We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wellsway
Ranked #40 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner, they couldn't of been more welcoming. Room was very modern and immaculately clean, we were given advice on where to visit and eat, and Pat accommodated to my lactose intolerance at breakfast. Only a 10 minute walk into the town, perfect place to stay for exploring the area

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
145
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Lovely few days staying here. This was our second visit after we found this place quite by accident a couple of months ago. Last time we stayed one night because we had booked elsewhere but last minute wanted to have an additional night.
Pat and whiskey are so very welcoming and helpful - the breakfast is amazing and the minute you walk in you are made to fee at home.
Definitely worth a visit and a return trip!

Thanks for the lovely few days!

Ben and Pat

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my partner are all about hotel breaks on the back of reviews so we thought we should leave one. One word excellent.
Nothing else can compare. We are very into clean and hygiene and the hotel was spotless. Room very clean and tidy and the bathroom was that clean it looked like it had just been fitted. The owners were a pleasure and took the time to get to know you, even helped us out with directions to town, leaflets and all sorts and that was before we checked in. They have a slogan in the breakfast room Welcome, come as guest and leave as friends. We would recommend this place to everyone visiting Torquay.

Room Tip: The rooms are worth the money so spend the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spotlessly clean and comfortable.Lovely decor and lots of thought has gone into making everyones stay pleasurable.Plenty of food at breakfast.and an choice of menu.Our bed was very big which suited us as we're both tall..would certainly use again..highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank goatie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is an excellent B&B! We booked very easily over the phone and were offered early check in if the room was ready. The location is very good and the parking available at the B&B ample - there were no problems at all. The owners are very friendly, approachable and they have a beautifully behaved Labrador dog – very sweet and gentle. There was no trace - smell or otherwise, of the dog and he was, I hasten to add, very rarely around and definitely not anywhere to be seen during breakfast!

The room itself was gorgeously decorated and extremely clean and neat. With every little detail paid attention to, the room had everything that was required on a stay away from home right down to little things such as a supply of cotton wool pads and buds. The shower had excellent water pressure and the shower an ample size. The hospitality tray provided was super and had a selection of hot drinks and cold (I have never seen squash sachets before but every hotel/B&B should have them!). Elsewhere in the room the desk was the perfect size for work (also had wi-fi) or putting on makeup and the bed was comfy with a decent quality duvet and pillow set.

Breakfast was delicious with decent sized portions and beautifully cooked. Another thoughtful extra touch was that the juice on offer was bottled and was kept cold in a mini-fridge in the breakfast room. The breakfast room was of a good size and there was ample space around each table so that you didn’t feel squashed in with the other guests.

Upon check out, we were delighted to be offered parking until other guests arrived as we were able to wander up to Torre Abbey without worrying about parking and our luggage in the car.

Overall, this B&B is of excellent quality and value. A very comfortable stay away!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write such a great review for us. We really are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we always try to make our guests feel welcome as possible. "It's the little things that matter." as far as we are concerned. We will look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I almost don't want to write this, in the fear that it will become even more popular and will be fully booked the next time I'm in the area!
Absolutely excellent B&B - the room was immaculate, so clean and beautifully furnished. The owners are so friendly, and breakfast was delicious. Sometimes I find cooked breakfasts not great, but here it was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linseyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thanks very much for your stunning review. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your break with us although on business and we look forward to welcoming you again soon either on pleasure or business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel and its owners are just perfect.
We had such a lovely stay.
Every single detail has been thought of, making the The Wellsway a charming, comfortable and friendly place to stay. It is also quite conveniently located as it is a short walking distance to the centre, and yet in a quiet street where you don't get disturbed by traffic noises.
We stayed for 2 nights in the king size bedroom, which was very nicely decorated, very clean and perfectly equiped. The bathroom was extremely clean with a lovely shower pressure (always an important factor in my book). The bed was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was of excellent quality, fresh and well prepared with a very good selection.
All 3 of us (two people and the dog) were received very warmely by the owners.
I am so pleased we stayed there, and if we were to go back to the area, we would definitely check for availability at the Wellsway!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredouilleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We are so pleased that you both + 1 enjoyed your few days with us. We would love you to visit us again when you're back in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#17 of 149 in Torquay
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#23 of 149 in Torquay
194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#29 of 149 in Torquay
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#30 of 149 in Torquay
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#49 of 149 in Torquay
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Property: The Wellsway
Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing