We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Neath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely staff - especially in dining room - food quite good for price paid and alcohol reasonably priced for a hotel- room was so extremely small and in need of decoration but only slept there after all. Had to pay a single room supplement which does not make sense as you could only fit one person in there so don't see why they charge a supplement. Bed was very comfortable and lovely quality on bedding, pillows etc, did get a lovely sleep - except one night when the music went on until 1am. Did complain and this did not happen again. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevieaNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    213
    148
    59
    106
See reviews for
172
242
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Im gonna start with the good points .. the food was superb the alcohol and soft drink was reasonably priced thats it. I know that this place is a 2* hotel but does that give it the right to have unsatisfactory cleanliness I think not the bathroom stank of sewage the shower was more of a drip the bathroom vinyl was filthy with dirt around the poorly fitted edges and mold on the blind the room was even worse stained carpets (who layed your carpets throughout the hotel id ask for a full refund every carpet has been poorly fitted raising up all over the gaff) mould on the walls and on the net curtains 60's decor filthy bed sheet on one of the beds the day we arrived not changed throughout our stay not a hoover or sheet change the whole time whe were there. ANTS there was ants everywhere dont know what causes this but there everywhere in the room not somewhere I wanted stay to be honest even at 2* ... you get what you pay for ... I dont care worst hotel ive stayed in and ive stayed in some right pig farms

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
17 Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Cavendish and had a wonderful time. We are regular visitors to the Hotel and always stay in the same family room which overlooks the sea and is situated in the turret so makes us feel like we are in a castle! The games room is fabulous and kept my children amused for many hours. Great location to access all amenities. Staff are relaxed, efficient and courteous. Nothing is too much trouble. Paul is a character and always makes our stay entertaining - our aim is to convert him to a Chelsea fan!! The resident rabbit was a bit hit with us being a rabbit mad family! The food is plentiful and the menu varied. Great value for money - already planning our return visit. Thanks to ALL staff. Sarah, Amber and Ben

Room Tip: Room 212 makes you fell like you are in a castle - great for children who want to feel like a prince...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights and our first room (number 9) was excellent (apart from our issue no fault to the owners of Cavendish) it was clean, with the bedding changed frequently, no dust visable and the bathroom spotless. Also, others have said that the decor and rooms were outdated but we had all the facilities we needed. The staff were EXTREMELY nice and helpful with anything we asked. The pool was lovely anf clean and the water was warm. Due to circumstances we were moved to room 14, (a luxury room) with a beautiful balcony and big 4 poster bed which was excellent. I would also just like to thank all the staff for being so considerate towards us and we in no way hold it against you & will like to come back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hollylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

As a regular customer once again had a good stay food excellent, staff friendly and attentive, rooms always clean and are being upgraded on an ongoing basis. Hotel in an excellent position for Torquay town centre, buses and the train station.

Ron & Angela Bent

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements when booking staff are always helpful if you don't like your room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very good sized family room giving our children easy access to a great play area. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Food was very good. Beds very comfy giving us a very good night's sleep, which we normally find a problem with most hotels that we stay in.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrisandMel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here with my elderly father, daughter and her partner and children. We had a wonderful time and was looked after very well by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was very clean and the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The food was also very nice and good quality. I'll be booking again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing