments about a lack of cutlery at meal times as there should have been enough and the correct placed.Sharon wil be plesed to be mentioned as she has been with us a while and that other staff including the reception - staff despite being busy were to your satisafction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing