We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day break with coach company”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #54 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 day break with coach company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you want a relaxing holiday in clean, comfortable and friendly surroundings visit the
Cavendish. Stayed at this hotel from 10-14 March and wish we could have stayed longer.
My husband and I went with four friends and we all agreed that it was one of the best holidays we have had. Our rooms were well-decorated and spotlessly clean, the food in the restaurant was very good and sufficient choice for all our needs and the restaurant staff were very efficient. Must say - compliments to the chef! One highlight of our stay was a trip to Babbacombe Theatre - a must if you like good music and dancing. It was a long journey from the North-East but well worth it. Thank you to the Manager and staff for looking after us so well.






Cavendish

Room Tip: Ask for room 128! Spacious, well-decorated and a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
The Family and Staff would like to thank you for your excellent review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    213
    149
    59
    106
See reviews for
173
242
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

we stayed here for the weekend as part of our skittles weekend, as there were several people in our team i had looked at a few rooms, all of them were very clean, the single rooms were in need of modernization but nothing more. the rest of the hotel was fine and the downstairs was well decorated. the food was very nice and the portion sizes were good too, our waitress was amazing and along with the rest of the staff, were very friendly and helpful. the only one thing that was a slight problem was that their was a new bar for the ballroom, it wasnt sufficiently stocked, and could have done with an extra bar tender as we hadto wait quite a long time to get a drink. we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and i would have no hesitation in staying again.

Helpful?
5 Thank margyandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Cavendish and thank you for taking the trouble to write such a positive review, it is very much appreciated by all the family and staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I plus our 7 year old foster child stayed here during the half - term week and had a really enjoyable time. The hotel did look in need of a bit of TLC from the main road but inside the room was good, the staff were all excellent and the food alone was worth the price we paid. We made full use of the heated indoor pool, the location was ideal with just a short stroll down to the quay and beach, and its quite central for many attractions. Reading some of the previous unfair comments I would have thought they must have stayed somewhere else. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkert9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Just to say really enjoyed myself and my bf when we stayed at your hotel on the 21st -23rd February we were with the Coombe crowd! We both had amazing time! Excellent service and friendly staff, the entertainment was good too esp the guy call Bruce who we seen on the Friday night, he was very funny and great singer..He made our weekend the best one..so thank you very much i recommend tour hotel to anyone cos I would definitely stay there again! See you all again :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel Last weekend 21st Feb, it was a party of 50 I must say we had the best time.yes the rooms are in need of modernisation but did not stop us having fun the breakfast was nice and so was dinner but I think Paul your waiter had a lot to go with that made us all feel so comfy with his banter, would stay again I really enjoyed my visit thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy1965_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm not sure what people are looking for in hotels, but after reading the reviews here I'm wondering what your all looking for, you all seem to be tripadvisor experts? Ok the hotel does need updating but it's clean and friendly. As for people moaning about the decor in the rooms, surely when you go on holiday you only use it as a place to sleep,or maybe watch a bit of t.v. if not then maybe book a cottage/villa/caravan which would be suited to your needs as it would be self catering. I'm sure that when I book a hotel it's obvious by the price that it's not five star. On the flip side of this when I booked in I did find the lady on reception a bit vague as the hotel is quite big and she just pointed to the bar and resturant. I also never took the meals here (although included) as the times are very limitied.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked cheep night away, I wished I had chosen different hotel, hotel in poor repair , room had water damage on walls and ceiling, reception staff very poor customer service, 2 plus points night porter was good, restaurant staff friendly at breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bc3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We offer excellent value for money. If you were not happy with your room, an alternative could have easily been given you only had to ask. These terrible storms have caused water ingress in places we have never had problems before. We are surprised you mention Reception poor customer service as usually we are praised on our customer service, we will review this, Constant improvement works are being carried out.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#59 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing