We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never stay at this RUDE staffed hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never stay at this RUDE staffed hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Dear Readers,
I have booked this hotel for 22/02/2014 on Booking.com.
I had no problem with this booking. When we turned up there was no Parking - no way of unloading my bags.
The manager was very unhelpful and rude because I asked about parking! it sounded like I killed his mother!
Anyway, long story short I managed to park the car and got my keys gone to check the room. The room didn't have any bath which I have requested on the booking.
Went down stairs asked him that there should be a special request about bath in the room. He argued with me that there is no request on the booking. I had to force him to check the booking which he checked and came back saying ' ohh I have one room left' he did not apologised for the arguing with me and that is I am right.

Hotel is shabby, run down and dirty floors. Lifts is out of order.
Please consider other hotels rather than this one.

Travellodge is better than this one.

Regards

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlanNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am sorry you felt your experience was not as you had hoped. If you had actually stayed at least for one night in the hotel I am sure that your opinion would have been different and you would have had an enjoyable stay like so many others do. It is most unusual to have a posting of this nature as you can see by the many other great reviews detailing their experiences at the Torbay and especially the friendliness of our staff. We have countless guests who stay here and have a wonderful time as you can see. To clarify one point, we do actually have a car park, although it is not on site, it is a short distance away and is secure and again our guests find it most useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    288
    132
    37
    52
See reviews for
117
400
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 night break from start to finish we couldn't fault it. great choices of food always hot.the staff work extremely hard .entertainment was good Saturday night singer was excellent,so all in all fantastic value for money. will we do it again .already booked :-))

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sheiladeeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your holiday with us at the Torbay and I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed it so much that you have already booked to come back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens, england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This being our first trip with shearing I was apprehensive, but had nothing to worry about.
The hotel is clean and comfortable our room was front facing which had been refurbished recently had a view of the fountain and marina. Evening entertainment was good music and dancing. The food was good and varied each day
The restaurant staff were friendly and
professional in fact all the staff made you feel welcome. The shops are within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel I'd say is central to most amenities.
We thoughly enjoyed our stay at the Torbay hotel and will return again later on in year or early next year.
We would like to thank the staff for a wonderful relaxing short break.









Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank june40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello June40. Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you had a wonderful weekend at the Torbay. Thank you for all your lovely comments regarding your stay and the staff. Its always good to hear that guests enjoyed their holiday that they plan to return, so we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Visited in January on Shearings weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Great location ,excellent service and food in the restaurant
Comfortable, clean room recently refurbished with well appointed bathroom
Very pleasant lounge areas with ample relaxing settees etc
All staff very helpful and friendly
Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi David T, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and I am glad that you found everything to your liking and its especially nice to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful. we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Just come back from our first trip with shearings and stay at this hotel. Had a wonderful time, food and staff were excellent hotel very clean, we had one of the older rooms which was a bit tired but as said clean, our friends had one of the rooms which had recently been renovated and it was great, they are in the middle of renovation so still someway to go, but works did not interfere, would recommend Shearings and Hotel to anyone and we are looking forward to returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you David J for your review of your holiday here at the Torbay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that as a first timer holidaying with us, that you found everything to your satisfaction. We do refurbish each year and I hope that on your return that you find that we have improved the hotel even more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings Holidays, this is our second visit to this Hotel, and we could not fault any aspects relating to accommodation, food, or reception staff.
We were given room 300, with three large windows, room was spotless. The dining room staff were all friendly, however a special mention must go to our waitress "Michelle" who served us on our last visit, was excellent. She is a credit to you. Also special mention to Head Waiter "Robert" who also does help on Reception, he is also a credit to you. And last but not least "Hayley" on reception, on arrival we got stuck in the lift, and my mother who is 82 had a panick attack, and Hayley was brilliant, calmed her down. We have visited numerous Shearings Hotels around the Country. but personally I feel that your Hotel is the flag Ship, well done. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the corner, however, we did not have any trouble sleeping, as the entertainment was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajane770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Emmajane 770 and thank you for posting a review of your holiday at the Torbay. I am glad that your second stay here was faultless and I will pass on your comments of praise to Robert, Michelle and Hayley who will be pleased to know that they looked after you so well, despite the unfortunate lift incident. Its good to know that we have looked after you so well and we hope a third visit here will not be too far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have just returned from a four nights break with Shearings at this hotel. The accommodation was lovely with a view over the marina from our room, the room was expertly cleaned each day and the rest of the Hotel was lovely and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I have a wheat intolerance which I didn't have when booking the holiday but that was no problem. I spoke to the restaurant manager and he very kindly gave me a special menu each morning. The meals were very good and wheat and gluten free. I was sure I would encounter a food problems whilst on holiday and was pleasantly surprised how easily it was dealt with. Thank you so much for a truly trouble free holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Carol A and thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Torbay. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday and that there was so much to your liking. I am glad also that we were able to satisfy your dietary needs and that our staff were able to assist you in having a wonderful break. We look forward to seeing you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing