We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great venue for an organised trip to south Devon and beyond”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Midlands
1 review
“A Great venue for an organised trip to south Devon and beyond”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

A good choice by the coach holiday company this is a well appointed, well run establishment with good facilities and extremely helpful staff. Excellent food was served at all meal times both promptly and courteously. The Cavendish is in a great location for touring the south Devon coast and provided good quality entertainment for those who did not want to venture out in the evenings. If there is one slight blemish, which is the reason for only 4 stars on service, it is that there was an absence of porterage to help with luggage when the lift broke down.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TooManyPeopleHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    248
    169
    73
    127
See reviews for
208
294
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The hotel was in easy reach yo sea front and shopping facilities,the room was clean,spacious but basic,the entertainment and amenities were very good,the staff were very polite and efficient,food was exellent to.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2010

me and my family stayed here for a weekend in september 2009, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the cavendish hotel dispite reading very negative reviews before we went, we personally could not fault the hotel on cleanliness,hygeine and value for money.
on the day we arrived we was greeted by a very bubbly receptionist , i think her name was sara and the manager who was a very freindly young man (maybe he should lose the earings though). the food in the restaurant was also of excellant quality and entainment was acceptable.
mr p

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Had a lovely break between Christmas and the New Year. Travelled with David Urguart Holidays. Nice hotel, room was clean with lots of hot water. Maids cleaned daily leaving clean towels every day. Food was quite good as was the entertainment. Overall was a nice break except for the rain on the second day but that is down to the weather not the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elabeeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed at the Cavendish for 3 nights in October. We had a lovely time, our room was comfortable, we had a problem with the tv but tv was changed straight away. The hotel is very big with lots of character and nice lounge areas to relax in. The food and entertainment was first class. The staff were very friendly, courteous and nothing was too much trouble we felt we really made some nice friends. We will definitely go back to the Cavendish next year and would not hesitate to recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend, had a lovely stay and the hotel was spotless. The staff were really friendly could not ask for better service, The food was lovely, the hotel was always warm including the pool. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

read some bad comments about the hotel,feel after are visit we feel they were very unjust comments ,found the staff friendly and very helpful ,entertainment very good and food was lovely would go and stay there again .

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traffie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#73 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 87 in Torquay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing