We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for needs”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adequate for needs”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having stayed at this hotel previously we knew what to expect. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and tidy. Food adequate and a reasonable variety of dishes to choose from. Staff over the whole hotel were excellent, friendly and very helpful. The usual complaint about the lift being not really fit for purpose. You get what you pay for and this holiday fitted the bill.

Room Tip: The view from many front facing rooms is blocked off by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you are happy with your stay at the Torbay and that you have stayed with us before. Its always pleasing to hear that the staff especially were attentive and friendly and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    297
    133
    38
    54
See reviews for
118
411
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just spent four nights at The Bay Torbay which we found to be full of character. We had a front facing room on the second floor which overlooked the gardens, fountain and harbour/sea although the sea was rather obscured by large trees. It was a very clean and comfortable room. We found all the communal areas to be clean and tidy. Restaurant service was good. Breakfast was excellent. You had a choice of starter, main and dessert in the evening all of which were very hot. Some of the starters could be a bit more generous I think ie. one evening we had two very thin slices of mozzarella with salad and another evening four very small shrimps in breadcrumbs with salad but we never left the restaurant feeling hungry. Possibly this could be down to the fact that the majority of the guests are elderly on coach tours who don't have such large appetites. The hotel is in an excellent position for the town, harbour, sea front and Princess Theatre if you wish to take in a show. There are also many bus stops closeby to visit other places in Devon.. We found all the staff to be very polite, courteous and friendly. There was some noise from young people outside the hotel a couple of nights but, hey, you are on holiday to have fun. So, if this would bother you it is better to ask for a room at the back. It is also worth requesting a lower floor if you have difficulty walking as there is one small, slow lift which can get busy as times. I would happily return to this hotel if I were in Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you Christine1612 for your review of the Torbay. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday with us and that you found the hotel, location, food and all other parts to your liking. It is especially pleasing to read that the staff were courteous and friendly, as they do work very hard .It's also great to hear that if you are visiting Torquay again that you would return to the Torbay, as this is the biggest compliment we could possibly receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a lovely weekend in the Bay Torbay Hotel.Breakfast was early 8-9am but adequate. The evening meal was delicious and an excellent choice.

The room was small at the back of the hotel and the shower very compact but it was clean and the view was of the cliff covered in trees. It did have an old tv that was a bit temperamental but the weather was great so we only in the room to go to sleep.

There is only one lift and it is very slow!! Stairs will keep you fit. The pool is a nice size and ok when you acclimatise.

The staff were really friendly, especially the lady receptionists. They could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as they are not overlooking the road/seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pand68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you pand68 for posting a review of your weekend stay with us. I am glad that you had an enjoyable break at the Torbay and that you found everything to your liking. We are in a great position here, so handy for everything and everywhere. I shall pass on your kind comments to the two girls on the reception too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and i stayed weekend 6th. june 2014, great location, staff very freindly and helpfull, food was very good with very efficient service, rooms are comfortable but need refubishing, drinks a bit expensive. Saturday was spoiled when early in the morning I cut and scratched my foot on a sharp end of a spring, which was protruding out of the edge of the mattress, had to be moved to another room as no staff were available to change the mattress. Also I had to fill out accident form after the evening dinner, room was a little better but not much, - all so inconvenient! Would we go back to the torbay hotel?, --- yes, i hope so, - but watch out for those mattress springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rf_smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry you experienced an issue with your mattress. I hope that you it is healed up. I am sorry for the inconvenience of having to move rooms and will look into the events of the day so as to ensure that this does not recur. I am pleased that you found the staff service and food to your satisfaction and look forward to seeing you return once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The bedroom was quite drab, definately in need of a face lift. I do realise this is a big and very expensive job in today's economic climate. The room was very clean, bed comfortable and towels etc changed daily. The staff were very helpful and pleaant. The breakfast was ok the evening meals were a bit hit and miss although I am a coeliac and they did take good care of me and ensured I had a choice of meals. My companios though were not impressed with the evening meals. We were at the back of the hotel so outlook not good but it was quiet some people in the rooms at the front complained of noise at night over the week-end.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I am glad that we catered for your dietary needs while you were here. We do have an annual refurbishment programme and we are getting there as quickly as is possible, although its pleasing to note that your accommodation was clean and comfortable. We usually get very good comments for our food so am surprised that your friends were not so happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only booked a couple of nights here as it was on the way home from Newquay;
i travelled with my husband and dad.from the time we checked in to the time we checked out we had a great time our room was lovely and the view from our window was of the marina my dads room was also great and had a view of the marina.All the staff are excellent and nothing was to much trouble.The hotel is in a great location.The only let down we found was the cafe only one person working there the couple of times we did try to get anything we were told that we would have to wait about 10 -15 mins as she was making sandwiches and meals we only wanted a coffee.we will be back but for longer next time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your short stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Torbay. We are in a perfect location and its nice that you enjoyed such great views. It is always good to hear that the staff were attentive and helpful, it is always good to hear praise for them. Sorry that you waited too long at the café, it can get busy when you least expect it, sometimes.I am also glad to read that you will be coming back again top stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a night in April 2014. It was very good value for money. Room was very dated but I understand that there are superior rooms and they are possibly renovating room by room.
There is a swimming pool, we did use it.
Breakfast was ok.
Can't be any more central.
Overall, it was fine, as the old saying goes, you get what you paid for. All staff were kind, no rudeness.
Free car park about 5 minutes walk away - which is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hblock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your short stay with us. I do believe that we offer great value for money and am pleased that you appreciate that. hopefully you can stay a bit longer in the future and enjoy all that we have to offer. Thank you also, for your praise of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing