We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend away”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend away”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This was r 2nd time here. Had a great time although the weather wasn't good. Staff were very friendly. Food very good portion sizes were small but when you have 3 courses it was enough. Fri nite entertainment poor. Sat nite comedian was good. Sun nite no entertainment we weren't impressed with that. They could have put some music on in the background. However we made r own entertainment & will hopefully return next year. R room was lovely & r view was the wheel

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 25julie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you 25julie64 for your kind words of praise for your stay with us, and for the second time too. I am glad that you enjoyed the food, friendly staff and the Saturday comedian. I hope that you ventured onto the wheel for a great view of the Torbay area? we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    138
    39
    56
See reviews for
125
420
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived at the Torbay Hotel for a midweek break booked with Shearings coach trips. Following a hike to the third floor as there was a queue for the only lift, initial impression of our room was promising, spacious and front facing, however this was short lived. Décor was dated and dirty, beds were badly made and single bed had dirty used linen with rogue hairs + crumbs. Blankets had holes and bed bases were tatty. Bathroom: There were holes in the wall where fittings had fallen off and refitted in another place, chipped bath, bath panel seen better days, cobwebs everywhere and dirt in corners / behind door. Electric towel rail not working, duck tape across the door jam was coming away from the floor, another strip was put on top of this on the last night. TV: old deep style only BBC1 audible, other channels sounded like echo chamber. Have stayed in Travel Lodges and despite being basic they were spotless, beds were comfortable and had duvets. Dining room was very cramped, small table for 4 people, no space for tea/coffee pots, toast rack had to go on a side plate. Good points, our waitress was lovely and efficient, nothing too much trouble, food was hot, a varied menu but the elderly were definitely catered for in regards to portion size. Included excursions were very good especially the Dartmoor experience and Devon cream tea. Only stayed in the hotel one night to sample the entertainment, comedian was good but the dancing left a lot to be desired, it was amusing watching the over 70s line dancing to any genre of music. Considering the Manager is a young man younger guests are not catered for regarding entertainment. Lounge/cafeteria areas were very spacious and decorated to a high standard.
We should have booked a mystery trip as a couple we spoke to went for this choice of break and were given a refurbished room with excellent facilities which cost them 50% less than our upgrade. This trip was unknown territory for us but once bitten twice shy 'never again'...........

Room Tip: make sure you get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I am sorry that you did not regard your holiday with us to be a good one as we do get so many positive reviews on here. I will look into your room comments particularly as its not a common complaint that we receive. our restaurant an get busy when everyone dines at the same time but not usually sufficient to cause discomfort and we do allow plenty of time, so that people can come down and eat in a relaxing manner. On a positive note thank you for your positive comments regarding the other areas such as the food, public areas and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the Torbay Hotel last week from Friday to Monday booked with Shearings. This is about the 10th break iv had with Shearings but my first time to Torquay. Travelled with my friend and we had single rooms both rooms were very clean and comfortable we were on the second floor at the back of hotel. We had a lovely time food was excellent with lots of choice, hotel reception area very comfortable lots of lovely comfy seating...Hotel is so close to the town and marina and lots to see and do. Fantastic value for money we paid £114.00 each, where else could you get all your return travel, three 3 course evening meals, 3 full English breakfasts four free drinks, entertainment every night for this price. Well done to Shearings and all the staff at this hotel. Although I didn't meet the manager hes obviously doing a very good job running a great team of staff. Lorraine [ Brighton]

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi LorraineJ and thank you for posting a review of your holiday at the Torbay. I am glad that you enjoyed so many parts of your stay with us, especially the food, rooms and of course the staff. I have a great team working here and it is nice to hear that they were a main part of ensuring that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Dirty bathroom, badly made tatty old beds one had used bed linen on, a t.v that didnt work, the list goes on!
What was pleasing was that were offered an upgrade on receipt of paying even more funds...bearing in mind we had paid over £100.00 per night for 2 people just for the pleasure of said surroundings we declined ... Then were offered a change of room again with no mention of paying more money out, but had lost the will by then and praise be we were able to get out and about from the room
Would not want to stay here again, im sure the refurb rooms are lovely, the lounge and bar area were very pleasant, the dining room resembled sardines, but the staff were very pleasant
couldnt fault the staff, but not happy with the grottiest room ...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank applecat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi applecat2 I am sorry if you felt that the hotel did not meet your expectations, we usually get some lovely reviews from guests who have stayed with us here at the Torbay. I am pleased to note that you found the public areas to be to your satisfaction and that the staff were pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived by coach by shearing the manager got on gave us are room number the suitcases were brought up to the room the room was very nice and clean,tea and coffee provided the meals were very good and all the staff excellent all in all a very nice hotel to stay. Will be going back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you David T for your comments regarding your weekend stay with us at the Torbay. I am glad that you found everything to your liking and its pleasing to hear that you will be coming back to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Food great and plenty of choice. Rooms very clean.wouldn't advise upgrading to a superior room for £10 per person per night.The views from the front of the hotel are worth paying to upgrade to a sea view room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidGlaholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Torbay, Its good to see that you enjoyed the holiday, especially the choice of food we have to offer and your room. We do find the superior rooms and premier rooms to be quite sought after and very popular usually. Hopefully we will see you visit us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a long weekend on a shearings package. We paid a supplement and had a front facing room. The room was a good size and had a balcony with amazing views. It was a shame the doors didnt open enough for you to access the outside area. Im guessing this is just a health and safety requirement. The room wasn't a refurbished one although the decor was dated and the paint work chipped it was perfectly adequate and clean. The room was lovely and warm and plenty of storage space. The room was cleaned daily and refreshments were replenished. The bathroom had a bath and shower and plenty of hot water. Some complementary toiletries would have been nice.
The food was of a good standard. We found the meal times a little restrictive with only an hour and half window for dinner and an hour for breakfast. All meals are waiter service. .there was a choice at all meals the staff were pleasant but were busy and didn't have time to chat. There was a different 3 course meal available each evening. The food was made using fresh ingredients. Had some flavourings and seasoning been used it would have enhanced some of the meals. The portion sizes were adequate and because the meals were included in the trip price they represented good value for money.
There is a cafe located within the hotel which hotel guests can receive 25% discount. However they only serve meals from 12 - 2.30pm this isnt made clear and we returned to the hotel for a late lunch only to be told they had stopped serving food. The lounge areas within the hotel are nicely decorated and are comfortable.
The hotel has entertainment each evening and it was varied. Generally though it caters for the older guests ! The 50's quiz was way before our time !
The hotel is in a good location for the shops the marina and beach. The princess theatre is just a short stroll away.
If you fancy getting out for the day the bus service is very good and an all day adult explorer ticket is only £5.20.
The swimming pool was tired looking and wasn't very warm, but nice to have the opportunity to swim.
Not sure the hotel cateted very well for those guests on special diets as I noticed guests bringing their own bread. There was no decaf tea available. On Friday I was told they had run out...but we were there till monday and they hadn't managed to order any in. So I went out and brought my own ! Herbal tea wasn't offered asa choice either. Both of these are pretty standard at most hotels now. Not a complaint just an observation.
We enjoyed our stay loved our room and we would definitely return to this hotel

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gfcjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for posting review of your recent weekend stay at the Torbay. I am glad that you had a good weekend with us and that you have many positive things to say about us, including the food, rooms, service and of course the staff. it should have been explained that whilst we serve hot food until 2.30pm, a wide range of food is still available after that time and I will check to ensure that this is more apparent to our guests. We do cater for a wide variety of special diets and this is usually complimented on, although some guests do prefer to bring their own specific foods. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay that you would return and we look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,880 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing