We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We (my Mum, 3 sisters and I) stayed at the Cavendish for 3 nights for my Mums 90th birthday. Although the hotel needs a bit of updating, the rooms were clean and the bedding was spotless, which is the main thing for me. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels left. All staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and plenty of it. We were looked after by Alex in the dining room, who was great, as were all the staff. They all made such a fuss of Mum on the day of her birthday. Even offered to go and collect the cake we'd pre ordered !! The pools looked great although we didn't use them, a lot of people did.We ordered packed lunches for the journey home which were lovely. Can't fault the staff but hotel rooms need some TLC. Looking forward to watching The Hotel next year as the Cavendish are to be featured on it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    205
    144
    55
    106
See reviews for
159
236
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here on a 4 day deal and were very pleasantly surprised at the old fashioned charm of the place. We were told that it was going to be quiet because there were not many guests staying that week, and that was indeed the case, but that in itself meant that the service, especially in the dining room, was very personal. The serving staff went out of their way to make sure everything was as required and nothing was too much trouble for them, the food was very tasty and all served with a smile and witty banter.
Okay, the rooms may not be large, and parts of the hotel could do with some TLC, but it was very clean, the water was very hot and the bed was comfortable.
We did not use the swimming pool so cannot comment on that from personal use, but another guest told us that it was very clean and warm and very enjoyable.
There was free parking at the front of the hotel and the fact that the bus stop was just across the road meant that we were able to travel around by bus and leave the car saving the cost of car parking.
We would definitely stay here again, especially if we managed to get another good deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel twice, and recently April and May, and remembering this is a two star Hotel it is remarkable value for money and facilities, the food is excellent and the service too. If there are requests and observations these are dealt with at once. Nothing is too much trouble for the Hotel Owners ( and their staff) , a Hotel family whose commitment is evident in their willingness to attend to guests every request. especially In this day and age with their costs going up, I don't know how they offer such value. It is outstanding in Torquay because so many local Hotels offering low prices to attract custom with resultant poor facilities and service.Thus so many are disappointed. This Hotel offers almost everything, including a clean well maintained Swimming Pool , sauna etc - We have stayed personally, and we are also organising an 85+ Person Navy Veterans stay in October. We have every confidence after adverse results in the past elsewhere in Torquay. Recently (May '13) as a family with young children ( baby too) we had an emergency in Torquay,. with a member of our family in Hospital. We turned up in the morning asking for breakfast and accommodation, and they were a refuge indeed, in our predicament. Laying on breakfast and rest immediately.We regularly attend Torquay for Theatre trips, and after finding this Hotel, we shall not be going elsewhere. Highly recommended.Looking forward to our Reunion in October too, now having had this double experience.
We have stayed Twice before in April and also May 2014.

Room Tip: It is a large Hotels with many rooms available, ask to see the rooms on offer,I am sure they will le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 186220Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, to see family in nearby Paignton. The hotel is extremely tired; with bathrooms in a very poor state, along with a fair percentage of the hotel. I have never stayed in 2star accommodation, and can only say that for what we paid, to include 'dinner' and 'breakfast' was over and above what it was worth. We couldn't face the dining room a second day; the food being pretty inedible. The children are used to good food, and they couldn't eat the meal, or breakfast the following day; the quality being of unacceptably low standard. Chose to eat out for dinner and breakfast. The residents that we spoke to felt the same, and if it were my business, I would shut the hotel completely for a refurb of whatever could be afforded. The gentlemen at reception were extremely kind though, and looked as if they would have loved to have been alot busier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dadto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night. Arrived quite late and got checked in relatively easy. The rooms were very very basic and in dire need of upgrading, although they were clean! The room we had smelled vaguely of cigarette smoke hence the need for upgrading! Breakfast the next day was okay, the waiter approached our table to ask if we wanted tea or coffee, took my family's order for tea and I never even got the chance to ask for coffee as he was off. He delivered the tea and when my mum asked him for a coffee too he put his hand up to silence her! Very rude! We then asked for ketchup and are still waiting! Would I go back? No.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Cavendish hotel. This is the first time we have stayed in a 2* hotel and it was very good stay. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but from what we did see it was very good. The reception staff were very friendly and polite when we checked in and checked out. We stayed in room #2 it was comfortable and clean with new carpet and we had a shower and bath. This hotel is in a very good location within walking distance of the beach and the town. Another good aspect about this hotel is that it has it's own large on site car park which you can use for free. If you park in town it can get quite expensive if you are spending the day or evening there and you have to keep checking the time to make sure you don't over run your time in the car park. So this was very handy and saved us money. Overall this hotel was very good value for money. I have often stayed in 3* hotels that wasn't as good as this. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenJ23EastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely staff - especially in dining room - food quite good for price paid and alcohol reasonably priced for a hotel- room was so extremely small and in need of decoration but only slept there after all. Had to pay a single room supplement which does not make sense as you could only fit one person in there so don't see why they charge a supplement. Bed was very comfortable and lovely quality on bedding, pillows etc, did get a lovely sleep - except one night when the music went on until 1am. Did complain and this did not happen again. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevieaNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing