We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“torbay hotel from rob.”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“torbay hotel from rob.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and i stayed weekend 6th. june 2014, great location, staff very freindly and helpfull, food was very good with very efficient service, rooms are comfortable but need refubishing, drinks a bit expensive. Saturday was spoiled when early in the morning I cut and scratched my foot on a sharp end of a spring, which was protruding out of the edge of the mattress, had to be moved to another room as no staff were available to change the mattress. Also I had to fill out accident form after the evening dinner, room was a little better but not much, - all so inconvenient! Would we go back to the torbay hotel?, --- yes, i hope so, - but watch out for those mattress springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rf_smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry you experienced an issue with your mattress. I hope that you it is healed up. I am sorry for the inconvenience of having to move rooms and will look into the events of the day so as to ensure that this does not recur. I am pleased that you found the staff service and food to your satisfaction and look forward to seeing you return once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    138
    39
    56
See reviews for
125
420
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The bedroom was quite drab, definately in need of a face lift. I do realise this is a big and very expensive job in today's economic climate. The room was very clean, bed comfortable and towels etc changed daily. The staff were very helpful and pleaant. The breakfast was ok the evening meals were a bit hit and miss although I am a coeliac and they did take good care of me and ensured I had a choice of meals. My companios though were not impressed with the evening meals. We were at the back of the hotel so outlook not good but it was quiet some people in the rooms at the front complained of noise at night over the week-end.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I am glad that we catered for your dietary needs while you were here. We do have an annual refurbishment programme and we are getting there as quickly as is possible, although its pleasing to note that your accommodation was clean and comfortable. We usually get very good comments for our food so am surprised that your friends were not so happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only booked a couple of nights here as it was on the way home from Newquay;
i travelled with my husband and dad.from the time we checked in to the time we checked out we had a great time our room was lovely and the view from our window was of the marina my dads room was also great and had a view of the marina.All the staff are excellent and nothing was to much trouble.The hotel is in a great location.The only let down we found was the cafe only one person working there the couple of times we did try to get anything we were told that we would have to wait about 10 -15 mins as she was making sandwiches and meals we only wanted a coffee.we will be back but for longer next time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your short stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Torbay. We are in a perfect location and its nice that you enjoyed such great views. It is always good to hear that the staff were attentive and helpful, it is always good to hear praise for them. Sorry that you waited too long at the café, it can get busy when you least expect it, sometimes.I am also glad to read that you will be coming back again top stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a night in April 2014. It was very good value for money. Room was very dated but I understand that there are superior rooms and they are possibly renovating room by room.
There is a swimming pool, we did use it.
Breakfast was ok.
Can't be any more central.
Overall, it was fine, as the old saying goes, you get what you paid for. All staff were kind, no rudeness.
Free car park about 5 minutes walk away - which is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hblock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your short stay with us. I do believe that we offer great value for money and am pleased that you appreciate that. hopefully you can stay a bit longer in the future and enjoy all that we have to offer. Thank you also, for your praise of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just back from our second stay at this hotel and it was just as good as the first, The staff in all areas we helpful, polite and kind. The hotel was clean and good entertainment. The food was excellent. We paid a bit more for a front facing room which was well decorated and clean, although a bit noisy at times, but then we like to sleep with the window open so it was our choice. The Restaurants, Shopping, and Beach are very close and an excellent bus service for visits to other villages and attractions can be caught nearby. Would recommend this hotel, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter, only one lift, which is very slow. No children activities at hotel, but a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi David j, Thank you for posting a review and I am pleased that it was another good one for you. It is always good to hear the staff praised, as they do work hard and appreciate it when they are being recognised. We look forward to you revisiting once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have just returned from a weekend at the Torbay Hotel, We were a group of 24, most with mental health issues, all the were staff courteous, enthusiastic and very accommodating.
The rooms were clean and comfy. The food was good, with special dietary needs accommodated for without fuss.
An extra shout out to the house keeper who went above and beyond for us Thank you 

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuefromStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi SuefromStroud and thank you for your review of your weekend stay with us. I am glad that you and your group had a good weekend and I shall pass on to the housekeeper your kind comments. Its good that you enjoyed the food bedrooms and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Have a great summer and hopefully we will see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Torbay Hotel. It was an ideal location, handy for buses shops and harbour/beach.
The staff were all well turned out and were very polite. Service was good everyone just wanted to please. Our waitress Michelle gave excellent sevice a credit to your hotel.
The food was always fresh hot and plentiful, the manager of the resturant was always on hand . Well done to you all. We must not forget the chefs and kitchen staff who did and are doing a brilliant job.
Yes it is noisy on the front but we new that so not a problem i put cotton wool in my ears to reduce that. The view is lovely in the front rooms and would always want that.
On the down side we feel the entertainment needs improvement, all a bit dated.Better dance music to match the age of the holiday makers.
I hope when i return again that the missing tiles on the bottom of the swimming pool have been replaced as this is a danger ,i caught my foot on them it could have been a serious injury.
Thank you for a lovely holiday we look forward to retuning again

Room Tip: I would always go for the view. But its a very personal thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Suenorm and thank you for posting a review of the Torbay and your holiday with us. I am glad that you had a great time and enjoyed our location, food and especially the service that you received form the staff. I shall pass on your praise to Michelle, I know she will be glad to hear that she looked after you while you were here. I shall look into the pool tile repairs and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing