We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely trip well worth the money”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Had a lovely break between Christmas and the New Year. Travelled with David Urguart Holidays. Nice hotel, room was clean with lots of hot water. Maids cleaned daily leaving clean towels every day. Food was quite good as was the entertainment. Overall was a nice break except for the rain on the second day but that is down to the weather not the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elabeeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed at the Cavendish for 3 nights in October. We had a lovely time, our room was comfortable, we had a problem with the tv but tv was changed straight away. The hotel is very big with lots of character and nice lounge areas to relax in. The food and entertainment was first class. The staff were very friendly, courteous and nothing was too much trouble we felt we really made some nice friends. We will definitely go back to the Cavendish next year and would not hesitate to recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend, had a lovely stay and the hotel was spotless. The staff were really friendly could not ask for better service, The food was lovely, the hotel was always warm including the pool. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

read some bad comments about the hotel,feel after are visit we feel they were very unjust comments ,found the staff friendly and very helpful ,entertainment very good and food was lovely would go and stay there again .

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traffie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Service not professional at all. On arrival there was no welcome, receptionist just doled out room keys pointed to a man and said he will point out where your rooms are. Staff scruffy and not helpful. Our rooms were dirty, scruffy, very dated, the windows were broken, bathrooms same didn't even use shower because didn't stay long enough. Dining room was in the basement was same dirty, scruffy and I forgot to mention throughout the hotel there was an awful odour, it was particularly worse in my room for some reason. Hotel was not near sea as I was lead to believe and was a long walk from the front. All in all I would say don't even consider going to stay there, the place needs demolishing and rebuilding.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This hotel exceeded all expectations, where else can you get all this for the money we paid. I've travelled all over the world from the Caribbean to Newquay, 2* to 5* and i'd like to think i know my hotels. This hotel obviously isn't the ritz so if you expect 5* then don't go. As a 2 star hotel goes though this is well above average. I don't understand all the prevouse comments. I mean what do you want for £25 - £30 a night, Four course evening meal with good variety, Full English breakfast , good live entertainment nightly and probably the friendliest staff i've ever experienced in a hotel. Thank you once agin for a great holiday. We will definatley be returning in the new year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cimorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I stayed at this hotel in Sept. with a large coach party. It is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Take notice of the awful reviews on this site because every one is true (and then some). I cannot imagine the standards of the people who have put good reviews on the site.

The room we stayed in had the most awful stench and there was a damp patch on the ceiling which became worse after overnight rain. We walked up 6 flights of stairs rather than use the lift because it was so small and, again, had the same horrible smell. The hotel's answer to our complaint about the smell in the room was to spray it with a cheap aerosol.

On one of the landings there was a large damp patch next to a light fitting. There were spores growing on the patch and the corridor smelt terrible. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the carpet in many parts of the hotel was filthy. Some of the bannisters were loose and in the event of a fire it would be like a maize trying to find your way out. There were cupboards on the landings with dirty linen spilling from them.

I could not wait to get home. The kennels we left the dog in was like a 5 star hotel compared to this. Dont go there !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank twirliemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 86 in Torquay
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 86 in Torquay
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 86 in Torquay
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing