We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cavendish hotel”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cavendish hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Arrived to find they couldnt find our booking! Sorted out after a bit of a worrying wait after a long journey! Room tiny and falling apart so complained, got to see 2 other rooms, not much better but accepted one, Light in bathroom over mirror never worked, complained from day one but never got fixed throughout our stay, made bathroom very dark. Tea, coffee etc not replenished one day so had to ask. Suprised to find they charge for extra tea, coffee, milk! Noise at nights horrendous, alarm went off, baths running, thin walls, deliveries in early hours, people locked out and ladders against our windows twice waking us up! doors slamming all night, staff loud on car park at night. Chest of drawers falling apart, dirty paint stained blanket in wardrobe, tv picture wavy and fuzzy, no freeview.. Cleaner very good and helpful, staff friendly but not good that a staff member on patio smoking while we were sitting out and talking inappropriately about other customers. Food overall very good and frindly waiting staff. Pools clean and good but cigarette ends on floor everywhere around outside pool not very nice.Not told on checking in where pools, reataurant, bars are etc, had to find our way around. Overall a good 2 star, but please improve the rooms, we complained and eventually had room 2 but was not really impressed but was the best of the 3 we were shown, were not offered an upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddlevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    243
    164
    67
    122
See reviews for
191
288
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the Cavendish Hotel last for weekend break. There were 15 of us in our group, 7 couples and 1 single and we all agreed it was a reasonable Hotel to stay at for the price charged. Food was good,both breakfast and evening meals and staff were very good and helpful. There was lots to do at the hotel with a games room, 2 swimming pools a bar and entertianment on the evening. The hotel building is very much the same as many of the older hotels in torquay, but we found it clean and tidy with plenty of room in our bedrooms. We all said we would stay again next time we book a break in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Went in July with Family for 4 nights my room was fine, just had a problem with the television
which was resolved.The room was cleaned daily and towels replenished.

The staff couldn't do enough for you made the holiday more enjoyable,there was an outside childrens play area with seating and a garden with more outdoor seating above both leading from the entertainment room/bar.

My room 126 was above the reception and I never heard any noise coming from outside late into the night.Plenty of draws and hanging space rare these days in some hotels, and had twin beds very welcome as single bed rooms can be very small.

We used the outdoor swimming pool and sunbeds as we were lucky with the weather it was glorious,really enjoyed the day round and in the pool.
I never had a problem with the lift even though the hotel was full,breakfast was good and staff were friendly.Lots of guests in the hotel were friendly, a great experience for your visit to torquay which is so scenic, and this hotel is a short stroll from the beach and the park.

The best 2** Hotel I have ever stayed in and if you want a 3*** room, I suggest you upgrade to the rooms that have been refurbished.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkshirelass009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Went there for 2 nights (group of 8) early september. The hotel is ok but not luxurious, however for that price you cannot find a hotel which has indoor/outdoor swimming pool, sauna, recreation room. I have look at dozens of hotels before booking there and i was surprised that it was even cheaper than most B&B around. The best thing about Cavendish Hotel is the customer service. The reception staff are always ready to help even if we thought that some of our demands would be declined they happily helped us. The grey haired guy at reception (forgot his name) was an absolute star, helped us is so many ways. The place is very quiet and most of the customers were over 50's. There are a lot of things to do around and is a short walk from the beach/harbour. They also have live music at the bar and the whole place is massive.

All in all, we all had a very pleasant break and will definitely return there next year. If you are looking for value for money in a cosy hotel with great staff, try Cavendish Hotel.

Hotel Rooms: 6/10
Facilities: 9/10
Location: 8/10
Customer Service: 10/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Entertainment: 8/10
Food: N/A
Value for money:10/10

OVERALL: 8.5/10

By Ziad Sekender

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ziadsekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can continue to offer a good service for our guests and give good value for money. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

OMG what a terrible experience never again this was a place you need to wipe your feet on the way out.......... this may seem like an exaggeration but believe me when i say it disgusting as for the so called facilities well it was said there was a restaurant mmmmmm didnt find it or were we told where it was same for the swimming pool didnt find that either but to be perfectly honest that was probably a blessing in disguise. I attempted to speak to member of staff 5 of which stood talking whilst i waited 20 minutes gave up in the end wrote my complaints down and am still waiting for acknowledgement.

Room Tip: best tip i can give is book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend break and were, frankly, quite shocked at the state of it. This hotel firmly lives in a "Basil Fawlty" era. The public areas, corridors and stairways are all decorated with different wallpaper and cheap carpet cutoffs. Ladders were leaning against walls to give the impression that some repair work was being done. In our room the net curtains had not been washed in many decades, the windows were splattered by bird droppings, the main curtain was half hanging down. The bathroom was so small, that it was impossible to shower or go to the toilet without banging your elbows and head. The lino was shabby and did not cover the whole floor, virtually everything in the bathroom and room was dirty and had clearly not seen a lick of paint or deep clean for years.
One of the worst things was the fact, that the staff were smoking outside the hotel door and chatting until 4 am in the morning, which meant that we could not open our window and which kept us awake. During breakfast the waiting staff were either constantly staring at us eating or running around hyperactively singing "this is the road to hell...".
The so called swimming pools were not fit for human use. I had a look at the outside pool and it was full of dirt and even had a bin swimming in it! How could the staff have opened the pool and not noticed this? The indoor pool was in a steamy room and looked like a hotbed for germs.
Altogether this was one of the worst hotel stays I have ever experienced. I have stayed in road side motels in the US which were of a better standard.
One of the nicest areas of the hotel was the garden, - someone had obviously spent some time and money to landscape the outside area. This money would have been better spent in giving the hotel a complete refurb.

Room Tip: leave this one alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
All we can say in response is we were inspected by the English Tourist Board earlier this year, all rooms inspected and we were rated as 2 star (some rooms were up to 3* standard). 2 Star is what we advertise ourselves at we do not tell any lies. All photos on the booking sites are genuine and if anything some rooms are better now after being redecorated. We cannot identify which room you stayed in as we cannot find a room that bad, so we also cannot comment on this. The pools are checked and cleaned every day so do not understand your comments - only thing I would say is if you stayed when we had the atrocious weather then trying to keep the outdoor pool clean then was a major headache as soon as it was cleaned it was subjected to terrible storms and leaves etc. being blown into the pool. We are constantly decorating, a room is being decorated every week of the year. Also cannot find the corridors with different wallpaper and carpet cuttofs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The staff at this hotel are very good and try to make your stay as nice as possible, however the hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. Everywhere (with the exception of the ladies bathroom in the lobby) is tired and old looking. There is dust on the top of doorways and pictures, and the carpets are tired looking and threadbare in places. The gents bathroom is located in the main bar area and provides a far from fragrant aroma whenever the door is opened. My room was small but comfortable and the linen was clean, however the toilet system was loose from the wall and the radiator was covered in rust. The loo brush was disgusting and, of course, the toilet seat was broken. There were guests walking passed my room until the early hours, then the bin men were outside at 07:30. Very noisy! The restaurant was ok and the food was acceptable. There is a lovely swimming pool area outside which would be great for families, but the numerous poor points would put me off visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not have a ground floor room, and try to be at the end of the corridor, rather than the beginning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Do not understand your comments regarding refurbishment. Yes there are areas which could do with decorating as with all large hotels. The Cavendish has been a hotel for 200 years, it is Grade II Listed which causes its own problems. It was 48 bedrooms when we first bought it, then expanded to 63 then to 96. The Main Bar Lounge was completely redecorated, new flooring, new Bar etc last year, Restaurant redecorated 2 years ago, many corridors redecorated last year. This size of hotel is constantly being decorated and unfortunately, it will never be a modern purpose built hotel. With the current economic climate and 20% VAT, 20% commission to Booking Sites, massive rise in utility and staff costs we just do not have the funds to completely refurbish in one go and can only carry on doing the best we can. As regards cleanliness - this is not acceptable
and we will certainly look into this. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#70 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#51 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#29 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing