We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel and it shows!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a budget Hotel and as such is very basic . Staff very friendly, outdoor/indoor pool acceptable and general cleanliness average. Meals very well presented... but only hotel I have ever stayed at when all is waiter service including juices and cereals. Booked short break thru Travelstyle.. £10 reduction only for a three year old child. Ridiculous!!!

Room Tip: view room before booking in. check windows open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ringley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

me and my partner and our 16 year daughter stayed her from sunday to thursday and was a bit put off by people's comments before we stayed at the cavendish hotel however how untrue and some comments unfair to the people that work and own the hotel,we found our stay comfortable and the staff helpful food was nice for the price you pay and emma was polite.
the rooms was clean and tidy,entertainment every night which to be fair was for all ages,kids room,pool table and table tennis in my eyes catered for all the two swimming pools in door and out was clean and being used by all ages.
the hotel as a whole had different area's that you could do your own thing in wether it was to relax or not to.
decor people on reviews complained about however for a 2 star hotel the decor was fine it was obvious to me and my partner that people who comment about the stay at this hotel as used to having a five star treatment for 2 star value for money.

if you want a pleasant stay and value for money at a 2 star hotel then this is for you as the hotel is positioned not to far away from the beach and the town.
if you like the price but expect 5 star treatment then this hotel will do it's very best to please you however will not be to your own expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolverhamptonCheif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

On arrival room was dirty,had not been cleaned,also 4 other couples who arrived at the same time had similar issues.All of us had to be moved to other rooms.Had to order your evening meal at breakfast.Meal portions very small unless you were prepared to pay extra.
The entertainment room was depressing to say the least.Overall a very rundown hotel,and not to be recomended.We wont be going there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kawasaki_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have been to the Cavendish as a family many times. We are treated like long lost friends every time, staff are fantastic. Back next week, can't wait! See you next week Cavendish.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneCarolineHaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Travelled here with friends on an Urquart Tour .
The bus should have kept on travelling the road .
The hotel looks NOTHING like the web page images for the rooms, my bed room was the size of a shoe box , the bedding and bed were well past there "sell by date" . The lovely view i was promised overlooked another hotel and the bed was so hard I would have been beter sleeping on the floor ( if i could have brought myself to do this BUT the floor was not very clean).
The food was acceptable , the staff service left a little to be desired , during one meal I enquired if they had far to travel from the kitchen as the table we sat at appeared to be somewhere situated in the Bermuda Triangle.
Most of the patrons are elderly on these tours and the elevator was "out of order" for 6 of the 7 days we stayed there ...... I will now be looking forward to family entering me into a care home BECAUSE ANYTHING would be an improvement over this establishment.
A single suppliment room ...NO a prison cell YES.
We will never stay here again .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripAdict095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel, is in need off redecorating but our rooms where very clean and the staff was lovely and very helpful. The food was nice, so all round for the price you pay was an alright stay. Unfortunately most people expect to go away and pay 2 star prices and get 5 star treatment, well you do get what you pay for. I enjoyed my stay at the cavendish anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lees023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We went for two nights after seeing reviews I was concerned and on arrival even more concerned but the place in fine, clean, plenty to do and prime location. We are going back for bank holiday ! That's how bad it was. Not sure about recommending it though unless you really know the person and their sense of adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jannymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 86 in Torquay
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 86 in Torquay
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 86 in Torquay
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing