We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavendish Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
South View(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
216
288
197
90
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
288
197
90
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstar hotelland trainwaiting staffevening mealbit datedsea frontfriendly hotelcouldn't do enoughweekend breakentertainmentalisonsingertlcbingoseafront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked cheep night away, I wished I had chosen different hotel, hotel in poor repair , room had water damage on walls and ceiling, reception staff very poor customer service, 2 plus points night porter was good, restaurant staff friendly at breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bc3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We offer excellent value for money. If you were not happy with your room, an alternative could have easily been given you only had to ask. These terrible storms have caused water ingress in places we have never had problems before. We are surprised you mention Reception poor customer service as usually we are praised on our customer service, we will review this, Constant improvement works are being carried out.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Looking at a week end in Torquay we came across this hotel on the web at a good price. I wish we hadn't bothered, the place is old and tired and seems to be kept going by coach trips. There is very poor entertainment in the evenings which seems to be designed to keep the (mainly elderly) trippers in the bar.

Room Tip: Choose one in another hotel
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EnglandTanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Obviously "elderley trippers" are going to be the main visitors of most hotels in the UK as they have more leisure time than younger guests, especially in the early season. We do, however, have a variety of ages who stay with us. We also have a wide variety of entertainment throughout the year. The hotel also has a large range of rooms, if you were not happy, you could have asked for an alternative or upgraded to one of our Luxury Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We held my wife's 70th birthday at the Cavendish. Being local people we have experienced in the past both good and bad aspects of Torquay's hospitality trade. It was the first time that we had been to the Cavendish and it exceeded all expectations. The staff were very friendly and the buffet food was excellent. There were all age groups at the party and they all agreed on it being an excellent evening. Well done the Cavendish, we shall certainly recommend you in the future.
Fred C

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your celebration at The Cavendish. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. It is much appreciated by all the family and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for one night with my husband and daughter 11 and her freind. The girls loved playing in the pool "small but clean" . Our family room was clean and every thing you needed. Will stay again if ever in Torquay. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your excellent review it is much appreciated by all the family and staff here at The Cavendish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

we have just returned from the cavendish hotel and it was total value for money, the room we had was quite large and warm and very clean ,the food was excellent fresh and plentiful the waiter was very efficient and attentive and made everyone feel at home, all the staff were excellent and nothing to Much trouble ,the hotel is a little tired but doesn't pretend to be something it's not ,we had a brilliant holiday and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and ask for a nice room ,if not satisfied when you get there speak to reception at the beginning of your holiday and don't complain if you don't
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3591Polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Cavendish. Thank for your excellent review, it is very much appreciated..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews