We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect too much.”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is great if you are not expecting too much. We were given a front facing room which was good, It was a bit run down though. Dust etc in corners. The whole hotel could have done with a good spring clean. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. The food was not good but just about edible ( sometimes ) The lift was small and totally inadequate. It broke down on the day we left. The staff were helping people with luggage but some of the less mobile guests were having problems getting down the stairs Sadly i will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

I am sorry to hear that you will not be visiting us again. I feel that we offer good value for money breaks and hope or guests enjoy what we have to offer here and am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for your kind words regarding the bedroom and especially the staff who you found to be helpful and friendly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Torbay Hotel. It is facing the Harbour/Marina from across the road and is positioned very close to the main shopping area and other attractions. There was plenty going on and no chance to get bored at all. We found it to be a very nice hotel. Our room, which was facing the front and had been refurbished, was clean and comfortable with a nice modern bathroom. Tea and coffee was provided. The food was good with a choice of courses.There was entertainment most evenings but if, like us, you prefer a quiet drink in the bar, there are plenty of comfortable chairs provided in that area. There is a small coffee shop with a terrace for a drink or midday snack. Our only niggle was we had booked through Shearings Holidays and, having been with them to other locations, were surprised to see a few children at the Hotel. We thought they only did Adults Only holidays. All in all a good value short break.

Room Tip: Try Room 224. Its a twin room with a great view across to the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHoochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank LondonHoochey for posting review and I am glad that you enjoyed your short break with us. We do have one of the best locations I believe and am pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom especially one of our refurbished bedrooms. As stated on other reviews we do have a programme of refurbishments an its good to know that they are well received. Thanks for you praise of the food and the lounges also.
We do mostly cater for adults but during holiday times we do get the odd younger guests staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The location of the hotel is brilliant, right on the sea front and opposite the marina with easy access to town centre and all the amenities you would expect to find there.

If you book car parking you leave your vehicle in a car park in The Terrace, a three minute drive away and 10 minute walk to the hotel. Follow the instructions given to you when you book - ie drop your bags off because you do not want to be lugging them with you, the hills will make this a tricky expedition!

We booked a standard room, the bedroom had a fresh feel about it, I think it had recently been refurbished, the bathroom however not so good - really grubby grout and sealant around the bath. It's a shame this couldn't have been overhauled at the same time. Room facilities - Freeview television with all the channels you would expect, kettle with plenty of tea and coffee provided and a fairly decent hairdryer too. Plenty of hangers in the wardrobe and lots of shelf space too. If you are staying more than one night I would recommend that you get new towels every day, I know it's not good for the environment but they simply didn't get dry during the course of the day and probably account for the musty smell in the room.

We were rather surprised when we arrived for our first meal to be told that we would be sharing a table with another couple, whilst they were very pleasant, it does make meals times not as relaxed as they could be as you feel obliged to make idle chit chat with them.

The food itself, not my cup of tea, basically microwave meals. As others have commented small portions, meal times are rushed and if you arrive towards the end of service waiters are more interested in getting tables ready for next meal than attending to your needs. If you want a drink with your evening meal I would recommend that you purchase one from the bar and take it in with you, there is a wine waiter but he is far more interested in himself than the guests.

One lift serves the entire hotel, it is cranky, wasn't working when we left so had to lug suitcase from the third floor, no offer from staff to assist. We are young so managed with ease but the majority of guests are senior citizens and would not have fared so easily.

The only place you can get Wi-Fi is in the café area, it is a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVJ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Torbay. I am pleased that you enjoyed a recently refurbished bedroom and we annually spend money on our bedrooms and get to as many as we can each year. I am sorry if certain aspects of your holiday you found wanting and I will look into the comments that you have made. Usually we get very good comments regarding the food and service, and while we have a number of shared tables, a table for yourselves could be requested and we would have certainly attended to your needs. We do have one lift which while used often, usually suffices but am sorry that during your stay it stopped working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a great time on our Shearings coach trip.Hotel was great, food was excellent with a varied menu. Location is ideal, all the staff was friendly and helpful. Coach driver Chris was good and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you Alan L for your posting and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Torbay. I will pass on your compliments to Chris and am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I and two friends have just returned from this hotel on a Shearings coach holiday.

First the positives: Lovely large bedroom {302} overlooking sea front. Overbath shower was
powerful and hot water was in plentiful supply. Room was cleaned everyday. All the staff we met
were very cheerful and obliging.

Secondly the negatives: TV in room had appalling reception and only 7 channels.
Only one lift serving four floors did not meet the needs of many of the guests who were elderly or infirmed
The food was adequate, although on two occasions our chosen dishes were unavailable and
surprisingly, for a hotel of this size, when we asked for a bottle of Pinot Grigio we were told they
were out of stock. The dining area needs redesigning as tables were so close together, even the
staff had trouble navigating them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissandra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and glad that there were positives of the holiday. I wi9ll look into your television issues and am sorry that we some of the more popular dishes that you desired had run out, not a usual set of occurrences. The dining room is planned to be renovated towards the end of this year and hopefully on your return that you find it more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

When booking this hotel online asked many questions and was told yes we have entertainment every night, the bar would stay open as long as residents were drinking. I am 65 and this hotel was still older than my age bracket. Mobility scooters parked everywhere charging, heating still coming on in rooms, no double glazing, 1 lift that holds 5 people at the most to cater for whole hotel so waiting at 20 mins each time. Bar staff needs to be trained on how to pour a pint there ideal is to stick glass on waste tray and just pull the lever therefore you only get 3/4 of a pint once settled when mentioned this to one of bar staff was told this how you pour it. Food was very poor had no taste and very small portions, when we asked for more toast at 9.40 was told no kitchen is closed. Have never seen a bar close in entertainment room or ballroom as you call it at 10.50 on a sat night and told if you want a drink you would have to use residents bar. My feelings in using these bars was that they couldn't get you out of them quick enough around about 11.30pm. Very disappointing weekend def would not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bob_beese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

I am sorry that you feel the same way as your travelling partners who have commented below but as with their comments, we do not discriminate against guests who may travel with mobility aids. I have checked with the bars manager and the ballroom was virtually empty of guests by 10.50 which is when that bar closed but the residents bar in the lounge, where the remainder of the guests vacated too, was open until 1.30am, so there was always a bar open and available for our guests to purchase drinks, so while one area was closed once guests had moved locations, the other bar close by was still open to service those guests who wanted to stay up. I am surprised at your food comments as this is an area often praised on here especially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

good hotel if your elderly and dont eat alot and dont want any entertainment hotel should state no entertainment on a sunday not just say its dark sunday nothing happening , there was mobility scooters parked uo charging there batteries not a good hotel for anyone under 70

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandra1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

We cater for all ages of guests and do not add an upper age limit on anybody who would like a holiday. Some of our guests occasionally do require the aid of a scooter or other mobility aid and I believe that they are entitled to a holiday like we all are. Those guests with scooters do not prevent anyone else from getting on with their holiday and should not have had a detrimental effect on your own stay. We do add in our brochures quite clearly that we do not provide entertainment on some evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#27 of 86 in Torquay
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing