We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find !!!!”
Review of Coombe Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe Court Hotel
Ranked #83 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a Find !!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

in June I decided to go to Torquay for a weekend on my own and after touring around to see where to stay I spotted Coombe Court.
the owners were as lovely and welcoming as the place looks from the outside and the room was clean and comfortable. In the morning I decided not to have the Full English having seen the amount of food that was other peoples plates and not normally eating breakfast I knew I couldn't do it justice. My breakfast was just as filling even though it was half the size.
Julie and Bill made me feel very welcome and at home, which was especially lovely as I was on my own - they have a wealth of knowledge about the area's history and where to go for fun and food.
I have since been down again with my parents who also loved the place and Julie and Bill. they had an evening meal 3 out of 4 nights and have vowed to return next year for more pampering.
Julie also gave them flowers and a card for their wedding anniversary which was a lovely touch.
This is a welcoming, homely slice of excellent guest house with the warmth of 2 lovely people and a belly full of good food
WE'LL BE BACK !!!

Room Tip: room 17 is for those who don't do stairs very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
50
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Julie and Bill are the best. My husband and I have just spent 15 days with friends at this superb hotel. Home cooked food including fresh vegetables( not available in all hostelries) and huge portions, clean and comfortable bedrooms and the comfiest sofas to relax in at any time in the lounge and conservatory. Nothing is too much trouble for Julie and Bill. You feel like one of the family as soon as you walk through the door. The hotel is in an ideal spot for walking on the Downs or getting a bus. Free parking- a real bonus. Will we return? Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags48JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from spending a week being thoroughly spoilt in one of the most comfortable and relaxing hotels we have stayed in for a long time. The food was freshly cooked, good choice and plenty of it, breakfast and evening meals. The rooms are beautifully decorated , clean and bright and a decent size. Bill and Julie were excellent hosts making us feel comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. Bill's garden is a wonder in itself , full of colour and a pleasure just to sit and admire it. The hotel is also ideally situated for visiting areas all around whether by bus or car and we were only a few steps away from Babbacombe bay promenade.
Altogether a great place to go and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On arrival, though early, we were greeted with a much needed coffee and biscuits. Within minutes we were shown to our very clean room which had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. Julie and Bill have proved to be everything that you expect and more for a fantastic holiday, with nothing being too much trouble and food freshly cooked to everyones taste (and lots of it too). Although Bill was heavily involved in the organisation of the Babbacombe Festival, he still found time to make conversation with all of the guests and maintain the beautiful garden. Already booked for another week in September and a week next June. Well done Julie, Bill and family from Carole and Dave (Kev) for a great holiday and we cannot wait to be back with you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CazandKev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Coombe Court hotel is a small friendly four star hotel which is run by Julie and Bill.
It is ideally situated for the local amenities within Babbacombe and there is a bus stop within two minutes walk which takes you into Torquay.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and bright and the hotel has free car parking which is always a bonus. The food is varied and plentiful and cooked freshly to order and I have added photos of some of the desserts on offer. The hotel now proudly displays its top hygiene rating certificate.
Whilst speaking to the guests during our stay many have said they are sad to be going home and cannot wait for their next visit because they have been made to feel so welcome. We too are looking forward to our return visit later this year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a good holiday at Coombe Court Hotel. Julie made us most welcome when we arrived. She made us a cup of tea and then helped us get our luggage up to the bedroom. The room was lovely and bright and had a balcony with a sea view. It wasn't quite as big as we had hoped but it was adequate. There was a good choice for breakfast and the full English kept us going all day. We had three evening meals, all beautifully cooked and well presented. Lovely fresh vegs and a very good selection of sweets.
Julie and Bill were very friend and alway had time for a chat. Anything you wanted you only had to ask.
I would high recommend Coombe Court and if we return to Babbacome we would definately stay with Julie and Bill. Thank you for a lovely holiday Julie and Bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have had an excellent holiday here, Julie and Bill made us feel so welcome from the first
minute we walked in. Bedroom was very clean and well maintained liked that we had two comfortable chairs to be able to sit and have are first cup of tea looking out over the bay plenty
of storage space and a fully tiled bathroom with excellent shower I wanted to take home with me
Excellent Home cooked food each days menu varied to cater for all tastes.
Wonderful lounge area with stunning sea views so comfortable after a day of sight seeing to sit
and watch the world go by.
Bus stop 2 minute walk away were you can get buses to all main attractions and Babbacombe
Theatre is in easy walking distance.
This was are first visit but I differently won't be are last.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms stunning views but all room well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 41Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Abbey Lawn Hotel
#62 of 87 in Torquay
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#41 of 149 in Torquay
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#59 of 149 in Torquay
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#51 of 149 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#50 of 149 in Torquay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Court Hotel

Property: Coombe Court Hotel
Address: 67 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Coombe Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing