We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“served us very well ....”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have used this hotel for many years now, it is ideal for us. I fully appreciate that this Victorian hotel is not to everyone's taste and having experienced it decide it is not their choice, fair comment. What does stick in my craw are the reviewers on here who do not give the hotel the chance to address the issues they may have, say nothing but then completely slate the hotel on this site, indeed some of the reasons given for never to stay at The Torbay are petty and spiteful at best.
What we have found is a team of staff who work together with customer care and service as their main goal, any niggles have been dealt with promptly and effectively. I am surprised reading the comments about the food. The choices we have been given are more than enough and the size of the portions must bust the budget for the chef, and no we are not little nibbling sparrows. If we want any more or a varied offering we simply ask and it is accommodated. We have never felt rushed in the dining room, and despite some of the waiters being 'slow' their main concern is that we are served well. Our rooms have always been cleaned to a good standard daily and courtesy tray kept well supplied as are the towels and toilet requisites, again what ever you feel you need, just ask.
The entertainment is good for us, on the nights where there is not a guest entertainer, there is music and the dance floor can still be used, alternatively sitting in the comfortable lounge area chatting with other guests and enjoying a drink is another pleasant experience for us.
As for the maintenance of the hotel there is an ongoing refurbishment programme that still reflects the history and ethos of this magnificent Victorian building, it would be the worst shame if it were allowed to become a corporate one night stay premier inn style.
This hotel caters for all ages, children are served well, we have just returned from our long weekend with a nine week old baby. Every assistance is given to people with mobility issues and despite the one lift, a little bit of patience harms no one, this is a holiday NOT the chance to be of the Four in a Bed or Hotel Inspector brigade.
So yes we have been served well and the value for money is beyond compare. Thank you Torbay Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JET157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi JET 157. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Torbay hotel and your many comments made are very much appreciated by myself, and I am sure also by the hardworking staff here at the hotel. I firmly believe that we offer great value for money holidays and the staff strive to ensure that our guests get an enjoyable holiday and the best service possible.
We invest annually in the hotel to improve standards and we may not get it right every time and occasionally mistakes are made, but we will endeavour where possible to rectify problems as long as we are given the opportunity to do so.
I am glad that you have enjoyed many breaks here at the Torbay and that have look forward to you spending many more with us.
Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a weekend break in the hotel. To be fair, it is worth a bit more than we paid. The location is excellent for the town centre of a day time, the beach and marina across the road and if I did not enjoy the entertainment in the hotel, there are so many options around that I cannot complain.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful. I would like to mention Julie on the bar in particular for her friendly and humourous manner. If she is an example of Northern Hospitality then the hotel should recruit more people from Lancashire!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi Steve I and thank you for posting a review of your weekend break at the Torbay. I believe that we do offer great value for money and as so many other reviewers comment on, we are in a fantastic location. It's always pleasing to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and Julie will be pleased to know that she looked after you while you were here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just had a 4 night stay at the Torbay hotel. Positively the hotel location and the food was excellent, but unfortunately our waitress was very slow. There was another waiter "Shaun" who was very pleasant, and efficient. What really let's the hotel down was that the rooms are poorly maintained. On arrival we was given room 231, this is situated at the rear of the hotel on the second floor. To reach this you have to climb 7 flights of stairs, then go down another 2 flights of stairs to get to the second floor. Only having one lift in the hotel, makes it difficult for anybody with reduced mobility to access the rooms. Room 231 was reasonable although dark, due to the cliff which is just a few feet from the window. We soon found out that the toilet did not work, which we reported to reception. The girl on reception said she would have someone look at the toilet the next day, I replied this was not exceptable, and was offered room 229. This room had just been rejected by another couple. We looked at the room, but it was in poor condition for example TV did not work properly (fuzzy picture and sound buzzing) toilet shelf hanging off, loose tiles behind toilet, and the room was very hot. Decided to take this room as the toilet did work in this room. The first night we had the window open wide and an electric fan on, but the room temperature was still over 30 degrees, but the outside temperature was cool, and the radiator in the room had not been on. I woke up the next morning with a terrible headache, and my wife who suffers with Asthma was struggling to breathe. Speaking to other residents they were complaining how cold the rooms was? We walked in our room later that day and it was still very hot, I lay on the bed and got another headache within minutes. I went back to reception to complain about the hot room, and was told the room was hot because the indoor swimming pool was below our room, and my headaches where being caused by the fumes. I requested another room change, and was offered a room on the 4th floor ,to high to use the stairs. My only other option was to pay for an upgraded room on the third floor (room 314) I decided to pay for the upgrade, to rescue the remainder of my holiday. This room was reasonable condition, but the toilet pan was not fitted to the floor, and leaked water all over the bathroom floor. So to the manager at the Torbay you need a decent MAINTENANCE MAN.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi John V, Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I am sorry that you encountered a few problems and I will look into your maintenance issues that you raised. We do have a programme of refurbishments and maintenance and these are usually highly praised by other reviewers. On a positive note I will pass on your praise of Shaun who looked after you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When we go away for a short break we always look for a Bay Hotel as we find them very good value for the money. This was our first stay at the Torbay Hotel and having stayed at other Bay hotels we know what to expect. We went on a self drive break but it can be difficult to find somewhere to park the car to drop off your luggage as the loading bay next to the hotel was full of parked cars. The secure parking for the hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes walk away so make sure you leave all your luggage at the hotel before you go and park. A good tip once you have parked your car is when you come out of the car park you will see the rear entrance to Debenhams store, go through there as it cuts a big corner off the walk back to the hotel. We upgraded to a standard plus room, well worth the extra and we also had a front facing room. No problem with the room, very big and clean. View from the room was excellent but beware, being on a very busy road it can be very noisy at night. Meals were good although we have noticed that the portions are getting smaller, staff very good. Another thing to beware of is that there is only one lift in the hotel and for older people this can be a problem. Overall our weekend was very good, all staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and as I have said before, you only get what you pay for and we always find Bay Hotels good value for the money. Would we go to the Torbay Hotel again, yes we would.

Room Tip: Excellent views from all front facing rooms but can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you Eric H for your review of your holiday with us at the Torbay. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself especially our newly refurbished Standard plus rooms. There can be no greater compliment than a guest who will return to us and I am pleased that you will visit us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The accommodation was comfortable and clean but a bit dated. The resturaunt was a bit overcrowded with tables and the waiters had not got the room to manover and they appeared to have to many tables to deal with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldskeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The restaurant can get busy when everyone dines around the same time, but we do have plans to refurbish our restaurant towards the end of 2014 and hopefully you will re visit and let us know if the changes are o your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were transferred before we arrived from another Shearings hotel in Torquay, but after spending the weekend here, I feel we might have got the best of the bargain.... We had originally booked with 4 drinks per person per night [Bay inclusive] and this was honored.... We were also given a front facing room overlooking the beautifully kept promenade, the room was first class, as were all the common areas and lounges..... The food was very good, varied and well cooked.... I would have given this 5 stars but unfortunately it was marred by guests with young children who were let loose to run around the lounges yelling.... I was very surprised at this as Shearings give the impression that their hotels are adults only. Anyway this kind of hotel is really not suitable for youngsters

Room Tip: Opt for a front facing room the promenade is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank power999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you power999 for your review and I am very pleased that you felt that we offered you good value for your holiday with us. Its good to know that there were may parts of your stay that you enjoyed, especially the food and that you enjoyed your bedroom also. We are in a great location and an happy that you were able to enjoy the promenade and all that Torquay has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is great if you are not expecting too much. We were given a front facing room which was good, It was a bit run down though. Dust etc in corners. The whole hotel could have done with a good spring clean. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. The food was not good but just about edible ( sometimes ) The lift was small and totally inadequate. It broke down on the day we left. The staff were helping people with luggage but some of the less mobile guests were having problems getting down the stairs Sadly i will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

I am sorry to hear that you will not be visiting us again. I feel that we offer good value for money breaks and hope or guests enjoy what we have to offer here and am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for your kind words regarding the bedroom and especially the staff who you found to be helpful and friendly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing