We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find.”
Review of Kelvin House Hotel

Kelvin House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelvin House Hotel
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at Kelvin House from 15/5/14 until 18/5/14. Wonderful place to stay,the house is immaculate.Owners Karl& Sharon are two of the nicest people you could meet,nothing was to much trouble for them.Breakfast was delicious and you had a choice ,we opted for the full English and when I say full I'm not joking, if we are ever down that way again I know where we will be staying.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank taf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Kelvin House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We found this hotel through trip advisor and were not disappointed. Our room was the superior room. ( no 4) and it was spacious and very clean, with all facilities. The owners were lovely and very friendly and informative.
We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Torquay over the last few years, some of which were of higher rating and quite pricey in comparison but this will be our choice in the future. The breakfasts were superb and we felt very relaxed. Great value for money and a very pleasant stay. Thanks Sharon and Carl. We will be booking again very soon.!

Room Tip: Room 4. Spacious and looking out to front of hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My girlfriend and i needed to go to Torquay, and after a bit of review reading we stayed at Kelvin House on the 25+26/10/2013, and what a great choice was made.We was running very late and was due to arrive after 9.00 pm, spoke to carl and it was not an problem.
The room was spotlessly clean and was very nicely decorated.Its obvious Carl and Sharon are very fussy and passionate about their hotel, and it shows !!
Breakfast was spot on, the full english was perfect and a great choice of cereals, yoghurts, juice etc.
Many thanks to Carl and Sharon for a great stay in a beautiful hotel. We thoroughly recommend Kelvin House , and we are planning to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr-shifter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from quick 2 night stay at Kelvin House in order to see Joe McElderry at the Princess Theatre on Saturday night. Joe was great and so was the Kelvin House. The room (room 1) was spotless with all facilities. There is a massive lounge with comfortable, reclining seating and large screen TV. We had specifically asked for a ground floor room because of our mobility problems which the owners, Carl and Sharon, supplied. They certainly could not have been more helpful and friendly. The (full english) breakfast set us up for the day. A very good place for a stay in Torquay, Well recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are on the ground floor if you have mobility issues, although there are about 7 or 8...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this online, which sometimes can be a bit hit and miss but this was a definite hit!
The couple who run it were so friendly and helpful, always smiling and chatting, they gave us tips on where to eat and drink.
The room itself was spotless, the cleanest place we've ever stayed, everything was of a very high standard, it's obvious that these lovely people take great pride in their work and their beautiful house.
We are already planning our next weekend away to kelvin house and can't wait. I would highly recommend this wonderful place to everyone

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollyanna1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

our weather was good so decided on a few days away in torquay we are so pleased to book the kelvin house hotel ! we had a lovely stay carl and sharon made us so welcome. this b&b is a lovely clean and homely place to stay and an excellent breakfast . we would like to recommend this hotel and thanks to u both.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This small hotel is absolutely spotless and well maintained. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our mini break in Torquay and this was due, in no small way, to the owners of the Kelvin. Carl is a delightful man who was a mine of helpful information, which he readily shared with us. His wife Sharon was never without a cheerful smile and both ensured that our stay was truly memorable. Of special note were the breakfasts. Although all the usual suspects (cereals, croissants, etc) were available, we opted for the freshly cooked to order full English - and what a good choice. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#23 of 87 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 87 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#28 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin House Hotel

Address: 46 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelvin House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing