We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value,friendly,and helpful.”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #55 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very good sized family room giving our children easy access to a great play area. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Food was very good. Beds very comfy giving us a very good night's sleep, which we normally find a problem with most hotels that we stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChrisandMel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here with my elderly father, daughter and her partner and children. We had a wonderful time and was looked after very well by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was very clean and the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The food was also very nice and good quality. I'll be booking again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from a five day break to this hotel, with UK Breakaways holidays. The hotel from the outside is very bleak, the inside is a little better, the bedroom we had was small for a double room, you opened the door and had to step to one side to let the other person in, the other side of the bed had a two inch gap between the wall and the end of the bed. The first night in the bed was like sleeping on a bed of stones(lumps all over the bed you could even feel the springs). Next morning we complained at reception they had the mattress replaced good nights sleep after that. Meals were really good plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meals. The hotel is very handy for the town center and local bus services. indoor pool seemed ok but did not use, outdoor pool was out of commission due to the bad weather early in the year. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Plenty of free parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: the bigger rooms seem to be on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ethelfleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

as a return visitor to this hotel ,i was perfectly satisfied with the standards of cleanliness ,quality of meals and the location of this hotel only a short walk to the beach and the railway station. the location is a quiet one and doesn't suffer from roudy stags/hens at the weeekends like hotels closer to the town .so therefore is better suited to couples,families and older folks. since my last visit it is obvious that much improvement work has been done here and you can not fault the helpfulness and enthusiasm of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 children, and had a great time. The room was clean and comfortable, the food was great and the staff were very helpful.
The hotel is in a great location (5 min walk from beach) and we also got the land train straight outside the hotel, which takes u into town (if you're feeling too lazy to walk!)
I don't understand the other reviews on here, were they staying somewhere else??!! it really was great value for money. We would definitely return and would recomended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hmhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. It was lovely to see you and your family again. Your children were so well behaved and congratulations on your new baby girl . Thank you for choosing to stay at The Cavendish once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights, the welcome on arrival was very friendly, all of the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly. The meals were good and the staff were helpful with special food requirements. Entertainment was excellent and the room was clean, we both had excellent nights sleep. This hotel is excellent value for money. We noticed that the suite of family rooms near the dining room were very spacious with easy access to the play area/garden. We definitely hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Take no notice of the complainers after the event. If you have a problem tell the staff and they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us again if you plan another visit to Torquay in the future. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a weekend. I'd love to give this hotel a good review but I cannot lie, we thought it was grubby and run down. We won't be returning. It was a very cheap stay but you pay for what you get. Staff are friendly enough though.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Colette1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay and the hotel did not live up to your expectation. We do not know what you were disappointed with perhaps if you had brought it to our attention we could have rectified it during your stay. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 85 in Torquay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £36 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing