We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and super value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wellsway
Ranked #22 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and super value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hosts are excellent as is the standard of cleanliness. Whilst the rooms are not massive they are large enough and very well furnished. The bed was very cumfy and being out of the town centre you are assured a peaceful nights sleep.bath
The en suite bathroom was excellent although I did think the electric shower was a little poor...a cheapie in an otherwise luxury setting.
I did not have breakfast due to not feeling well however the rest of the party thought it very good,
We would stay there again and at £70 for two........excellent value.....should put your prices up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
143
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My other half researched our stay in Torquay, booking the Wellsway based on good reviews and on appearance of the rooms. I can honestly say this is the nicest guest house I've ever stayed in and it is clearly evident the owners Pat and Nick put a lot of effort into making this a great place to stay.

The room was lovely and spotless and was kept looking fresh and well stocked with teas, coffees, and fresh mineral waters every single day. It was nice to come back from an outing each day to find it looking just as it did on our arrival.

Breakfast time was another enjoyable experience with an extensive selection of cereals, drinks and cooked breakfasts on offer. In fact I was quite easy to please, requesting a bacon sandwich (not on the menu) and Pat was only too happy to accommodate. Pat and Nick were also able to offer plenty of recommendations and directions on places to eat and visit which made our decisions on how to spend our time all the more easier and fulfilling.

The Wellsway is conveniently located about ten minutes walk from the main seafront and offers great value for money. I've no doubt this is one of the better quality guest houses in Torquay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure to meet you and are very pleased that you had a great stay with us, Again thank you for taking the time to write your comments for us and we hope that you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Wellsway. I am always a little dubious when booking B&Bs as the pictures are taken in a way that makes it look nice and when you arrive it's disappointing. I booked this B&B based on the reasonably priced room and Tripadvisor reviews. I've not seen anywhere that has either 4 or 5 ratings out of 5 (nothing lower). The B&B has onsite parking, free of charge. We rang the bell and we greeted by Pat and a warm smile. We were shown to our room which I was taken aback with as it was immaculate, light, airy and better than the photo. Normally its the other way around as I mentioned earlier but this room was lovely. Nicely decorated to a modern standard. We had one of their larger rooms which had a high ceiling. 2 bottles of mineral water are provided in each room along with sachets of squash which I've never seen before, nice touch. There was also cotton buds, cotton wall and plenty of toilet paper which was a very good, thick quality toilet paper. I know this is a minor thing to comment on but it goes to show the owners don't skimp on things. Their emphasis is on quality and I do like a good quality toilet roll. The bed had one feather and one normal pillow. I'm allergic to feathers so I did away with this pillow for anyone who has a similar allergy. Free Wifi too! Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 9:30am each morning and Pat takes your order, always with a smile. They have a selection of cereals including Dorset cereals. I was impressed with the juices on offer. Not just your bog standard orange juice (which they do do as well). They had fresh apple juice and Bumbleberry juice (never had before) in glass bottles in the fridge. There was also bottles of water in the fridge, lovely. Again, this goes to show they don't skimp on quality. We were offered tea and coffee and a choice of hot breakfasts - full English, omelette, eggs on toast etc. I loved the way the beans were served in a mini saucepan. You are also served hot toast. The breakfast was lovely and even my other half, who doesn't go in much for breakfast, had his fair share each morning. He doesn't like a full English, his worst nightmare, but Pat & Whiskey were very obliging and will cook you an alternative. In this instance, a bacon sarnie each morning which looked delicious. The service was second to none and the B&B is immaculately clean. We had a lovely stay and we would most definitely stay at Wellsway again if we visit Torquay. We were recommended places to visit and they always chatted to us if we bumped into them during the day. They always asked how our day was and what we got up to, very friendly. Wellsway is the best B&B we have ever stayed in, and my other half says I can be difficult to please ;-) Highly recommend - stay here, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huggy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure to meet you and are very pleased that you had a great stay with us, Again thank you for taking the time to write your comments for us and we hope that you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst on business in the area. The couple running it were friendly and informative, the room nicely decorated, with all amenities and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was surperb. Location good (near Abbey) and off street parking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate that you have taken the time to pass on your comments; we do hope that you will be able to come back and see us again soon. Many Thanks Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Wellsway was recommended to us by a family member and I must say we were not the least bit disappointed. From our arrival through to departure Pat and Whiskey couldn't have made us feel more at home. The rooms are very well equipped and extremely comfortable as well as being extremely clean....I'm very house proud and this came up to my standards. The Wellsway is about a 15 minute walk to the main front but it is a beautiful walk. My Husband Doug and I had booked this as a last minute get away weekend and we came away feeling so relaxed. Infact we were very tempted to prolong our stay but work commitments had other plans for us. Thanks Pat and Whiskey for helping to make our weekend a memorable one. Sarah & Doug Collins

Room Tip: We had room 2 - spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Collins B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments in your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you'll return again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night for a wedding on the other side of Torquay. Really warm welcome and must say the quality of the added extras in our room was superb - particularly for the rates. Really evident was the amount of thought that had been put into the touch points. Would easily have paid an extra £10-20

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiel-h1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will come and see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent service, great people. Very helpful advising us where to go to make our trip full and enjoyable. Room and en-suite were clean and we received a warm and friendly service. Will be back to see Nick, Pat and Charlie again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we shall look forward to greating you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#14 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#10 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#17 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Property: The Wellsway
Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing