We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louise you are brill and yours hotel is lovely”
Review of Allerdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allerdale Hotel
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Louise you are brill and yours hotel is lovely”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The whole week end was a pleasure due to the wonderful accommodation and great people who are involved in your business.
This was the first trip away from home with our dog and you made us and dog so welcome. A big thank you for that.
We arrived late but that was not a problem - Louise sorted out a take away for us
Wanted something to eat on Saturday - Louise made sandwiches and chips for us
The food used for the breakfast was of good quality and ladies that served were very great
The rooms were clean and comfortable
The gardens and the walk to the beach was great for our dog
Thank for everything

Room Tip: clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was the best experience we have had in a British hotel for a number of years. The friendly service we received from Louise, the family and the rest of the staff was excellent. The friendly atmosphere of the hotel was felt as soon as you walked in the door.
The breakfasts and evening meal were freshly cooked and offered excellent variety. The bar was very pleasant with a great deal of friendly banter and very reasonable prices. There is a small snooker table (3/4 size I belief).
The lounge was very nice with beautiful curtains and comfy seating.
The room was very clean and a lot larger than we have experienced in previous hotels. The room was fully supplied with teas/coffee's and bathroom accessories. The beds were very comfortable allowing one of the best nights sleep for a while. There was sufficient space to allow perfumes and make up to be on display rather than having to open luggage and repack every time you went out.
The hotel gardens are beautiful and very quiet. There is a private path/walkway of about 300 yards that leads straight to the sea. This can get dark late in the evening but is very well maintained.
If you were to wish to visit the shops there is a small walk to the main shopping area of about 5 minutes.
We used the hotel as a base to visit various attractions in the South West.
All in all it was a thoroughly excellent stay thanks Louise and Margaret

Room Tip: Front and side rooms have excellent views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My wife and I have just very much enjoyed a four night break in the Allerdale. We were made to feel very welcome by the family who own and run the hotel, nothing was to much trouble for Louise (the manageress). Our room was extremely clean and comfortable with everything that we needed. This is our third enjoyabe break at this hotel and we have already arranged another one. The Hotel is well situated for us being close to the town and the sea front. We also enjoyed the hospitality in the bar, which we found to be very reasonably priced. There is also a comfortable large lounge overlooking the gardens which is very pleasant to sit and relax in.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Sue_D24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Had a great time. Family run, very friendly nothing is too much bother. Rooms spacious and clean, food excellent, choice of menu good. Have stayed here on numerous occasions and never been dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank showsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Wonderful family run hotel. Can't rate the manageress high enough - she was perfect in every way. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Bar stays open until you've had enough. All good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courthmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2010

we had a very enjoyable 4 days stay, felt so at home, we could not fault anything rooms so clean everything kept lovely. lovely breakfast each morning. The staff very welcoming the owner louise so friendley felt like we had known her for years we had some lovely nights at the bar,drinking real ale great.If we go to torquay again with out question allerdale hotel would be the place to stay. thankyou dave and liz x x

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney123186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The warm welcome received at the start of our four days here continued throughout our stay. The bedroom had a nice view through the trees of the bay (it also gave us a fantastic view of the fireworks for regatta week), was more than adequate for our needs and was beautifully made up every day. It is a beautiful building with high celings, is well decorated and there is a large comfortable quiet lounge to relax in. The breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and there is a good selection of other items. We did not take advantage of the evening meals but from what we were told by other guests they were of the same high quality. The bar was open every evening during our stay and we had many enjoyable evenings with other guests as well as the hotel owners. On that note I can only heap praise on Louise. She has the rare ability to make you feel as if your comfort is the only thing that is important and both Louise and her staff go that extra mile to make your stay special. Having stayed here we would not consider staying anywhere else in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandsbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,880 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#56 of 149 in Torquay
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale Hotel

Property: Allerdale Hotel
Address: 21 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Allerdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Allerdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerdale Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing