We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless accommodation with perfect hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cloudlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cloudlands
Ranked #56 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spotless accommodation with perfect hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I spend hours on the net looking at various hotels/b&b once a decision on which resort will be our destination. Cloudlands came up as one of the best places to stay on Tripadvisor with excellent reviews. Booked for a week and just returned having found that Cloudlands was indeed the best B&B we have ever stayed in! Nigel & Elvie are indeed the perfect hosts. From Nigel assisting with local information and advice on best places to go to Elvie cooking fantastic breakfasts and looking after the fantastic garden and keeping the hotel to a cleanliness standard second to none!
Congratulations to both for a job well done.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which was a superior room which was a large room with a very comfortable bed, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCobra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, Owner at Cloudlands, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and can only thank you for your lovely comments - which we appreciate greatly. It was lovely to meet you & we hope you have some nice memories of your holiday in Torquay & Devon. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned home after spending four days at Cloudlands. We were extremely pleased with our choice and were made to feel very welcome. Overall the B&B was spotlessly clean, the garden a credit to the owners, as is the hotel. Nigel was always on hand to help us in any way he could and we would certainly recommend Cloudlands to anyone looking for a relaxing break in lovely surroundings. We will definitely be back before too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, Owner at Cloudlands, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here & hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful place for a night last weekend. Extremely well looked after, spotlessly clean and owners extremely welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. Very short walk to the heart of Torquay. Will definitely be returning later in the year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melstourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, Owner at Cloudlands, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cloudlands. Thank you for taking the time out to post a review and for your very kind comments. Looking forward to seeing you both here again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Looking to book a stay in Torquay? This place is beautiful and a breakfast and hospitality that's hard to beat... Recommend this place to singles, couples and families. No pets. Stayed there with my 15 year old son. Great location, couple of minutes from station!

Needs a Facebook page!

Sophia

Room Tip: Single room, large single bed, two singles in a room, double, twin and suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, Owner at Cloudlands, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Sophia. Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to meet you and your son. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cloudlands and hope that you will come back to stay with us again some time. Thanks again, kind regards, Nigel & Elvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to the UK, and had the pleasure of staying at Cloudlands in Torquay for 2 nights. I chose it from the internet because of its location and the photo of the building, and it didn't disappoint. It was very gracious and charming, as were the hosts, Nigel and Elvie , who were unobtrusive and yet intent on doing whatever it took to make our stay comfortable. In fact they went over and above the call of duty to assist us. Other B&B's we stayed at were completely impersonal, but at Cloudlands we felt like we belonged to the family. Thank you for making our visit to Torquay memorable for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 741ChristineMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Cloudlands for a much needed, relaxing break. We couldn't have made a better choice. It is comfortable, clean , attractive and charming. The garden is beautiful and we were able to enjoy spending time sitting in it to relax or viewing it from our breakfast table. It is lovingly cared for by Elvie. We stayed in room 5, which has its own small lounge area, perfect for a longer stay, a real little home from home. A very peaceful setting and extremely comfortable bed ensured we had a great nights sleep each night ...... followed each morning by a freshly cooked, tasty breakfast and the fruit salad is delicious .
Nigel and Elvie are excellent hosts, welcoming and friendly and extremely helpful but also allowing people to have their own privacy.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would stay at Cloudlands again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Recent stay far exceeded my expectations. Cloudlands is literally two blocks from the station, yet host Nigel picked me up as I had a massive suitcase. His wife Elvie cooks like a dream-- don't miss her lovely fresh fruit salad at breakfast-- and has groomed their garden into a delightful spot. The room was graciously appointed with ensuite bath, TV, WiFi, the bed comfy, the decor charming. Cloudlands is situated near The Grand Hotel where Agatha Christie met friends, and a short walk to the Torquay waterfront. Situated perfectly to visit Greenway, boat rides to Dartmouth and others, steam trains, too. In short, a wonderful experience hosted by a charming couple who will go out of their way to answer your questions, call taxis, and make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: (No pool or fitness centre but couldn't delete those areas-- please delete) Any room well sited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gainsboro Guest House
Gainsboro Guest House
#78 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudlands

Property: Cloudlands
Address: St. Agnes Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloudlands 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cloudlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloudlands Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing