We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifesavers”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I would just like to say a massive thank you to the staff in this hotel for coming to our rescue after another hotel would not let me and my family stay when we travelled down from Sunderland to attend the Miss England finals. Myself, My Mam and Sister in law had a lovely stay here. We stayed for three nights and we could not fault the hotel. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our 1st stay at The Cavendish Hotel, after looking for something near to the seafront at Torquay.
My mother and I had a nice 4 day break, she needed a rest after a short illness.
On arrival we was greeted by a friendly staff who were to cater for our needs for the week.
We had Room 8, a twin room (ground Floor) with a balcony overlooking the outdoor swimming pool, we found the room to be clean and would suit our needs for the week.
We had heard reports about the hotel not being great, but we could understand there were some problems, what with the storms earlier this year, there was some maintenance issues and some damage outside with the property, but it was being dealt with.
The positives were VFM, adequate, location, helpfulness of staff, comfort and clean,
the negatives evening meal not great, the lifts not working on all floors, the outside pool, not clean
but all these negatives are being put right, after speaking with the owner Andy, so overall if you want a cheap, affordable and relaxing break the cavendish is OK

Room Tip: Most rooms are a good size, ours was Room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

30 of our members from The Bicester Ex Servicemans Club stayed from Friday till Monday in May and could not have had a better time in any other hotel
From our welcome on arrival and the service at the bar from Doug to the waiting staff in the restaurant you would not get better service anywhere
A big thank you to all

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank 6,239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We (my Mum, 3 sisters and I) stayed at the Cavendish for 3 nights for my Mums 90th birthday. Although the hotel needs a bit of updating, the rooms were clean and the bedding was spotless, which is the main thing for me. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels left. All staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and plenty of it. We were looked after by Alex in the dining room, who was great, as were all the staff. They all made such a fuss of Mum on the day of her birthday. Even offered to go and collect the cake we'd pre ordered !! The pools looked great although we didn't use them, a lot of people did.We ordered packed lunches for the journey home which were lovely. Can't fault the staff but hotel rooms need some TLC. Looking forward to watching The Hotel next year as the Cavendish are to be featured on it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here on a 4 day deal and were very pleasantly surprised at the old fashioned charm of the place. We were told that it was going to be quiet because there were not many guests staying that week, and that was indeed the case, but that in itself meant that the service, especially in the dining room, was very personal. The serving staff went out of their way to make sure everything was as required and nothing was too much trouble for them, the food was very tasty and all served with a smile and witty banter.
Okay, the rooms may not be large, and parts of the hotel could do with some TLC, but it was very clean, the water was very hot and the bed was comfortable.
We did not use the swimming pool so cannot comment on that from personal use, but another guest told us that it was very clean and warm and very enjoyable.
There was free parking at the front of the hotel and the fact that the bus stop was just across the road meant that we were able to travel around by bus and leave the car saving the cost of car parking.
We would definitely stay here again, especially if we managed to get another good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jamesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel twice, and recently April and May, and remembering this is a two star Hotel it is remarkable value for money and facilities, the food is excellent and the service too. If there are requests and observations these are dealt with at once. Nothing is too much trouble for the Hotel Owners ( and their staff) , a Hotel family whose commitment is evident in their willingness to attend to guests every request. especially In this day and age with their costs going up, I don't know how they offer such value. It is outstanding in Torquay because so many local Hotels offering low prices to attract custom with resultant poor facilities and service.Thus so many are disappointed. This Hotel offers almost everything, including a clean well maintained Swimming Pool , sauna etc - We have stayed personally, and we are also organising an 85+ Person Navy Veterans stay in October. We have every confidence after adverse results in the past elsewhere in Torquay. Recently (May '13) as a family with young children ( baby too) we had an emergency in Torquay,. with a member of our family in Hospital. We turned up in the morning asking for breakfast and accommodation, and they were a refuge indeed, in our predicament. Laying on breakfast and rest immediately.We regularly attend Torquay for Theatre trips, and after finding this Hotel, we shall not be going elsewhere. Highly recommended.Looking forward to our Reunion in October too, now having had this double experience.
We have stayed Twice before in April and also May 2014.

Room Tip: It is a large Hotels with many rooms available, ask to see the rooms on offer,I am sure they will le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186220Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, to see family in nearby Paignton. The hotel is extremely tired; with bathrooms in a very poor state, along with a fair percentage of the hotel. I have never stayed in 2star accommodation, and can only say that for what we paid, to include 'dinner' and 'breakfast' was over and above what it was worth. We couldn't face the dining room a second day; the food being pretty inedible. The children are used to good food, and they couldn't eat the meal, or breakfast the following day; the quality being of unacceptably low standard. Chose to eat out for dinner and breakfast. The residents that we spoke to felt the same, and if it were my business, I would shut the hotel completely for a refurb of whatever could be afforded. The gentlemen at reception were extremely kind though, and looked as if they would have loved to have been alot busier.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dadto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 86 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 86 in Torquay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 86 in Torquay
965 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £42 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing