We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wellsway
Ranked #47 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What delight to have found such a gem as " The Wellsway " ,we stayed two nights the room was spotless the bed was very comfortable,the breakfast was very good with a good menu to choose from,if you are touring the area you will not find a better well run comfortable hotel ,and it is a credit to the couple who run it

Room Tip: all the rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Only spent a single night here. The room was very clean and had everything that you could possibly need. Had a nice family run atmosphere. The full English breakfast was very good, quality food. Large range of juices and other breakfast items were also available . Would stay again if visiting this part of the country

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank milja001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I travelled to Torquay for the annual Agatha Christie Festival and primarily was looking for price. From the moment I arrived at The Wellsway, I was looked after and my every need was catered for. The couple that run it are lovely and clearly want to make your stay a happy one. My room was spotless, it was well decorated and had a very contemporary design. There was all the usual tea and coffee making facilities but I was also provided with bottled water, squash sachets and delicious biscuits as well. My bed was extremely comfortable and it was nice to look forward to returning too after a busy day out and about. The hotel is near to a bus stop and the sea front is reasonably near. Also Torre Abbey a favourite of mine is 5 minutes walk. The breakfasts were delicious and anything you asked for was provided. This couple certainly know how to make their guests happy and extra little touches like, bowls of mints and fruit around make a big difference. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and family and have actually already booked for next years festival. Thank you for my great stay.

Room Tip: Anywhere you are given will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londongirl50423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay very friendly and welcoming will definitely stay again. Food was to a high standard with plenty of choice on the menu. Situated in a great location within easy reach to beach and attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sour1em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner, they couldn't of been more welcoming. Room was very modern and immaculately clean, we were given advice on where to visit and eat, and Pat accommodated to my lactose intolerance at breakfast. Only a 10 minute walk into the town, perfect place to stay for exploring the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Lovely few days staying here. This was our second visit after we found this place quite by accident a couple of months ago. Last time we stayed one night because we had booked elsewhere but last minute wanted to have an additional night.
Pat and whiskey are so very welcoming and helpful - the breakfast is amazing and the minute you walk in you are made to fee at home.
Definitely worth a visit and a return trip!

Thanks for the lovely few days!

Ben and Pat

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my partner are all about hotel breaks on the back of reviews so we thought we should leave one. One word excellent.
Nothing else can compare. We are very into clean and hygiene and the hotel was spotless. Room very clean and tidy and the bathroom was that clean it looked like it had just been fitted. The owners were a pleasure and took the time to get to know you, even helped us out with directions to town, leaflets and all sorts and that was before we checked in. They have a slogan in the breakfast room Welcome, come as guest and leave as friends. We would recommend this place to everyone visiting Torquay.

Room Tip: The rooms are worth the money so spend the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing