We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Friendly Service”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed at the Torbay quite a few times now as it is very good value and also situated conveniently for the front, the shops & also buses to Brixham, Paignton, Exeter etc. This time we paid a small supplement and had a Basic Plus twin room and this was fine with a nice clean and refurbished bathroom and a 'sideways' view of the sea (we had not paid for a sea view so this was a pleasant extra). It is just a shame that the basic rooms are not up to this standard which after all is not quite as good as a basic Premier Inn double room although I appreciate the hotel is old and must cost a lot to maintain and upgrade. However, tiny gripe over, the holiday was most enjoyable. Good service at the bar and in the restaurant and reception was very helpful. [We had a slight problem with our curtain rail being unfixed one end and also requested a heater as we were chilly - both rectified quite quickly]. The food was good and we enjoyed the entertainment on Monday & Thursday. Tuesday we went out in the evening and the comic on Wednesday was not to our taste. Quite a few people got up to dance (before the bingo and then between the bingo and the cabaret) with encouragement from Kevin the resident host. Our room was on the top floor but we did not have too much trouble getting the lift - just a short wait at times. All in all, a very enjoyable stay. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

HI seasidedancer and thank you for coming back to us and for still enjoying our hotel and service, that you are going to come back again. I am glad that you enjoyed one of our Bay plus rooms this time around, we do try to get to as many rooms as we can each year and refurbishment is always an on going affair. I am pleased that the staff were attentive when you had a couple of issues and that the food and service were to your liking. We also look forward to your return sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

left the interchange at 1020 leaving friday.got to torquay at 1715 which included two motorway service stops..got into hotel and found was staying on the second floor which was no problem,a good room at the side of the hotel. saturday went on the trip to plymouth via princetown.the city tour by coach.which was extra at a small cost.having been to plymouth many times the tour was great. learn more about plymouth than i ever new

.the food in the hotel was very good quality and served quickly.great hotel near town centre and harbour.a good holiday at a good price which included 4 drink vouchers on saturday night

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi forestwood and thank you for reviewing your weekend at the Torbay hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed it here with us and that you found the room and food especially to your satisfaction. Hopefully you will return again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

stoped at this hotel from 17th feb to 21st feb this was our 5th visit hear and still the best in torqure .after a drive down from yorkshire in very wet windy m5. we arrived at 4.40pm staff came on board to tell us stuff about hotel timings for meals etc same time luggage was been takeing into hotel and to rooms as they use the lift the steps was only way up its a 4 floor hotel so time needs to be taken to get to top in busy times .rooms nice ours 410 at the back but still could see the sea nice new shower and lots of warm water .everning meals nice 5 main choices 3 starters 3 puddings tea cof was served in lounge after nice big ballroom with 2 bars .breakfast good but if u want a large 1 ask for double breakfast. gala dinner wednesday was nice with 4 free drinks .trips out incl torbay tour to brixham via local areas. thursday trip to plymouth via dartmoor and princetown stop for a cream tea nice. the coach drive chris from brixham makes this trip what a nice man .so nice to have a driver that knows the area .if u get chris on your trip to the torbay u will have a brill holiday .all u will have to do is SIT BACK RRRREEELAX AND ENJOY .

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Lee E, I am glad that you had an enjoyable holiday with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction, including the food and the drinks of course. Chris is a very good driver and knowledgeable, he will be pleased to know that he helped make your holiday. I will pass on your comments to him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Visited here recently on a Shearings 4 night coach trip.
This was our 1st trip to one of Shearings own hotels.
Our first impression was not great - our 4th floor room had a bathroom awash
from the leaking wc cistern !
We were then allocated a room on the 1st floor - this had been refurbished and was at the
front overlooking the marina.
We didn't experience too much noise from the road but could hear music from somewhere
most of the time - earplugs recommended !
Our TV was unwatchable - all channels had a poor signal ( room 110 ) but we didn't
come away to watch TV, so it wasn't a major problem for us.
We used the indoor pool a couple of times before breakfast - this was great.
The meals, although not massive portions, were perfectly adequate with a good variety.
The location of the hotel is very good - close to the shops and seafront and handy for
public transport - Exeter is £7.50 return by bus.
There is no wi-fi in the rooms but it is available in the lounge area.
We were glad our room was on the first floor as there was usually a queue for the single lift.
The entertainment was a bonus - even had a few games of bingo - the first time in 30 years !
The hotel is really geared up for the coach trips - I think there were 4 coaches there when we stayed
but it is a superb value hotel - we paid less than £25 per person per night half board - with coach travel
and excursions included.
Thank you to Hayley on reception - for your excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Torbay and I am pleased that you found your holiday to be enjoyable. I believe that we offer good value and Its nice to read that you thought that too. I am glad we were able to sort out the problems you faced with your initial room, although I will look into the TV issue with your second room. Its nice that you enjoyed all the facilities that we have to offer, even though you didn't win on the bingo.I shall also pass on your comments to Hayley who will be pleased to know that she provided you with such good service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Like the previous reviewing we too stayed over on the night of 22/2/14 and booked through Booking.com - but what a different experience we had. The website makes it very clear that there is no parking at the hotel but that there is limited parking in a local car park, which is for the sole use of the hotel residents. It also advises to stop in the unloading bay outside the hotel to and go in to organise the parking, which we did. The man on reception was extremely pleasant and helpful and we were at the car park within a few minutes and there were plenty of spaces available. Having checked in we made our way up to the third floor in the lift, which was working throughout our stay. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room which was immaculate, had extremely comfortable beds and had a fantastic view of the sea front. We were also delighted to find out that the indoor swimming pool was open and that there was evening entertainment. Throughout our stay we found all the staff extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient and can only praise them. The hotel offered excellent value for money with excellent facilities. We will certainly be returning again.

Room Tip: Go for a standard plus room - they are roomy, well furnished & modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you Tsereve for reviewing your recent stay with us and I am glad that your break with us was everything that you had hoped it would be. We can get no better compliment than a guest wanting to return, so we do look forward to that in the near future.I cannot answer any negative review better than another guest could, so thank you again for you kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Dear Readers,
I have booked this hotel for 22/02/2014 on Booking.com.
I had no problem with this booking. When we turned up there was no Parking - no way of unloading my bags.
The manager was very unhelpful and rude because I asked about parking! it sounded like I killed his mother!
Anyway, long story short I managed to park the car and got my keys gone to check the room. The room didn't have any bath which I have requested on the booking.
Went down stairs asked him that there should be a special request about bath in the room. He argued with me that there is no request on the booking. I had to force him to check the booking which he checked and came back saying ' ohh I have one room left' he did not apologised for the arguing with me and that is I am right.

Hotel is shabby, run down and dirty floors. Lifts is out of order.
Please consider other hotels rather than this one.

Travellodge is better than this one.

Regards

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlanNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

I am sorry you felt your experience was not as you had hoped. If you had actually stayed at least for one night in the hotel I am sure that your opinion would have been different and you would have had an enjoyable stay like so many others do. It is most unusual to have a posting of this nature as you can see by the many other great reviews detailing their experiences at the Torbay and especially the friendliness of our staff. We have countless guests who stay here and have a wonderful time as you can see. To clarify one point, we do actually have a car park, although it is not on site, it is a short distance away and is secure and again our guests find it most useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just returned from 3 night break from start to finish we couldn't fault it. great choices of food always hot.the staff work extremely hard .entertainment was good Saturday night singer was excellent,so all in all fantastic value for money. will we do it again .already booked :-))

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sheiladeeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your holiday with us at the Torbay and I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed it so much that you have already booked to come back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing