We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Surrey, Angleterre
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Exceptional value”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Visited here recently on a Shearings 4 night coach trip.
This was our 1st trip to one of Shearings own hotels.
Our first impression was not great - our 4th floor room had a bathroom awash
from the leaking wc cistern !
We were then allocated a room on the 1st floor - this had been refurbished and was at the
front overlooking the marina.
We didn't experience too much noise from the road but could hear music from somewhere
most of the time - earplugs recommended !
Our TV was unwatchable - all channels had a poor signal ( room 110 ) but we didn't
come away to watch TV, so it wasn't a major problem for us.
We used the indoor pool a couple of times before breakfast - this was great.
The meals, although not massive portions, were perfectly adequate with a good variety.
The location of the hotel is very good - close to the shops and seafront and handy for
public transport - Exeter is £7.50 return by bus.
There is no wi-fi in the rooms but it is available in the lounge area.
We were glad our room was on the first floor as there was usually a queue for the single lift.
The entertainment was a bonus - even had a few games of bingo - the first time in 30 years !
The hotel is really geared up for the coach trips - I think there were 4 coaches there when we stayed
but it is a superb value hotel - we paid less than £25 per person per night half board - with coach travel
and excursions included.
Thank you to Hayley on reception - for your excellent customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Torbay and I am pleased that you found your holiday to be enjoyable. I believe that we offer good value and Its nice to read that you thought that too. I am glad we were able to sort out the problems you faced with your initial room, although I will look into the TV issue with your second room. Its nice that you enjoyed all the facilities that we have to offer, even though you didn't win on the bingo.I shall also pass on your comments to Hayley who will be pleased to know that she provided you with such good service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    138
    41
    55
See reviews for
124
422
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Like the previous reviewing we too stayed over on the night of 22/2/14 and booked through Booking.com - but what a different experience we had. The website makes it very clear that there is no parking at the hotel but that there is limited parking in a local car park, which is for the sole use of the hotel residents. It also advises to stop in the unloading bay outside the hotel to and go in to organise the parking, which we did. The man on reception was extremely pleasant and helpful and we were at the car park within a few minutes and there were plenty of spaces available. Having checked in we made our way up to the third floor in the lift, which was working throughout our stay. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room which was immaculate, had extremely comfortable beds and had a fantastic view of the sea front. We were also delighted to find out that the indoor swimming pool was open and that there was evening entertainment. Throughout our stay we found all the staff extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient and can only praise them. The hotel offered excellent value for money with excellent facilities. We will certainly be returning again.

Room Tip: Go for a standard plus room - they are roomy, well furnished & modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you Tsereve for reviewing your recent stay with us and I am glad that your break with us was everything that you had hoped it would be. We can get no better compliment than a guest wanting to return, so we do look forward to that in the near future.I cannot answer any negative review better than another guest could, so thank you again for you kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Dear Readers,
I have booked this hotel for 22/02/2014 on Booking.com.
I had no problem with this booking. When we turned up there was no Parking - no way of unloading my bags.
The manager was very unhelpful and rude because I asked about parking! it sounded like I killed his mother!
Anyway, long story short I managed to park the car and got my keys gone to check the room. The room didn't have any bath which I have requested on the booking.
Went down stairs asked him that there should be a special request about bath in the room. He argued with me that there is no request on the booking. I had to force him to check the booking which he checked and came back saying ' ohh I have one room left' he did not apologised for the arguing with me and that is I am right.

Hotel is shabby, run down and dirty floors. Lifts is out of order.
Please consider other hotels rather than this one.

Travellodge is better than this one.

Regards

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlanNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am sorry you felt your experience was not as you had hoped. If you had actually stayed at least for one night in the hotel I am sure that your opinion would have been different and you would have had an enjoyable stay like so many others do. It is most unusual to have a posting of this nature as you can see by the many other great reviews detailing their experiences at the Torbay and especially the friendliness of our staff. We have countless guests who stay here and have a wonderful time as you can see. To clarify one point, we do actually have a car park, although it is not on site, it is a short distance away and is secure and again our guests find it most useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 night break from start to finish we couldn't fault it. great choices of food always hot.the staff work extremely hard .entertainment was good Saturday night singer was excellent,so all in all fantastic value for money. will we do it again .already booked :-))

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sheiladeeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your holiday with us at the Torbay and I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed it so much that you have already booked to come back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens, england
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This being our first trip with shearing I was apprehensive, but had nothing to worry about.
The hotel is clean and comfortable our room was front facing which had been refurbished recently had a view of the fountain and marina. Evening entertainment was good music and dancing. The food was good and varied each day
The restaurant staff were friendly and
professional in fact all the staff made you feel welcome. The shops are within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel I'd say is central to most amenities.
We thoughly enjoyed our stay at the Torbay hotel and will return again later on in year or early next year.
We would like to thank the staff for a wonderful relaxing short break.









Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank june40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello June40. Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you had a wonderful weekend at the Torbay. Thank you for all your lovely comments regarding your stay and the staff. Its always good to hear that guests enjoyed their holiday that they plan to return, so we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Visited in January on Shearings weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Great location ,excellent service and food in the restaurant
Comfortable, clean room recently refurbished with well appointed bathroom
Very pleasant lounge areas with ample relaxing settees etc
All staff very helpful and friendly
Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi David T, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and I am glad that you found everything to your liking and its especially nice to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful. we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Just come back from our first trip with shearings and stay at this hotel. Had a wonderful time, food and staff were excellent hotel very clean, we had one of the older rooms which was a bit tired but as said clean, our friends had one of the rooms which had recently been renovated and it was great, they are in the middle of renovation so still someway to go, but works did not interfere, would recommend Shearings and Hotel to anyone and we are looking forward to returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you David J for your review of your holiday here at the Torbay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that as a first timer holidaying with us, that you found everything to your satisfaction. We do refurbish each year and I hope that on your return that you find that we have improved the hotel even more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing