We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in SW in 40 years of travel”
Review of Stover Lodge Hotel

Stover Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #43 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best B&B in SW in 40 years of travel”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked as second choice because our first choice couldn't fit us in for the duration we wanted. What a Godsend, I've B&B'ed all over the SW of England for 35 years, and this place is the best. I like a full English when I'm away so no complaints from me, but the owners would bend over backwards I'm sure if you let them know of any diet preferences. Spotless room and en-suite, stayed in Room 1 on the front slept like a log. Stayed for 3 nights Me, wife and 2 kids.
You have plenty of choice where you stay in Torquay, I know where we will choose, yes you guessed, The Stover.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
104
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would highly recommend this accommodation to all. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The accommodation itself was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. We stayed b&b and there was a wide choice of items available for breakfast which again was of high quality. The location is just outside the center of the town but has good transport links and it was easy to navigate around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Have stayed here many times over a fifteen year period, both on business and private trips. Has been an excellent experience every time. All rooms I have had the pleasure of staying in have been immaculately clean and bathrooms are beautifully finished. Very easy to find location on road into Torquay.
Breakfast always perfectly cooked individually, not on a self service hotplate.
Would be hard to find better even at a much higher price hotel. In short, everything a private B&B with friendly hosts should be.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiteHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A warm friendly welcome received, very clean everywhere.
Lots of nice unexpected touches...make up wipes, soaps, biscuits
Towels fine, changed every other day. Although I'm sure there'd be no problem if you asked for every day.
Breakfast good with lots of friendly helfpul chat
Standard room size was fine and value for money
Would definately stay again if in the area

Room Tip: The standard room was fine, not huge but perfect for sleeping, showering etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mapfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Loved every minute there.Hosts were friendly and very helpful with very good recommendations for eating places and local and surrounding tourist attractions.Rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable.The breakfast was excellent and the freshly grounded coffee just rounded off what was unbelievable value for money.Well done Dave and Allison.We will recommend you to everyone heading your way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a lovely b & b and the owners David and Alison make you feel very welcome from the moment that you walk in. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room cosy. The full english breakfast was delicious, cooked to perfection and quick amd efficient service. Overall friendly and helpful owners in a small but perfectly adequate and cosy b & b! I would definitely not hesitate to recommend The Stover Lodge to family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

stayed at this lovely hotel from monday to thursday sept 13 David & Alison were so friendly the hotel was spotless the rooms were very clean and well appointed the breakfast was superb kept us going for the whole day the price is well worth it for the breakfast alone, i would highly recommened the stover lodge to anybody and myself and my wife will most certainly be staying again in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#32 of 87 in Torquay
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#30 of 149 in Torquay
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 149 in Torquay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#28 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#44 of 149 in Torquay
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#50 of 149 in Torquay
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stover Lodge Hotel

Property: Stover Lodge Hotel
Address: 29 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stover Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing