We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL WAS AN ICE BOX”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #54 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Hollingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THIS HOTEL WAS AN ICE BOX”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This hotel needs a lot of money spent on it
The rest of our party were very cold and we nearly had a whip round for a shilling for the meter..........
There was no swiming pool or should i say it was green with mould.
The food was sometimes a joke

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank very_isappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Cavendish, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for your review.

You'll be pleased to hear that we are currently upgrading our main bar and completing an extensive renovation of the public areas in the Paignton Wing. The new bar is going to look fantastic, with a new laminate floor, stage etc as well as new toilets in reception. We are a family business and unlike the big chains we do not have millions of pounds to spend at the drop of a hat, but we work very hard on improving our hotel.

I feel the comments regarding the place being cold are somewhat unfair considering this was right in the middle of Devon's coldest snap for decades! Although we have good boilers servicing all areas we bought extra portable heaters which we gave out as needed to anyone who reported being cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    253
    173
    73
    127
See reviews for
212
296
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My third visit to this hotel this year. During first visit I became friends with some of the staff in the bar, restaurant, reception also one of the entertainers. On both other visit those people welcomed me as a friend, which naturally made me feel very welcome. I also made more friends and thoroughly enjoyed my visit, as did my friend. All the staff are friendly, ready and willing to help in any way possible, I am looking forward to my next visit to Torquay and my stay in the Cavendish. The hotel has 3 lifts, easy access top reception, an indoor and outdoor pool, also a Sauna. Bar prices are reasonable, with quick and friendly service, as well as the restaurant, with good food and good friendly service. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl_reynolds39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I have just returned from a weekend at the above hotel, before I went, having read some of the reviews I was apprehensive, however, the hotel was excellent value for the money, rooms were warm and comfortable, food very good, and without exception the staff were very friendly and helpful...one lady fell and hurt her leg, and they administered first aid, got her to hospital and served food in her room the next day.
My only grumble is - I had to pay an £11 supplement for a single room, which was very small and the window faced another wall, so it was rather dark all the time, however it was comfortable and warm and the bath water always hot....the price we paid wouldnt have covered a Christmas meal at some hotels., and it included coach travel and trips out.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErlanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This is a hotel in need of millions being spent on it.cheap and very nasty ! You get what you pay for - pay a little more and go somewhere else

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Setrabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Milford Haven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2010

All OK, ezcept, the toilet was a little too small. Room clean, housekeeping on the ball. Meals were great. If you get the waiter we had (Emma) She will see that you want for nothing. Look for tabel No. 50.

All in all, it was great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferrallblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Maybe the worst hotel in torquay and probably the worst one I've stayed in the UK. Definitely not to be visited again.The twin room was absolutely tiny and we felt cramped including the shower which was so small I kept knocking the control from freezing to "scalding".Throughout our stay we kept bumping into one another and felt very claustrophobic.Getting to sleep at night was impossible even though we did not go to bed very early. The cause of the noise came from the bar directly below our room.They played music & karaoke every night except line dancing night which was held in another room, but on this night a group arrived back from the theatre at 10.30 to drink at the bar and they sang til very late!I had to purchase ear plugs so that I'd be somewhat awake the next day and could escape!
To balance things up food was edible but not to a great standard which was no surprise due to the packaged coach trip.Restaurant staff were very keen & helpful but I believe this was thought of as being above & beyond their basic duty and a reward was expected at the end of the stay.Just because it was cheaper than other hotels doesn't mean it has to be nasty as well in this day and age.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy-in-the-sky-diam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Hotel was ok, all staff friendly.
Room was in need of a makeover, both window sash cord had broken, so window kept open with a piece of MDF, carpet needed a good shampoo. Beds were comfortable with crisp clean sheets.
Restaurant was fine, food was very good & plenty of it with a good choice of starters , mains & desserts.
I went with my mum (76) we ended up at the hotel at the start of their 'Turkey & Tinsell' season.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#74 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
943 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 87 in Torquay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing