We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantis Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed in Apartment 2 with disabled access and couldt fault it, clean, comfortable, modern, accessible. The swiimming pool was great, 5 min walk to beach, friendly , helpful owners, a perfect holiday. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisTorquay, Owner at Atlantis Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Glad you had a good holiday. Hope to see you again soon. Pauline & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was our .best holiday for years entirely due to the right accommodation for a person with a mobility problem. Pauline's welcome and details of everything from how the kettle works to the nearest doctor was much appreciated. Bernard and I,along with Robert, Jane and Sam (in another apartment) felt very much 'at home' and completely safe as Pauline and John live on the premises and are always very approachable. We would recommend anyone with a disability to apply for details of ground floor appartments 1 and 2.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nennypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisTorquay, Owner at Atlantis Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
We are pleased that the accessible apartments have been such a success with guests and are constantly making improvements e.g. National Accessiblity Scheme NAS V1 (Visual) & H1 (Hearing) achieved this year. Hope to see you again soon. Pauline & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Atlantis Holiday Apartments. The apartment was immaculate with good facilities, and we highly recommend the covered swimming pool.
The owners were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, and even offered an extensive range of DVDs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisTorquay, Owner at Atlantis Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
The pool is getting a new liner and additional steps in January so we can turn the cover around to give more room at the entrance to the pool. See you next year. Pauline & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

this apartment is very good for disabled access and great size apartments with lots of extras like ipod players, two TV's etc. the beds were comfortable and are easy to put a hoist under.

the bad things about our stay is:
1) at the front of the complex, there is a security feature that only young people or people with extremely good hearing can hear, this was of great annoyance. it sends a 40KHz frequency out that is designed to stop young people hanging around the front of the house, which was not needed because the street is deserted. the affect this had on our stay ment that we were not able to use the pool because of the sound transmitting to the pool area, also was uncomfortable walking out because of this.
i feel that this was a little excessive to have one of these devises as i know they are very expensive and have experience using them, not at hotels but at corner shops.

2) we also felt that with the landlords being on site at all times, we felt a little watched, especially when the landlord came to check the room while we were in it, on checking out.


overall great locations, great apartments, but the owners security measures and feeling like your being watched by the owners was very off putting and i wont be coming back because of this.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bananarama180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisTorquay, Owner at Atlantis Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I hope anyone reading this will read our other reviews and appreciate that sometimes people leave reviews which are vindictive and complain about things which could have been rectified if brought to the owner’s attention during the stay.
Unfortunately these guests wanted to smoke on the property and it is not allowed.
Forgive me for laughing but the thought of having a device to deter young visitors is very amusing, in fact it is bizarre!
We have a Cat Deterrent which emits an intermittent high frequency sound, 18-24 KHz, at the front of the property. This is to deter cats! Some young persons can hear the sound and if we had been made aware of it being a problem we would have turned it off.
We are onsite all the time because we live here! These guests may have felt uncomfortable because other guests complained about them smoking outside their apartment when we clearly state the whole property is non smoking. They were asked to smoke off the property.
All apartments are checked PRIOR to guests leaving and, as these guests informed me that they would be leaving after 11pm on the Friday night, I asked if it would be convenient to check the apartment during the evening. It was after 9pm when the guests were loading their car that I again asked if it was a convenient time to check the apartment, they agreed as they were about to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We were warmly greeted on arrival by Pauline and she couldnt have been more helpful. My husband has mobility problems and sometimes has to use a wheelchair, What a find, everything you would need .Ramps down to the apartment door ( app 1). Everything in the apartment designed for the less mobile. Brilliant wet room with all the grab rails you would need, clear spaces through the dining room to the bedroom for the wheelchair. Appartment very,very clean and beautifully furnished. Pauline ran through all the things we needed to know about to make our stay enjoyable. A selection of DVD s available from her if needed. A television and dvd player in the sitting room and bedroom . Although we did not use it, the outdoor pool looked great.Railway station, shops, seafront, all within walking distance but bus stops close by. Both Pauline andJohn were brilliant hosts and should be commended for running such a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: for the less mobile use ap 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisTorquay, Owner at Atlantis Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2016
All the apartments have been refurbished during the last two years. We hope to welcome you back to Atlantis soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Quiet location and a short walk into town and just up the road from the train station. Excellent hosts, and full of resources and information about the town. Apartment was perfectly clean and very well equipped with lots of attention to detail: salt & pepper, sugar and a few cubes of dishwasher detergent provided upon arrival. Apartment and bathroom were immaculate and the bedding and towels were perfect. Kitchen is fully equipped. High speed internet (WiFi) was excellent. Parking on site. Perfect apartment for the week we stayed in Torquay.

Room Tip: ask for number of bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisTorquay, Owner at Atlantis Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2016
All the apartments have been refurbished during the last two years. We hope to welcome you back to Atlantis soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We arrived at the Atlantis apartments to a warm welcome from Pauline, and who kindly gave us a jug of milk (whilst our milk was defrosting) so we could have a cuppa upon arrival. The apartment was equiped to a very high standard with everything that a self-caterer could possibly need. The heated undercover swimming pool was a definite bonus and well worth the early morning dash in our cossies; from our ground floor apartment to the pool; a quick swim before breakfast then back to the apartment. The local shops in Walnut road were easy to find and convenient as was the local public house - The Chelston Manor, with guest ales readily available and good honest food. All in all a good few days away and thoroughly recommended for any visitors to Torquay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisTorquay, Owner at Atlantis Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2016
All the apartments have been refurbished during the last two years. We hope to welcome you back to Atlantis soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astor House Apartments
Astor House Apartments
#2 of 34 in Torquay
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crofton House Hotel
Crofton House Hotel
#3 of 34 in Torquay
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#3 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Holiday Apartments

Property: Atlantis Holiday Apartments
Address: Solsbro Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Holiday Apartments. Near seafront. Car park. No meters. Free Wi-Fi. Pool available 9am - 9pm with insulated enclosure. Central heating. Wheelchair access. Dishwashers. Washing machines. Linen & towels supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Atlantis Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Holiday Apartments Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing