We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations with friendly hosts”
Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wellsway
Ranked #47 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations with friendly hosts”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at The Wellsway for two nights, and it was absolutely top notch. This B&B is located a short walk from the waterfront in a beautiful neighbourhood. There is a car park out front. My room was up a flight of stairs and was very spacious with high ceilings. The bed was big and comfortable, there's a TV in the room, a lovely bathroom, and there are a lot of nice touches in the room like a complimentary bottled water and some guides to local restaurants, etc. On the ground floor there is a guest lounge and a dining room.

Pat and Whiskey were great hosts. The first morning I asked Pat whether they serve black pudding with the breakfast and she made a face before saying no (obviously she doesn't like it). She told me the local delicacy is hog's pudding. The next morning with breakfast they served me the usual full english plus black pudding and hog's pudding. They must have made a special trip to pick them up for me. I was impressed with that (and yes they were both delicious, as was the rest of the breakfast).

They were also very willing to offer advice on what to see in the area. I recommend going for a walk in Dartmoor National Park. Whiskey can point you to a good place.

Overall, probably the best B&B experience I've ever had. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your kind comments for us on Trip adviser we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding in Torquay. We do hope that if you come back to the UK at some stage you will come back and see us again. Once again many thanks for you kind words. Best Wishes Whiskey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
146
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I selected the Wellsway based on the consistency of the good reviews in this site and not surprisingly found myself totally in agreement. The owners are really welcoming and were incredibly helpful, the room and bathroom were very comfortable, with modern, quality fittings and the breakfast was excellent. Unreservedly recommend and definitely hope to be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us, we are glad you found the reviews coments on tripadviser informative and factual. We do hope that you will manage to make it back to Torquay and see us again soon. Regards Whiskey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the Wellsway 2 weeks ago. What a fantastic place to stay. The owners pat and Whiskey (thats what he likes to be called) were perfect hosts,nothing was to much trouble and such a friendly couple.We went there as guests and came away as friends,without them being in your face. Breakfasts were to perfection,and a big choice.The rooms were of a very high standard I cant wait to have another break and go back to the Wellsway. It is situated very central,and within easy reach of all attractions beaches and town.Give it a try you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are to high standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your very kind words regarding your stay with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and Torquay, we do hope that you will make the time to come and visit us again soon, Best wishes Whiskey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our stay was FAULTLESS. The location is really convenient, hosts were so helpful, friendly and consistently went 'the extra mile' to offer advise and recommendations. The room was very spacious and modern and had a lot of lovely touches. Breakfast was excellent and had a large amount of choice. We would DEFINITELY stay here again in the future and recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Humpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, were glad that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we do hope that you will both be able to come back and see us again before long. Best Wishes Whiskey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a terrific find, the owners were friendly and very welcoming. The rooms very nicely appointed and had all the finishing touches, all the little things that make you feel like your comfort has been thought about. Breakfast was great, with a really good selection of juices, cereals and fresh fruit and hot breakfast cooked to order. Would definitely recommend and will return. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for you kind words, we do hope that you will be able to make the short trip and come and see us again soon. Best Wishes Whiskey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently stayed at this B & B. I have to say this was one of the best we have stayed in. The décor is very modern and impressive with lots of attention to detail and finishing touches. Immaculately clean and in a very good location. Breakfast was also top marks and the owners made us feel at home. Thank you so much we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want bigger rooms they have 2 with massive beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for making the time to write your kind remarks about us and your stay with us at the Wellsway, we do hope that you will be able to come back and see us again soon, best wishes Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a very nice and clean B&B.The breakfast was delicious,room was very clean and fresh.We were spending our long weekend there,last year,but if we gonna go to Torquay again,we would like to stay in The Wellsway....I would like to say thank you to the owners for a friendly atmosphere.You are very helpful and lovely people.;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monika262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we do hope that you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#31 of 150 in Torquay
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#17 of 150 in Torquay
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 150 in Torquay
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 150 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 150 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Property: The Wellsway
Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing