We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome and helpful staff with good entertainment and service”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 15 September 2010

After a long journey we recieved a friendly welcome and were made comfortable in the lounge whilst our cases were taken to our rooms and staff were there on hand to direct us to the rooms allocated. In some cases the rooms were not suitable - due to disability - and the staff politely rearranged our accommodation to suit. The menu was excellent and meals tastfully prepared and served on time by pleasant staff. Theindoor and outdoor pools were of a good standard as was the evening entertainment. The hotel is situated not far from the sea front which is accessable by either bus or land train as are the main shopping malls which are pedestrianised. There is lots to do locally and we visited nearby Paignton, Brixham and Dartmouth where we enjoyed a river cruise. A lovely holiday Thanks to all at the Cavendish Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndaloo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

Hotel was cheap but comfortable, Food was varied but luke warm, restaurant staff were on hand but reluctant to participate.
Rooms were clean but dated.
Evening entertainment was welcomed but uniformed.
Reception staff helpful apart from owner's family members who were anything but.

Guideline. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WallaseyVisiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

first time in torquay really liked this hotel ,had a very relaxed feel about it, meals were good there was something on menu to suit everyone
(even me). Bar staff very friendly and welcoming,entertainment not brilliant but was ok, would definitely go back to this hotel as the location was great for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker186527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Yes this hotel is in need of refurbishment but that is why it only has a 2 star rating. If you want a romantic or special holiday then this hotel is not for you but if you want a cheap and cheerful holiday with your kids then it is. We booked a family room for 4 nights half board for 2 adults and 3 children. Unfortunately when we arrived at the hotel the room was only made up for 2 adults and 2 children and there was only 2 bath and 2 hand towels. We spoke to the receptionist called Kiera and explained the situation. She was very apologetic and within a couple of minutes she was in our room with bedding and towels and then proceeded to make up the 5th bed. Our waitress was called Jodene and we couldn't have asked for anyone better. The food was to a good standard with plenty of choice. The kids menu was the usual nuggets, fish fingers etc but if you so wish the kids can have the same meal as you at no extra cost. Our 3 children aged 4, 8 and 16 throughly enjoyed their food at breakfast and in the evening. The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Again the room isn't modern and in need of decorating (but it is clean) and lets be honest how much time do you actually spend in your room! The kids enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool (the outdoor pool isn't heated tho). Me and my partner enjoyed the sauna. The beach is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel .We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Cavendish and will hopefully return next year. All members of staff that we came in contact with were freindly and very helpful. Yes we would like to see some changes made but then if they make too many changes their prices would have to increase and therefore we would not beable to afford to stay with 3 children.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzieanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

terrible,we travelled with a coach party and to be honest they didnt do themselves any favours we wont be back with them.This hotel needs to be closed down and rebuilt ,i know it is only a 2* hotel but this is beyond ajoke ,water coming in through our room wall (we were not alone other guests were told that the hotel could not control the weather !) our carpets could have done with a clean ,the bathroom ;lino was ripped floorboards all over the hotel were loose the stairs down to the inside pool were a joke i could go on and on but im sure you get the picture.
On a positive note the food was okay ,our waiter ABDUL was fantastic nothing was to much bother for him.Hotel awas in a great position ,within walking distance of beach,harbour.and main shopping area .
My husband and I took our mothers here for a week and were so dissappointed for them as this was their main holiday . We most certainly wont be back.
stewart-lynn, Ayr Scotland

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stewart-lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

we were very disappointed with the standard of the hotel . had booked via the hotels own website where the hotel looked a lot better . The hotel is in need of modernisation and all rooms badly need decorating and updating. The first family room we were allocated was disgusting, dirty and furnished from the early 1970`s. We asked to be moved but was told the manager was not available until the next day . The next day the manager agreed to change our room but the upgrade was again very basic but this time it was clean - food is poor quality and small portions , childrens menu is terrible , indoor swimming pool was filthy , outdoor pool has\seen better days, would recommend that hotel is closed and refurbished or hotel website is revised and pictures removed in order not to give travellers a false impression - dont stay here with children

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peppapig97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The hotel really is tired to say the least, the staff try hard to please but they are flogging a dead horse! We had to change rooms because there wasn't any water in the shower for 2 days, we were upgraded! this room was bigger with a diggie box bath and overhead shower but as I sat on the bed the headboard fell on me, also the curtains were hanging by only 3 hooks. There is so many jobs needing doing, also the electric went off for 1/2 hour!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#76 of 85 in Torquay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £34 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing