We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wellsway
Ranked #21 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay, great owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Wellsway for 2 nights, mid August and were made to feel really welcome by the owners Nick and Pat. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The cooked breakfast was equally well prepared and more than sufficient. The B&B is a pleasent 10 minute stroll to the beach, with a park, crazy-golf, some shops and other sights to see along the way. Nick and Pat were really helpful when it came to advice on what to see and where to eat on an evenining.

I woudln't recommend the 'award winning' "fish & chips" fish & chip shop just over the spiral pedestrian foot-bridge close to the beach, their fish was sub-standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank top_travellers_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
144
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We've just enjoyed our second stay at the Wellsway and it was superb.The hosts, Pat and Nick really are the nicest of people. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

A very plesent stay from start to finish. warmly greeted on arrival and shown my room. I was in a hurry as i had to be at wedding but was shown my room and where everything was. The room was clean and welcoming. Tea and coffee making faciltties with a very good selection that put bigger hotels to shame. Ensuit bathroom with shower very clean and good towls were provided. TV and wifi with a good speed. The breakfast range was fantastic In a very plesent room. I would reconmend this place and know it will be my first choice on my return again.
Mr P. Holmes

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had a great bank holiday weekend at The Wellsway. Pat & Nick were very hospitable and friendly - always available to recommend where to visit. Breakfast was great and freshly cooked each morning to order. The house is immaculately kept and our room was very comfortable. Ideal location for a stroll into the centre and with off the road car parking. Hope to visist again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Really enjoyed visiting The Wellsway. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and willing to talk about the area. The breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and really delicious. I had a lovely room, with comfortable bed and nice shower, in what is a very tastefully decorated house. It was all scrupulously clean. The property is very close to the seafront, so you can leave your car in the carpark and walk, avoiding Torquay's high parking charges. And the rates were very reasonable. I can definitely recommend The Wellsway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam240910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We chose this B&B from the many in Torquay based on it's location, parking arrangements and the comments of others with regards to cleanliness. We found all of the above to be exactly as described but also found a friendly, welcoming place with great breakfasts, cooked to order and comfy beds. The hosts went out of their way to be helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely recommend the Wellsway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crosby10145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

A pleasant B&B with free off-road parking (a rarety in Torquay) located on a road full of B&B's a 5-10 minute walk to the seafront, through Torre Abbey.
I received a warm welcome by Pat, Nick and their dog who must be one of the best behaved dogs I have come across.
The B&B is well maintained throughout, the rooms look to have had a makeover in the last few years. I was in room 7 which was pleasantly decorated, spotlessly clean, but not very big even though it was a double. As I was travelling on my own this was ok, and I did see the other rooms that were quite a bit larger. I wouldn't have wanted to be in this room if there were 2 of us though. The en suite was also brilliantly clean but also very small.
The Wellsway had stopped doing evening meals as it is out of season, which I would have preferred, as being on my own I didn't relish the thought of eating out at a restaurant on my own. I was offered sandwiches though, which was nice of them. The room was well stocked with standard, herbal and fruit teas, coffee and hot chocolate plus lots of biscuits.
I had a good nights sleep and was treated to a filling breakfast the next morning with plenty of cereals on offer, a full english and toast with marmalades, honey and Jam and plenty of tea or coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#28 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#20 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#19 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Property: The Wellsway
Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing